18 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

We badly need additional Aircraft carriers, specifically of around 60-65k ton...which can have atleast 3 squadrons.

For Mig 29k they seem sufficient.  Navy anyways doesn't has enough aircrafts to effectively fully utilise it's power projection ability.  2 operational Aircraft carriers are also underutilized coz of that.

As of now SSK's should be high on priority followed by SSN.

4 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

For Mig 29k they seem sufficient.  Navy anyways doesn't has enough aircrafts to effectively fully utilise it's power projection ability.  2 operational Aircraft carriers are also underutilized coz of that.

As of now SSK's should be high on priority followed by SSN.

Yeah, obvious priority will be P75(I), P77, P18 & P76.

But since the Def M has already highlighted the requirement for additional Aircraft Carriers (Vikramaditya is getting old)...by the time TEDBF is in operation the third & fourth AC will be either ready or close to readiness.

This year we are going to complete our P17(A) and shift to P17(B). Navy is pushing hard to hit the target of 200 vessels by 2035 from the current number of 150-160.

5 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

The Israeli deal also didn't help matters.  H125 announcement faced so much backlash last night.

This was unclear, H125 is the only helicopter which has landed on the summit of Mt. Everest. It's extremely useful for our himalayas to carry the civilians and military personnel. But based on what I've heard it'll be primarily used for civilian purposes (heli tourism, emergency services).

Presently, it's only HAL that's making the helicopters, but they've a huge backlog and are focussing on LUH combat helicopter.

2 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Yeah, obvious priority will be P75(I), P77, P18 & P76.

But since the Def M has already highlighted the requirement for additional Aircraft Carriers (Vikramaditya is getting old)...by the time TEDBF is in operation the third & fourth AC will be either ready or close to readiness.

This year we are going to complete our P17(A) and shift to P17(B). Navy is pushing hard to hit the target of 200 vessels by 2035 from the current number of 150-160.

TEDBF is a khayali pulao atm.. If reports of additional 31 Rafale M are true, it may as well get shelved.

P18 is still in design phase, that is deep into the future atm.  I feel P76 first roll out may happen sooner than that.  

P17B order isn't even given and I read thode delays aa rahe hai.

1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said:

This was unclear, H125 is the only helicopter which has landed on the summit of Mt. Everest. It's extremely useful for our himalayas to carry the civilians and military personnel. But based on what I've heard it'll be primarily used for civilian purposes (heli tourism, emergency services).

Presently, it's only HAL that's making the helicopters, but they've a huge backlog and are focussing on LUH combat helicopter.

Even Pooks operate this one.

But the problem is with assembling 40-yr old junk with no composites and calling it Atma Nirbharata while no interest is shown in LUH. 

LUH is specifically designed for needs of Indian army to carry payloads at height of siachin and perform landing and take off there.

BC kitna Jaziya de rahe ye bkl

11 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Even Pooks operate this one.

But the problem is with assembling 40-yr old junk with no composites and calling it Atma Nirbharata while no interest is shown in LUH. 

LUH is specifically designed for needs of Indian army to carry payloads at height of siachin and perform landing and take off there.

BC kitna Jaziya de rahe ye bkl

LUH has faced significant delays bhai, you know very well the manufacturer...HAL. It was sanctioned in 2009-10, 2016 me first prototype was flown and 12 units are ordered (6 each for Army and IAF) in 2021, not delivered yet.
Discussions for 200 are also going on and Army+IAF wants close to 400 LUH's. But HAL as usual is doing timepass.

Anyway, H125 is a private sector manufacturing (Tata + AirBus).

France Proposes Additional Scorpene Submarines to Bolster India's Undersea Defence Capabilities Amid Modernisation Efforts https://defence.in/threads/france-proposes-additional-scorpene-submarines-to-bolster-indias-undersea-defence-capabilities-amid-modernisation-efforts.16954/

So after the order of 6 Scorpenes were done, there were discussions to procure additional 3 scorpenes, but the order seems to be "On Hold" as India is focussing more on P75I and P77 (for which 2 subs steel cutting is in progress).

We have currently 6 Scopenes which are the latest ones...while close to 10 old submarines of Sindhughosh and Sishumar class...add them the 2 SSBNs and number goes to 18.

Navy has stressed the need to have atleast 24 submarines in operation, while SSBN, though operated by Navy isnt under their direct control.

So, even if we retire Sindhughosh and Shishumar by 2040, we will have 6 Scorpene, 6 P75I, 6 P77 and 12 P76...total 30.

Adding 3 additional Scorpene will make sense only if P76 sees a delay, as we need to keep the production like in MDL active.

https://www.firstpost.com/india/indian-navy-likely-to-commission-third-indigenous-nuclear-powered-submarine-soon-to-boost-its-deterrence-13981798.html

Finally Aridhaman is here, will be inducted in the Navy by May 2026 (around Op Sindoor anniversary).
Aridhaman has capability to carry double number of K4 missiles (8) in comparison to Arihant and Arighaat. So, in summary it follows a different design and hence is in class of it's own.
S4* hopefully we see it by end of this year in the Navy as well, increasing our capability to 4 SSBNs.

Our Air force is planning a wargame on border. Will be depositing several times more explosives than 70+ explosives used in op Sindoor

30 minutes ago, mishra said:

Our Air force is planning a wargame on border. Will be depositing several times more explosives than 70+ explosives used in op Sindoor

Having home grown missiles is the key.

Missiles like Scalp, Hammer, Spice, Derby, MICA, Meteor...no matter how much we buy. They have a limited stock.

Homegrown missiles like Brahmos, Rudram, Astra are the ones where we have total control.

16 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

https://www.moneycontrol.com/news/india/iaf-grounds-entire-fleet-of-tejas-after-third-major-incident-to-launch-extensive-scrutiny-13839392.html

Disgusting news, HAL at this moment is now literally playing with the lives of young fighter pilots.

How long govt will tolerate this ? If a pvt sector would have faced such issues, they would have been penalised and banned.

Issue is, Not having testing facility. IMO, HAL must have a testing facilty in India by now. Unfortunately, we neither had urgency or foresight or budget. On top, there was /is Babudom

18 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

https://www.moneycontrol.com/news/india/iaf-grounds-entire-fleet-of-tejas-after-third-major-incident-to-launch-extensive-scrutiny-13839392.html

Disgusting news, HAL at this moment is now literally playing with the lives of young fighter pilots.

How long govt will tolerate this ? If a pvt sector would have faced such issues, they would have been penalised and banned.

Heard hal prachand deliveries for 2027 are also on course to be delayed.. 

On 2/23/2026 at 4:28 PM, G_B_ said:

Su57 i think is more or less confirmed.

Tot 

Su57 is very much needed now...as the 5th gen warfare is lingering around.

I also feel that IAF has 0% trust on HALs capability to produce Tejas mk1a and mk2 variants in bulk.

Rafale is going to hold the fort till mk2 comes in large numbers, which wont happen before 2035. Su57 is going to be the bridge till we will get the mk2 version of AMCA with the proposed Safran engine..which may get inducted by 2040 (mk1 variant of AMCA with F414 may not be that capable).