MechEng Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 16 minutes ago, IndianRenegade said: I work in a company that employs scientists & not the data kind, most of them won't get paid close to that base salary unless they are sr staff. Even with that kind of salary, very few will be eager to emigrate or visit the US temporarily given the hostile climate.
G_B_ Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 58 minutes ago, IndianRenegade said: I work in a company that employs scientists & not the data kind, most of them won't get paid close to that base salary unless they are sr staff. Thats the point though. H1b was designed for the brightest of minds. Atm its packed with capable/smart but nothing special people. Maybe you need to have 2.5 times the median full time salary of the district in which the job is located or need to be 90th percentile and above. Cause 200k is nothing special in the bay area. Uk skilled worker visa there is a proposal to make it 1.5 times the median. Eventually i think they will want 2.5 the median. I think that is fair.
mishra Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 (edited) 7 hours ago, ravishingravi said: To my mind, if you are an Indian who migrated to a white Christian nation and hoped to be an equal, you are an idiot. The best you can do is stay in your lane and under the radar. Our folks don't. The surprise that I am seeing on increasing racism is surprising. Shows that anomaly of last 40-50 years has become benchmark for many. Idealism is pointless when it comes to dealing with human being. Be practical. Have a hedge. Thats a strategy, which i will say every Indian should follow. When I mooved to West within few years I realised, Its money that matters. I was in late twenties and made a rule, Keep head down, Attempt to double the annual income every 5 Year. Live within the means, and save/reinvest as much as I can. Finally, By age of 45 somewhere I read, "Life gives you more that one opportunity to become multi millionaire, Idea is to not let it pass". Looking back, I see I have missed one such opportunity. But there is another fact (not saying), that at around fifty, You make most of money if you are prepared. People may say I am giving Gyan, But this works. To all icfers and Indias, I wish they become millionaire before 50. Trust me, If you guys achieve that, At that point money starts making you more money, and your family has achieved what i call "Financial Nirvana". Why I am saying this here, Because once Indians pass the critical mass in that Financial Nirvana bracket means thaere is massive heft. Massive Massive heft. Weight of it ist so much that you can pottentially alter history. So , make it a motive of your life. Be disciplined to become multi millionaire by 50. PS: If you are under social pressure, Just remind yourself. Do you want to pretend to be Rich or Do you want to actually be Rich. Edited November 17, 2025 by mishra ravishingravi 1
G_B_ Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 The problem is you have a lot of american born indians who were bought up to believe they are as american as apple pie. These are kids born to the wave of indian migrants who moved to the usa in the 90s. I dont think this keeping head down strategy will work. In uk the racism happened in 70s to 90s. Indians a generation ahead than usa. mishra and ravishingravi 2
mishra Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 26 minutes ago, G_B_ said: The problem is you have a lot of american born indians who were bought up to believe they are as american as apple pie. These are kids born to the wave of indian migrants who moved to the usa in the 90s. I dont think this keeping head down strategy will work. In uk the racism happened in 70s to 90s. Indians a generation ahead than usa. Yes, People like me have gained from wisdom of previous generation of UK Immigrant. But keeping your head down doesnt mean you not to learn and improvise or give up opportunities where you can make differnce. Once you have financial Nirvana, You start with being paid member of political party,Local Conservative Councillor always says hello to me. I hope one day, I will become a donor too . You get what I am saying. PS: Best comment I recieved was from a Sardarji Builder. He is older than me and I got him to work on our Swimming Pool. He said to me, "Paaji, This is third Genenration House". G_B_ 1
