ludhianvi Posted October 27, 2008 Posted October 27, 2008 Happy Diwali all! A few memories to share. We used to get quite a lot of firecrackers, anars, rockets. The day after Diwali, which we used to call Diwala, we used to search for the parachutes that were released from the rockets when they were fired. Sometimes the 'anars' would not function properly and would burst when you light them. Do you guys recall the 'aloo bombs', we would blow on them, pretending to pull the trigger, and throw them, and upon impact they would burst and make a loud noise. Those candy type wrappers,.... It was quite fun, those days.
King Tendulkar Posted October 27, 2008 Posted October 27, 2008 already had my diwali presents delivered... was handed a fracking 5 day ban during the most pivotal days of indian cricket which just happen to coincide with a considerable scientific achievement... all because some fool squealed like a second grader... thanks rajeev. (resumes plotting his scheme to overthrow the mods and take over the website and then the webpage) :hysterical::hysterical:
punjabi_khota Posted October 27, 2008 Posted October 27, 2008 Happy Diwali all! A few memories to share. We used to get quite a lot of firecrackers, anars, rockets. The day after Diwali, which we used to call Diwala, we used to search for the parachutes that were released from the rockets when they were fired. Sometimes the 'anars' would not function properly and would burst when you light them. Do you guys recall the 'aloo bombs', we would blow on them, pretending to pull the trigger, and throw them, and upon impact they would burst and make a loud noise. Those candy type wrappers,.... It was quite fun, those days. Those candy bombs..half of them wouldn't explode on impact, and the person who threw them ended up lookin like a fool. All my crackers were Murga-Chap from Sivakasi. Ganga-Jamuna was a solid bomb, so was big-ass hydro, 1000 waali ladi was super awesome, and rockets were always nice. Oh man...it has been sometime ..7 years to be exact.
Prudent Posted October 27, 2008 Posted October 27, 2008 Happy Deepwali / Diwali to all An interesting read>> Deepavali is not Diwali
coffee_rules Posted October 27, 2008 Posted October 27, 2008 As a kid, It was an exciting time as well as being sad for not getting enough 'pataka' to fire. Not being so much privileged, no amount of money spent would be enough for us. Happy times, tho! Do kids still yearn to brun crackers..I guess the culture has changed to not waste so much money now Happy DeepavaLi to all!
Lurker Posted October 27, 2008 Posted October 27, 2008 Happy Diwali everyone. Did anyone buy anything on Dhanteras?? Or was I the only one hauling stuff for home? :((
rahulrulezz Posted October 28, 2008 Posted October 28, 2008 Happpy Diwaliiiii Everyone!!!! Got some firecrackers(Anars and Rockets) and will be bursting with my university friends tommrow night..cant wait for it...
Sachinism Posted October 28, 2008 Posted October 28, 2008 Happy Diwali to all my ICF people hope you have an enjoyable day
Desi Cartman Posted October 28, 2008 Posted October 28, 2008 Im in delhi and there is a total ban on selling firecrackers in south delhi. I wanted the lame phooljhadis / sparkles but there is not even a single shop in south delhi selling any fireworks , bombs etc Good times :yay: finally some sense :yay:
DomainK Posted October 28, 2008 Posted October 28, 2008 Im in delhi and there is a total ban on selling firecrackers in south delhi. I wanted the lame phooljhadis / sparkles but there is not even a single shop in south delhi selling any fireworks , bombs etc Good times :yay: finally some sense :yay: I am sure any lack of fireworks in Delhi will be compensated by the Indian batsmen over the next five days.:two_thumbs_up:
veer Posted October 28, 2008 Posted October 28, 2008 Happy Diwali folks!! This is the festival of lights, joy, togetherness, family, friends.. enjoy 'em..
TaNk Posted October 28, 2008 Posted October 28, 2008 Im in delhi and there is a total ban on selling firecrackers in south delhi. I wanted the lame phooljhadis / sparkles but there is not even a single shop in south delhi selling any fireworks , bombs etc Good times :yay: finally some sense :yay: i heard punter is *****ing about fireworks in Delhi and smoke in air etc etc and there will be a late start :((
Desi Cartman Posted October 29, 2008 Posted October 29, 2008 i heard punter is *****ing about fireworks in Delhi and smoke in air etc etc and there will be a late start :(( Its a shame that BCCI is making a cricket team play a test match in delhi a day after diwali ... Salay pagal hai ..there is way too much pollution
Willow_on_fire Posted October 29, 2008 Posted October 29, 2008 A very Happy Diwali !!!!!! to everyone at ICF....:icflove: