Not sure how I missed this, but Indian Army has become the first Army in the world to use ramjet propulsion in Artilley. In collaboration with IIT-M.

Using Ramjet in Artilley shells will give the range boost...helping them to strike long range with greater impact.

https://www.insightsonindia.com/2026/01/05/army-set-to-deploy-ramjet-powered-shells-for-155-mm-artillery-guns/

Edited by singhvivek141

This whole astra thing is an example of what should not happen.

India were to induct astra mk2. Then it was leaked by foreign ops that pl15 missile got during op sindoor was reason astra is 200km. Implying using chinese tech.  Drdo had to step in amd say 240km to ensure proper credit given.

Now if true pak n china know the range and can plan...

In op sindoor our jets got hit cause we though p15 export version was 170km...it was intelligence failure.

34 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

India were to induct astra mk2. Then it was leaked by foreign ops that pl15 missile got during op sindoor was reason astra is 200km. Implying using chinese tech.  Drdo had to step in amd say 240km to ensure proper credit given.

In op sindoor our jets got hit cause we though p15 export version was 170km...it was intelligence failure.

I think PL15 fired by Pak wasn't an export version, but rather the original P15 itself (just rebranded as P15E). Which we miscalculated.

Secondly, there are news which highlights that range of Pinaka, Astra, Rudram 1 etc all have seen a significant boost in their range and NEZ. I don't think it's just because of PL15, as all these 3 missiles have different payload and fuel structure and one config may not fit will with the other.

Some channels have reported that, India found a solution to optimize the fuel by mixing it with some other compounds from it's experience with PL15. This seems a more believable theory.

5 hours ago, G_B_ said:

Those low IQ sadakchap YouTubers spread that rumour.. India didn't learn anything from that PL 15E.. any sort of reverse engineering takes  takes years of computation, fuel selection etc.  the design of PL15 and Astra Mk2 is totally different as well.

DRDO deserves all the credit for Astra Mk2.

Edited by Lone Wolf
4 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Some channels have reported that, India found a solution to optimize the fuel by mixing it with some other compounds from it's experience with PL15. This seems a more believable theory.

On 1/30/2026 at 5:35 PM, singhvivek141 said:

If its been made by MDL, Thyssekrupp will charge for additional cost to take accountability of any mishap by MDL.

We faced the same issue in Rafale deal of 2016, when Dassault failed to take any accountability for HAL's manufacturing of Rafales. Deal fell off the crack as the amount was way high and our economic condition didnt allow back then.

Buying off the shelf is lot cheaper and faster. But it comes up with those limitations. Thats why Pakistan is quick to procure the weapons.

Even the J17 manufacturing in Kamra is not a manufacturing, but an assembly of the parts which Chinese throw in packages like IKEA. Once you get the muscle memory of how to assemble, it will always be quicker.

Building from the scratch takes time though. But once you get the units set, the timelines shrink sharply, like in the case of our SSBNs. Arihant took a lot of time, Arighat lesser, Aridhaman has taken even shorter time (despite a different in size)...Arisudan hopefully will be even more quick.

Still doesn't explains such exorbitant price, $10 billion is a massively overpriced number for SSK's.  I do agree MDL is baap of HAL when it comes to delays, they take 6 years to deliver 1 basic corvette.

Also I do hope we are getting the marine engine design know how in exchange as well.

French seem to be already burning from inside coz of this upcoming deal

20260131_174512.jpg

Edited by Lone Wolf

Seems we are going to order 100 su57 with 80 built in india and 20 delivered flyaway condition. Kinzhal part of deal.

Indian mods on electronics and stuff like rcs coating etc to keep rcs median valye 0.5.

Indo usa trade deal needs to happen

So the defence budget is up by 15% in comparison to last year.
From 1.9% it's now close to 2% of GDP, while a commendable move, I still think it should be somewhere between 2.3-2.5% of the total GDP.
The home grown equipments of IA is up by 17%, but for IAF it's down by 2% in comparison to last year. Sums up as IAF is importing more than using home grown inventory.

Close to 60000 Crore is set for Rafale and engine program with Safran
Around 25000 Crore for Navy programs (Submarine and Rafale-Marine)
1.39 Lakh crore reserved for procurement from domestic industries

7.4k Crore to BRO

255 Crore for weaponry for Rashtriya Rifles
Undisclosed funds for S5 SSBN's 

https://defence.in/threads/defence-allocation-hiked-15-per-cent-to-rs-7-8-lakh-crore-in-budget-2026-27.16755/

1 minute ago, singhvivek141 said:

From 1.9% it's now close to 2% of GDP, while a commendable move, I still think it should be somewhere between 2.3-2.5% of the total GDP.
The home grown equipments of IA is up by 17%, but for IAF it's down by 2% in comparison to last year. Sums up as IAF is importing more than using home grown inventory.

7.4k Crore to BRO

https://defence.in/threads/defence-allocation-hiked-15-per-cent-to-rs-7-8-lakh-crore-in-budget-2026-27.16755/

I heard they have 20 to 30 billion usd under emergency procurement

4 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

I heard they have 20 to 30 billion usd under emergency procurement

Yeah,while not specificially mentioned. There is a provision for "Fast Track Procedure", which is within the purse of 1.85 Lakh Crore (slightly above 20 Billion USD).
Last year we spent around 40000 Crores on the same.

49 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

The above seems to be taken from the Caravan....

I shall leave it at that. 

But source is directly taken from MM Narvane's unreleased Memoir as per the writer 

Edited by Lone Wolf
32 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

7.4k Crore to BRO

Yeah 2.3-2.5% is the bare minimum while maintaining two hot borders.

This current def budget includes pension so it is actually around 1.6% in reality.

Pensions of higher ranked officials should be scrapped or reevaluated at least.  They eat a significant portion of the pie.

Edited by Lone Wolf
11 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Yeah,while not specificially mentioned. There is a provision for "Fast Track Procedure", which is within the purse of 1.85 Lakh Crore (slightly above 20 Billion USD).
Last year we spent around 40000 Crores on the same.

I think true indian defence budget is 120 to 130 billion

Its growing at a fair clip

10 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

But source is directly taken from MM Narvane's unreleased Memoir as per the writer 

Ummm

Context is key. Also where exactly does he say the indian civilan leadership shellshocked? 

This writer Sushant Singh, i questioned his article on the FT and he had me banned from commenting. 

Typical deep state asset.

2 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

I think true indian defence budget is 120 to 130 billion

Its growing at a fair clip

Nominal increase+15.3% looks strong on paper. Adjust for defence-specific inflation (6–7%) and FX erosion, and real procurement power is closer to ~+2%. This maintains momentum but doesn’t materially accelerate force modernisation.

Capital outlay kills us every single time..