IndianRenegade Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 (edited) 3 hours ago, G_B_ said: Thats the point though. H1b was designed for the brightest of minds. Atm its packed with capable/smart but nothing special people. Maybe you need to have 2.5 times the median full time salary of the district in which the job is located or need to be 90th percentile and above. Cause 200k is nothing special in the bay area. Uk skilled worker visa there is a proposal to make it 1.5 times the median. Eventually i think they will want 2.5 the median. I think that is fair. This is the problem of sitting in UK & trying to comment about US immigration. h1b was not designed for the brightest of the minds as you claim. H1B was designed to address the labor gap in specialised skills in technology & healthcare fields. It was never intended as the best & brightest. There is an O1 visa which fits that definition, of best & brightest, something that is much harder to get (something even Elon musk would have failed to at the time his immigrated). https://www.perplexity.ai/search/98c33e19-0fe8-4be9-9cd0-91b36e650136 https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/immigration/h1b?utm_source=perplexity then Americans realised that the 6 yr h1b program isn’t sufficient because unlike UK where you get ILR in 5 & citizen in 6 yrs, American immigration caps immigration by country at 7% for green card. Their employers didn’t want to lose these skilled work, so they amended the law stating you get to indefinitely renew h1 once you are approved for green card petition pending adjustment of status. Now obviously circumstances have changed, one can argue the skilled labor situation in US has improved. And the law needs to change in light of the scenario, and US is free to amend its laws. But to claim it is fair to thousands of ppl who gave their labor, taxes & youth for close to 2 decades on the basis of infinite employer renewal while they let in ppl less qualified than them to become citizens is ludicrous & in principle violates Ex post facto nature of the constitution. This is what racist MAGA wants, they literally salivate on the idea of mass deporting legal Indian immigrants. Also reforms like basing it on an arbitrary salary or 100k entry will ultimately lead to a skewed monopolies, needing exemptions like the one trump was forced to give to healthcare jobs. The sillicon valley behemoths running on saas run a fundamentally high margin business which can afford high salaries to folks who grind leetcode. There are industries which employ scientists who go on to produce IPs but can’t match Silicon Valley salaries because of the nature of the industry & the margins involved, the leet coders aren’t remotely as smart as these scientists. any reform will need to take into account the COL, industry standards for salary etc, & retroactive impact etc. Edited November 17, 2025 by IndianRenegade
G_B_ Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 4 minutes ago, IndianRenegade said: This is the problem of sitting in UK & trying to comment about US immigration. h1b was not designed for the brightest of the minds as you claim. H1B was designed to address the labor gap in specialised skills in technology & healthcare fields. It was never intended as the best & brightest. There is an O1 visa which fits that definition, of best & brightest, something that is much harder to get (something even Elon musk would have failed to at the time his immigrated). https://www.perplexity.ai/search/98c33e19-0fe8-4be9-9cd0-91b36e650136 https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/immigration/h1b?utm_source=perplexity then Americans realised that the 6 yr h1b program isn’t sufficient because unlike UK where you get ILR in 5 & citizen in 6 yrs, American immigration caps immigration by country at 7% for green card. Their employers didn’t want to lose these skilled work, so they amended the law stating you get to indefinitely renew h1 once you are approved for green card petition pending adjustment of status. Now obviously circumstances have changed, one can argue the skilled labor situation in US has improved. And the law needs to change in light of the scenario, and US is free to amend its laws. But to claim it is fair to thousands of ppl who gave their labor, taxes & youth for close to 2 decades on the basis of infinite employer renewal while they let in ppl less qualified than them to become citizens is ludicrous & in principle violates Ex post facto nature of the constitution. This is what racist MAGA wants, they literally salivate on the idea of mass deporting legal Indian immigrants. Also reforms like basing it on an arbitrary salary or 100k entry will ultimately lead to a skewed monopolies, needing exemptions like the one trump was forced to give to healthcare jobs. The sillicon valley behemoths running on saas run a fundamentally high margin business which can afford high salaries to folks who grind leetcode. There are industries which employ scientists who go on to produce IPs but can’t match Silicon Valley salaries because of the nature of the industry & the margins involved, the leet coders aren’t remotely as smart as these scientists. any reform will need to take into account the COL, industry standards for salary etc, & retroactive impact etc. (A) So why did the dems not change the country cap? We all agree that the fringes of MAGA are racist. Obama and Biden should have made the country caps proportional to global pop or something? (B) Pay the scientists more... simple really. Nagz 1
