I was expecting this to be launched in March itself.
INS Taragiri is the 4th ship of Nilgiri class (aka P17A)
INS Mahendragiri, Vindhyagiri and Dunagiri are pending for commissioning, hopefully all by this year.

23 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

INS Mahendragiri, Vindhyagiri and Dunagiri are pending for commissioning, hopefully all by this year.

Part of Project 17a approved in 2009, design completed in 2013 and later on orders.

We are expected to see sharp dip in construction post 2027.  Except Some corvettes apparently nothing is under construction. 

They need to greenlit Project 17b soon and place orders for MDL.  Production line should not be stopped at any cost.

Also Repeat orders for Vizag class destroyers as Project 18 is deep into the future and in design phase.

20 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Part of Project 17a approved in 2009, design completed in 2013 and later on orders.

We are expected to see sharp dip in construction post 2027.  Except Some corvettes apparently nothing is under construction. 

They need to greenlit Project 17b soon and place orders for MDL.  Production line should not be stopped at any cost.

Also Repeat orders for Vizag class destroyers as Project 18 is deep into the future and in design phase.

MDL and GRSE Kolkata may see a dip post 17A, unless P17B and P18 are started (shared between them). MDL also will work on P75I as they've expanded a new shipyard in TN.
HSL has secured a 19000 Crore contract to build FSS, so it is busy till 2032-33. It's also parallely working for Coast Guard ships and patrol vessels.
Goa Shipyard is building Frigates for Talwar Class, along with other pollution control vehicles.
Cochin Shipyard is engaged with ASW ships, Missile Vessels and potentially IAC-2.

Cochin Shipyard is also working on LNG vessels and even Goa Shipyard is building commercial vessels.

We need new shipyards badly, to expand the capacity. Ofcourse, order book will increase once we build our economy. But we need to have more shipyards in Odisha, Karnataka and Gujrat to build new ships at rapid pace. 

40 minutes ago, jf1gp_1 said:

Logic is simple

1. They have to show their public that they're still in control and not a pet of US

2. Hindu (& its sister religions) hatred knows no boundaries. They dont deserve any "lawful" justice.

3. To activate their sleeper cells and leftists ideologies within India to pressurise govt.

Congress was always against attacking Pakistan due to its "N" card. BJP despite all its fault lines atleast show the courage to test their limits. Now Pooks are using the "N" card again to scare away Indian govt from subsequent attacks.

43 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Logic is simple

1. They have to show their public that they're still in control and not a pet of US

2. Hindu (& its sister religions) hatred knows no boundaries. They dont deserve any "lawful" justice.

3. To activate their sleeper cells and leftists ideologies within India to pressurise govt.

Congress was always against attacking Pakistan due to its "N" card. BJP despite all its fault lines atleast show the courage to test their limits. Now Pooks are using the "N" card again to scare away Indian govt from subsequent attacks.

there is a scene in dhurandar 2 which captures this mentality 

Until P18 NGD comes in next decade with its 144 VLS cells the firepower will remain an issue.. currently on Vizag class destroyers we have 44 VLS only..

Though I suppose they will upgrade it Nilgiri and Vizag class during their midlife upgrades deep into the future and Navy won't disclose that, there is enough space for expansion.

Indian Navy for time being is designed to fight close to its own waters.  P75I subs armed with VLS (hopefully) will add some offensive capability when it comes to South East Asia and deeper into the Indian Ocean.

Edited by Lone Wolf
22 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

India needs capacity to produce 5 to 6 frigates+ corvettes per year. 

As i said 40 of these each means we control the indian ocean.

5 hours ago, G_B_ said:

India needs capacity to produce 5 to 6 frigates+ corvettes per year. 

As i said 40 of these each means we control the indian ocean.

Yeah,
PLAN shipyards are pumping naval ships at a breathtaking pace, we are too slow.
70000 crores have been planned to open new shipyards (PSU and private) in Odisha, TN and Gujarat....which can be utilized to create commercial vessels like Cargo ships, Oil tankers etc.
This will ensure existing shipyards can focus specifically on the Navy requirements.

Pretty sure , the Americans are voluntarily delaying the release of the engines. The Tejas mk1 would be a serious contender to the ageing f16s.

Edited by bsriharsha

Safran right now is offering a better deal w.r.t engines. They are designing their engines to fit in the ge414 form factor so that the Tejas mk2 wouldn't need to be massively redesigned 

Indian govt should take whatever engines ge gives us and the rest can be manufactured in house in Hyderabad later. (With 100% technology transfer)

Edited by bsriharsha
9 minutes ago, bsriharsha said:

Safran right now is offering a better deal w.r.t engines. They are designing their engines to fit in the ge414 form factor so that the Tejas mk2 wouldn't need to be massively redesigned 

Indian govt should take whatever engines ge gives us and the rest can be manufactured in house in Hyderabad later. (With 100% technology transfer)

For F414, yes, Safran is the better contender in the current geopolitical scenario.

Tejas mk2 & AMCA mk1 both were supposed to be powered by F414. So even if F414 continue the same pace as of F404, India will have plan 2 to move along.

Thats why I am not in favour of getting more C130J for the MTA platform, better to go ahead with Embrayer or Airbus and for heavy Transports get a deal with Russia for IL-476 & move on. Whatever Globemasters we have, that should be the final.

I am 100% sure even with F404, the engine supply will start when Kaveri is able to match the thrust by reducing its weight by 100 kilos. 

1 minute ago, singhvivek141 said:

For F414, yes, Safran is the better contender in the current geopolitical scenario.

Tejas mk2 & AMCA mk1 both were supposed to be powered by F414. So even if F414 continue the same pace as of F404, India will have plan 2 to move along.

Thats why I am not in favour of getting more C130J for the MTA platform, better to go ahead with Embrayer or Airbus and for heavy Transports get a deal with Russia for IL-476 & move on. Whatever Globemasters we have, that should be the final.

I am 100% sure even with F404, the engine supply will start when Kaveri is able to match the thrust by reducing its weight by 100 kilos. 

Agree no more reliance on US and US companies. Better go for other options. 

Even if it means the Tejas mk2 with Safran engines is ready by 2032.

While, all the focus was on P17B Frigates & P18 Destroyers...seems the P28A for Next Gen Corvettes has taken a leap ahead.

40000 Crores have been allocated for the  requiremrnt of 8 Corvettes and the work will be divided between Garden Reach Shipyard, Kolkata (5) and Goa Shipyard, Vasco(3).

These Corvettes will be almost double the size of present Kamorta class Corvettes with a displacement of 3500 Ton. They will have 8 Brahmos missiles and potentially host helicopters as well for Anti Submarine Operations.

https://defence.in/threads/grse-and-gsl-set-to-build-8-next-gen-corvette-for-indian-navy-as-final-ccs-clearance-imminent.17269/

DAC Approval for 2.38 Lakh Crore military hardware. Notable inclusions

1. 5 Additional squadrons of S400 (63k Crores)
2. 60 MTA's for IAF to replace An32 and IL76 fleet. 12 in fly-away condition, 48 to be manufactured in India.

3. Procurement of 300 155mm Dhanush Artillery Guns
4. Four squadrons of Ghatak (72-80 units)
5. Engine overhaul of Su30MKI
6. Multipurpose Hovercrafts for ICG for Coast Patrolling

https://www.pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage.aspx?PRID=2246125&reg=3&lang=2