Desi Cartman Posted September 22, 2008 Posted September 22, 2008 Which is the best small car to buy in India these days ?My dad is considering i10 , swift , santro etc ? Please keep in mind that this car will be driven around by my dad and thats why I want it to be small , have power steering, air bags etc . Please suggest and also let me know if you know the price range. here is the info as I know Swift - Rs 411k (basic model with air bags ) i10 - Rs350k :driver::driver::driver::driver:
Desi Cartman Posted September 22, 2008 Author Posted September 22, 2008 Santro is the new 800. Go for it. what about i10 ?
punjabi_khota Posted September 22, 2008 Posted September 22, 2008 what about i10 ? Zyada pata nahi bhai..but Santro is now THE most reliable small car in its category bar none on the Indian roads. Has been around for a long time, proven, easy spares and service. i10 is new entrant..so not much is known I think.
Desi Cartman Posted September 22, 2008 Author Posted September 22, 2008 is Santro Xing the new santro :hmmmm2:
Ram Posted September 22, 2008 Posted September 22, 2008 If you're looking for a small car with power steering, I suggest you strongly consider the Zen. Assuming your father may use the car only for normal day-day transportation, Swift is just much over and above what your father needs. Santro is a good car, but Zen is smaller and therefore easier to maneuver and park. And it has a power steering version too. And the last time I heard, it was the largest selling car in its category.
Desi Cartman Posted September 22, 2008 Author Posted September 22, 2008 Thanks MM , my dad currently drives a zen and now wants something different. Plus I dont think the new zen is any better than Santro. btw Santro doesnt have airbags ... eeeh ...
beetle Posted September 22, 2008 Posted September 22, 2008 check out.....http://cars.tatamotors.com/IndicaV2/index.aspx
Dirty_South Posted September 22, 2008 Posted September 22, 2008 Why not Palio ??? Its one of best small cars I've ever driven ! (in India) Next wud b i10 and then Swift. I heard the new Indica Vista is also pretty good.
varun Posted September 22, 2008 Posted September 22, 2008 Check out the Maruti DZire.. Been getting rave reviews recently http://www.marutidzire.com/
Dirty_South Posted September 22, 2008 Posted September 22, 2008 A big NO for Dzire. i10 or Palio wud be a wise choice.
Ram Posted September 22, 2008 Posted September 22, 2008 Maruti Dzire? Sounds like some 125 cc motorbike name to me.
Dirty_South Posted September 22, 2008 Posted September 22, 2008 lol SX4 and Dzire r so ugly looking cars
Ram Posted September 22, 2008 Posted September 22, 2008 No seriously, it just doesnt sound like a car name at all. If I, with zero marketing knowledge and experience, can figure that out the first time I heard that name, why cant the marketing boffins at Maruti, who spent a lifetime doing this job and get paid milions, figure that out...? :cantstop:
coffee_rules Posted September 22, 2008 Posted September 22, 2008 How about Maruti Alto> I drove my FIL's car - Alto in India. Found to be good. I felt it is very safe.
fineleg Posted September 22, 2008 Posted September 22, 2008 No seriously, it just doesnt sound like a car name at all. If I, with zero marketing knowledge and experience, can figure that out the first time I heard that name, why cant the marketing boffins at Maruti, who spent a lifetime doing this job and get paid milions, figure that out...? :cantstop: same reason Financial so-called-wizards made so many wrong decisions leading to the Economic crisis now. Experts, paid millions, been in the field long time etc. But then they make some decisions!
Dirty_South Posted September 22, 2008 Posted September 22, 2008 How about Maruti Alto> I drove my FIL's car - Alto in India. Found to be good. I felt it is very safe. yeah Alto is a good car...its got Electronic power steering too....very easy to drive in cities. But space is a major issue. But he already owns a Zen,which is not different than Alto !
Desi Cartman Posted September 22, 2008 Author Posted September 22, 2008 Thanks everybody ! I have compared prices and it seems i10 is the best value for $. swift's base model is around 411k and i10's top model is 397k. The features are similar. I was concerned that i10 might be too small but people have told me its as big as santro. Now the only thing im concerned about it airbags. Swift 550k model has airbags, i1o doesnt come with airbags.
Dirty_South Posted September 22, 2008 Posted September 22, 2008 Who told u i10 doesn't come with Airbags ? My friend has dual airbags in his i10 !