IndianRenegade Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 (edited) 49 minutes ago, G_B_ said: (A) So why did the dems not change the country cap? We all agree that the fringes of MAGA are racist. Obama and Biden should have made the country caps proportional to global pop or something? (B) Pay the scientists more... simple really. A- the law to fix the country cap issue passed multiple times in the house on a bipartisan basis with overwhelming majorities, once when Obama was president & once when Trump was president. But ultimately failed in the senate because it was linked to comprehensive immigration reform aka undocumented immigrant question. Obama created h4EAd through executive action allowing spouses of long time h1 holders to work as a consequence of this failure. Biden was pathetic that he put fee on H1s to fund illegal immigration. Also, it is irrelevant what Obama or Biden did, the humanitarian crisis that will hit long term Indian immigrants wouldn’t change by assigning blame. B- yeah.. it’s so simple. I wonder why all those c-suites in biotech, pharmaceutical, manufacturing, & material sciences companies didn’t think about it. They must be stupid or the nature of their business that involves higher cost in equipment, materials, reagents, & regulated environments, even before they can produce something of value isn’t the same as something that 4 dudes in a garage & computers can cook up to produce margins that can only be dreamt abt. I am not a scientist, I was & still am a typical code monkey, but I was in a position that enabled me to see what they get paid 5-7 yrs ago & was shocked to see it was less than mine. I assure you without any shame I am not even 10% as smart as they are based on my knowledge on what my company does. If higher pay has correlation to smartness, Indian politicians like Lalu Yadav are smarter than IIT graduates. Edited November 17, 2025 by IndianRenegade Nagz 1
MechEng Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 3 hours ago, mishra said: Yes, People like me have gained from wisdom of previous generation of UK Immigrant. But keeping your head down doesnt mean you not to learn and improvise or give up opportunities where you can make differnce. Once you have financial Nirvana, You start with being paid member of political party,Local Conservative Councillor always says hello to me. I hope one day, I will become a donor too . You get what I am saying. PS: Best comment I recieved was from a Sardarji Builder. He is older than me and I got him to work on our Swimming Pool. He said to me, "Paaji, This is third Genenration House". Doesn't work that way. Indian Americans are not millionaires but earn the highest mean income among all racial groups. How has that worked out? Look at Vivek Rama swami himself. No amount of wealth can buy you the same power as that of white privilege. Modern life as we know it was built by the white race. Sounds racist, but facts.
MechEng Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 (edited) 1 hour ago, IndianRenegade said: If higher pay has correlation to smartness, Indian politicians like Lalu Yadav are smarter than IIT graduates. Smartness is a very subjective quality. A sales person can only do basic sum in excel, but he/she can rake in twice the income of a machine learning expert through commission. Is it unfair? Absolutely not. The best sales people have godlike abilities in negotiation and persuasion of stakeholders. Edited November 17, 2025 by MechEng
mishra Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 11 minutes ago, MechEng said: Doesn't work that way. Indian Americans are not millionaires but earn the highest mean income among all racial groups. How has that worked out? Look at Vivek Rama swami himself. No amount of wealth can buy you the same power as that of white privilege. Modern life as we know it was built by the white race. Sounds racist, but facts. People like Vivek are lone rangers and I am saying that whole Indian Society ( which is now in working age group) should aspire to reach Financial Nirvana. My point is not individual but a general point and the way, I think will work. Average age of India is 28 Years. They got 22 years in them to reach millionaire milestone. Work to achieve that. I believe we can achieve lot more for oursleves by being Second or third in command, as long as we are welthier than First in command. Case Study, Israel and jews. Hindu population will never be able to outnumber non Hindu population but it can work towards being wealthier. Rest of pieces always fall the way wealth want it to fall. Occasional noise will be made by stupids but can be easily supressed. So get wealthy legaly and with discipline. Always remember, Others work for the wealth which you have have. Nagz 1
IndianRenegade Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 3 hours ago, MechEng said: Smartness is a very subjective quality. A sales person can only do basic sum in excel, but he/she can rake in twice the income of a machine learning expert through commission. Is it unfair? Absolutely not. The best sales people have godlike abilities in negotiation and persuasion of stakeholders. who said its unfair? the point made was is the US looking to import sales person or Scientists & AI engineers? if you go by an arbitary number without understanding how pay works in different industries, localities. US might end up with salespersons.
mishra Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 who is this Lodu @nagz. BSDK aaj tak kisi bhikhari ke yahaa koyee kaam karate nihi dikhaa hai. Sab ameero ke yahaa hi kaam karate hai. You do task which rich people ask you to do. Plain and simple
MechEng Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 33 minutes ago, IndianRenegade said: who said its unfair? the point made was is the US looking to import sales person or Scientists & AI engineers? if you go by an arbitary number without understanding how pay works in different industries, localities. US might end up with salespersons. Nah, I was agreeing to your point that smartness and pay are not directly related. However, smartness varies aptitude wise - a data science smart is not the same as sales person smart which is also not the same as cricket smart (Bumrah).
G_B_ Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 11 hours ago, IndianRenegade said: A- the law to fix the country cap issue passed multiple times in the house on a bipartisan basis with overwhelming majorities, once when Obama was president & once when Trump was president. But ultimately failed in the senate because it was linked to comprehensive immigration reform aka undocumented immigrant question. Obama created h4EAd through executive action allowing spouses of long time h1 holders to work as a consequence of this failure. Biden was pathetic that he put fee on H1s to fund illegal immigration. Also, it is irrelevant what Obama or Biden did, the humanitarian crisis that will hit long term Indian immigrants wouldn’t change by assigning blame. B- yeah.. it’s so simple. I wonder why all those c-suites in biotech, pharmaceutical, manufacturing, & material sciences companies didn’t think about it. They must be stupid or the nature of their business that involves higher cost in equipment, materials, reagents, & regulated environments, even before they can produce something of value isn’t the same as something that 4 dudes in a garage & computers can cook up to produce margins that can only be dreamt abt. I am not a scientist, I was & still am a typical code monkey, but I was in a position that enabled me to see what they get paid 5-7 yrs ago & was shocked to see it was less than mine. I assure you without any shame I am not even 10% as smart as they are based on my knowledge on what my company does. If higher pay has correlation to smartness, Indian politicians like Lalu Yadav are smarter than IIT graduates. A) How is it irrelevant? Blunt truth, Dems had enough time to get this issue sorted. They never did. Admit it and move on. Dem focus has always been legalising illegals. H1b are uniformly hated by dems and republicans for stealing jobs. B) See nothing stopping people from leaving that profession. I did a phd and published in multiple leading journals (during phd). I was offered a 34k gbp post doc positon (3 year contract). I got twice that as a starting salary at the bank doing less cutting edge work. This was a while back. University still offering 37k to post docs despite inflation. A lot of people still take up that offer due to the pathway it offers to permanently settling in the uk. I would say entire uk university network built on low wage slave labour bolstered only by the settling in the uk. This is slowly unravalling as gov cuts down on all forms of immigration. Maga is racist but most countries from canada to uk want less migration from india.
IndianRenegade Posted November 18, 2025 Posted November 18, 2025 (edited) 2 hours ago, G_B_ said: A) How is it irrelevant? Blunt truth, Dems had enough time to get this issue sorted. They never did. Admit it and move on. Dem focus has always been legalizing illegals. H1b are uniformly hated by dems and republicans for stealing jobs. It is irrelevant to the solution is what I meant & also because most of your critisim is monday morning quaterbacking from UK without understanding US politics. I of course assigned blame on Biden because he had a far better view of the polarization & should have attempted a solution instead of charging H1s to fund illegals, this you convinently missed. But I don't think he had the votes without fillibuster, his BBB had immigration provitions which needed to be taken out. Rs were under strict orders not to pass any immihgration reform until Trump was back. Obama's presidency was in a different era. Bush had attempted to pass an immigration reform which would given illegals a path to citizenship & pass a point based skilled immigration system that detaches the employee from the employer, this was just before Obama won, these are unimaginable for a republican president post 2016. It wasn't until Trump that the converstation went completely off rail. its unfortunate you co-opt racist language while you are also out there doing a british job & benifited from their much lax immigration policy compared to US, while