Lord Posted March 14, 2009 Posted March 14, 2009 its my exam time but all i can think of is cricket n ICF abou how ICFers will discuss todays game n all. has it happened to u?please suggest ways to concentrate on studies n forget about cricket n ICF:--D
Sachinism Posted March 14, 2009 Posted March 14, 2009 send a private message to ravi, really swearing at him, should solve the problem
Lord Posted March 14, 2009 Author Posted March 14, 2009 send a private message to ravi' date=' really swearing at him, should solve the problem[/quote'] NO I WANT TO RETURN AFTER EXAMS:giggle:
Sachinism Posted March 14, 2009 Posted March 14, 2009 Ask to be banned for a certain period of time Or just use willpower
Shane Posted March 14, 2009 Posted March 14, 2009 Rox, presume its gonna be a Dhoni appreciation week at ICF, a celebration of his immense impact on our Team, should be good enuf to keep you away for a fortnight !!! :winky:
DomainK Posted March 14, 2009 Posted March 14, 2009 Rox' date=' presume its gonna be a Dhoni appreciation week at ICF, a celebration of his immense impact on our Team, should be good enuf to keep you away for a fortnight !!! :winky:[/quote'] Lord is rox? Didnt know that.
Shane Posted March 14, 2009 Posted March 14, 2009 Lord is rox? Didnt know that. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: u shdnt have changed it, lulz !!!
Ram Posted March 14, 2009 Posted March 14, 2009 Exams are the most useless things on this planet. I spent the most energetic years of my life preparing for these pointless piece of academic experiments. What a relief its all over now...phewwww..
EnterTheVoid Posted March 15, 2009 Posted March 15, 2009 Rox, u studying for your undergrad / post grad exams? what course?
DomainK Posted March 15, 2009 Posted March 15, 2009 Exams are the most useless things on this planet. I spent the most energetic years of my life preparing for these pointless piece of academic experiments. What a relief its all over now...phewwww.. Well said. Total wastage of time. Another thing I could never understand is the requirement to score above a certain percentage in each subject. If a student scores above 95% in Science and less than 30% in History, the school, in stead of encouraging him to take up a career in Science, fails him and wastes another year of his precious youth into mugging up events of history. So what if he does not like History and does not want to study it? He is showing talent in in one subject and hence he should be allowed to study the subject more closely. I still remember mugging up different kinds of soils and their characteristics before the exam because I feared I would fail in Geography. I passed with bare minimum marks and forgot the soils within two days. Never bothered to read them again and it never made a difference in my life. My career is prospering without the knowledge of different kinds of soils, my clients dont ask me Akbar's father's name, my boss does not ask me where Gautam Budghha attained the divine knowledge. If I hadnt been forced to mug up these nonsense details, school could have been a much better experience and I could have learned my favorite subjects more in depth.
nikred Posted March 15, 2009 Posted March 15, 2009 Well said. Total wastage of time. Another thing I could never understand is the requirement to score above a certain percentage in each subject. If a student scores above 95% in Science and less than 30% in History, the school, in stead of encouraging him to take up a career in Science, fails him and wastes another year of his precious youth into mugging up events of history. So what if he does not like History and does not want to study it? He is showing talent in in one subject and hence he should be allowed to study the subject more closely. I still remember mugging up different kinds of soils and their characteristics before the exam because I feared I would fail in Geography. I passed with bare minimum marks and forgot the soils within two days. Never bothered to read them again and it never made a difference in my life. My career is prospering without the knowledge of different kinds of soils, my clients dont ask me Akbar's father's name, my boss does not ask me where Gautam Budghha attained the divine knowledge. If I hadnt been forced to mug up these nonsense details, school could have been a much better experience and I could have learned my favorite subjects more in depth. Totally agree with you.:icflove:
Dirty_South Posted March 15, 2009 Posted March 15, 2009 Well said. Total wastage of time. Another thing I could never understand is the requirement to score above a certain percentage in each subject. If a student scores above 95% in Science and less than 30% in History, the school, in stead of encouraging him to take up a career in Science, fails him and wastes another year of his precious youth into mugging up events of history. So what if he does not like History and does not want to study it? He is showing talent in in one subject and hence he should be allowed to study the subject more closely. I still remember mugging up different kinds of soils and their characteristics before the exam because I feared I would fail in Geography. I passed with bare minimum marks and forgot the soils within two days. Never bothered to read them again and it never made a difference in my life. My career is prospering without the knowledge of different kinds of soils, my clients dont ask me Akbar's father's name, my boss does not ask me where Gautam Budghha attained the divine knowledge. If I hadnt been forced to mug up these nonsense details, school could have been a much better experience and I could have learned my favorite subjects more in depth. :nice::agree:
mhr123 Posted March 15, 2009 Posted March 15, 2009 Well said. Total wastage of time. Another thing I could never understand is the requirement to score above a certain percentage in each subject. If a student scores above 95% in Science and less than 30% in History, the school, in stead of encouraging him to take up a career in Science, fails him and wastes another year of his precious youth into mugging up events of history. So what if he does not like History and does not want to study it? He is showing talent in in one subject and hence he should be allowed to study the subject more closely. I still remember mugging up different kinds of soils and their characteristics before the exam because I feared I would fail in Geography. I passed with bare minimum marks and forgot the soils within two days. Never bothered to read them again and it never made a difference in my life. My career is prospering without the knowledge of different kinds of soils, my clients dont ask me Akbar's father's name, my boss does not ask me where Gautam Budghha attained the divine knowledge. If I hadnt been forced to mug up these nonsense details, school could have been a much better experience and I could have learned my favorite subjects more in depth. :nice::nice: I still remember a Sanjay Dutt dialouge in a Movie Naam " Saala yeh padayee mujhe nahi hotaa hai yaar, Yeh Akbar India kaab aur Kyou aaya thaa Isse mujhe yah lena dena"