hinting other long Indians immigrants like you should just suck it up, as ppl who will still hate you for your skin color attempt a rug pull. This shows why India & Indians fails to be able to influence FP. The Jews who get free money from US & muslims (who were involved in 9/11) who have been hated have much better infleunce campagin as they don't sh!t on their own to this extent. Its also hilarious you attempt brush off racism from republicans as a small percentage & not mainstream while you generalize Dems based on the most leftist views. Under Dem presidency the only thing skilled immigrants could complain about was they aren't passing a skilled immigration reform, everything else was much smoother. Data also backs mainstream Dems view skilled immigration much favorably, unlike your cooked up fantacies from UK. This was polling data just after trump won, which is the zenith of anti immigration sentiment: https://www.pewresearch.org/short-reads/2024/12/19/americans-lean-toward-keeping-legal-immigration-steady-see-high-skilled-workers-as-a-priority/ Quote 41% of Democrats and Democratic-leaning independents say legal immigration should be increased, compared with 20% of Republicans and Republican leaners. Americans say high-skilled workers should get priority over other immigrants for legal admission: 42% say highly skilled workers such as scientists, doctors, nurses and computer programmers should be given top priority to legally immigrate to the U.S. This is before a pelothra of polls (both left & right) that indicate support for Trumps immigration policy has collapsed, so these numbers will probably look much better now. https://americasvoice.org/polls/203304/ 2 hours ago, G_B_ said: B) See nothing stopping people from leaving that profession. I did a phd and published in multiple leading journals (during phd). I was offered a 34k gbp post doc positon (3 year contract). I got twice that as a starting salary at the bank doing less cutting edge work. This was a while back. University still offering 37k to post docs despite inflation. A lot of people still take up that offer due to the pathway it offers to permanently settling in the uk. I would say entire uk university network built on low wage slave labour bolstered only by the settling in the uk. This is slowly unravalling as gov cuts down on all forms of immigration. Maga is racist but most countries from canada to uk want less migration from india. This is an horrible way to form a skilled immigration policy. Rather than understanding pure stem jobs outside of software is low margin business that doesn't pay as high while it has tremendous potential. your skilled immigration policy designed to import the "best and the bightest" would force a scientist working on cutting edge genetic sequencing, battery tech to become a code monkey because that is what pays more. Edited November 18, 2025 by IndianRenegade
IndianRenegade Posted November 18, 2025 Posted November 18, 2025 (edited) We are getting there to Jews drinking children blood level of Indian racism. https://x.com/realalexjones/status/1990506479879958553?s=46 Edited November 18, 2025 by IndianRenegade
mishra Posted November 18, 2025 Posted November 18, 2025 (edited) Status Update: US Stock market in correction phase. Trump under pressure. So what he does. Invites MBS and tells him take F-35 in return of Investments in US companies. China loans over 200 billion USD to USA. Despite his best attempts Dollar strength Index is high. Exactly opposite to what Trump want to achieve. Israelis beating shi t out off Hamas in Gaza. Putin has taken Provosk , a battle going on for last 6-8 months. Venezuela has got Russian weapons anf navy to protect itself. India still not agreeing to loose Russia and sign a BTA. a bill expected to be tabled in senate for 500% tarrif on countries trading with Russia . Illegal immigration routes to US seems to have dried up. Mexico has been threatened with Bombing. Edited November 18, 2025 by mishra
BacktoCricaddict Posted November 18, 2025 Posted November 18, 2025 (edited) 18 hours ago, IndianRenegade said: jobs outside of software There are jobs outside of software? News to me. I've literally been asked during introductions at desi gatherings about whether I work at Cisco or IBM - ya know - like there are only two employers in town. The conversation usually ended when I said I am a biochemistry teacher. Just to fit in the desi circles, I started to say that I am also an engineer - a genetic engineer. Edited November 18, 2025 by BacktoCricaddict G_B_ 1
MechEng Posted November 18, 2025 Posted November 18, 2025 2 hours ago, IndianRenegade said: We are getting there to Jews drinking children blood level of Indian racism. https://x.com/realalexjones/status/1990506479879958553?s=46 Mark my words. Most of these X handlers and Youtubers will be deeply regretting their actions in the coming time.