Ram Posted March 15, 2009 Posted March 15, 2009 Well said. Total wastage of time. Another thing I could never understand is the requirement to score above a certain percentage in each subject. If a student scores above 95% in Science and less than 30% in History, the school, in stead of encouraging him to take up a career in Science, fails him and wastes another year of his precious youth into mugging up events of history. So what if he does not like History and does not want to study it? He is showing talent in in one subject and hence he should be allowed to study the subject more closely. I still remember mugging up different kinds of soils and their characteristics before the exam because I feared I would fail in Geography. I passed with bare minimum marks and forgot the soils within two days. Never bothered to read them again and it never made a difference in my life. My career is prospering without the knowledge of different kinds of soils, my clients dont ask me Akbar's father's name, my boss does not ask me where Gautam Budghha attained the divine knowledge. If I hadnt been forced to mug up these nonsense details, school could have been a much better experience and I could have learned my favorite subjects more in depth. :hatsoff: I remember, during my 9th and 10th standards, we had this ridiculous 'Map' Section in our Social Studies (History+Geography+Civics) Paper. For that, we were given an India Map and asked questions like 'Identify the Bird Sanctuaries in Assam', 'Identify Mt. Kanchanjunga' or 'Plot the path of River Godhavari'. This section of the question paper was what spooked me the most during the preparation of the exam, as I tried frantically to memorize the locations of these things on an India Map. Now, why would anyone want to know where are the Bird Sanctuaries in Assam? or where is Mt.Kanchanjunga or the path that River Godhavari takes before meeting the sea? Its ridiculous. If the intent of those questions was to make the student understand and learn more about India, it was failure or mammoth proportions, coz I generally forgot those things a minute after the exam. Everything I know about India, her culture, her people, her diversity, her natural wonders is what I saw for myself or in the media (print and electronic). Nothing that I know about India came from text books. So, why the eff did these people waste my time in learning all these pointless pieces of facts?
The Outsider Posted March 15, 2009 Posted March 15, 2009 I disagree with the sentiment about learning different subjects is a useless exercise at school level - the examination system is bad in certain situations specially in India, but school level knowledge should not be about specializations anyway. If anything the system in India is way too rigid. Why should I have to choose between Arts, Science, Math, Biology at the age of 15? Personally, I was really interested in Geography but had to drop it becaus I could not study it with Physics. In undergrad I could not take up Economics as a minor to my honors subject, Physics. I had to wait till grad school in the US to do a lot of things I wanted to do, making it a point to take one subject out of my field every semester after the qualifying exam - Economics, wine tasting, Anthropology. I don't use any of these things directly in my profession, but it was just for fun and knowledge which is what education should be all about. Personally, I am yet to come across a 'boring' subject if taught and learnt with the pursuit of gaining an understanding. What's wrong with knowing which soil is found where and is conduciv to the cultivation of which crops or where Kanchenjuga is if taught in the right spirit. School education is supposed to he fun about learning as diverse things as possible rather than making yourself an expert in solving complex differential equations. There is enough time in life for all that.
Lurker Posted March 15, 2009 Posted March 15, 2009 I still remember mugging up different kinds of soils and their characteristics before the exam because I feared I would fail in Geography. I passed with bare minimum marks and forgot the soils within two days. Never bothered to read them again and it never made a difference in my life. My career is prospering without the knowledge of different kinds of soils, my clients dont ask me Akbar's father's name, my boss does not ask me where Gautam Budghha attained the divine knowledge. If I hadnt been forced to mug up these nonsense details, school could have been a much better experience and I could have learned my favorite subjects more in depth. That would be Bodh Gaya and as a fellow Indian I think you ought to know that. Whether your boss asks you or not is a moot point. Your boss is also not going ask you the difference between Median and Mode, or the volume of a cylinder but that didnt stop you from studying Science now did it? I am not at all surprised at this dislike for History, Social Sciences and Literature shown by many posters. In the blind need to ape the West the first thing that we threw to the dustbin was our own Indianness, and what exactly teaches us Indianness if not History and language. Now, why would anyone want to know where are the Bird Sanctuaries in Assam? or where is Mt.Kanchanjunga or the path that River Godhavari takes before meeting the sea? Its ridiculous. If the intent of those questions was to make the student understand and learn more about India, it was failure or mammoth proportions, coz I generally forgot those things a minute after the exam. And why not? What else is India to you?? Mumbai, Delhi, Calcutta?? I bet you would have little or no idea of Sikkim or Arunachal. To you, and many other "Indians", they are just an Indian state on the map that you were probably forced to learn about. I am reminded of my stint at REC Jamshedpur when for the first time I came in contact with non-Bihari students. Half of them did not know where Jamshedpur existed on map. When our cricket team would go to Dhanbad, Durgapur, Rourkela there was little knowledge amongst South Indians or Punjabis. Of course the same "Indians" knew who was 5th in Formula 1 racing or what college in Texas gives free scholarship. Apparently nothing much has changed since 90s. xxx
Ram Posted March 15, 2009 Posted March 15, 2009 I disagree with the sentiment about learning different subjects is a useless exercise at school level - the examination system is bad in certain situations specially in India, but school level knowledge should not be about specializations anyway. If anything the system in India is way too rigid. Why should I have to choose between Arts, Science, Math, Biology at the age of 15? Personally, I was really interested in Geography but had to drop it becaus I could not study it with Physics. In undergrad I could not take up Economics as a minor to my honors subject, Physics. I had to wait till grad school in the US to do a lot of things I wanted to do, making it a point to take one subject out of my field every semester after the qualifying exam - Economics, wine tasting, Anthropology. I don't use any of these things directly in my profession, but it was just for fun and knowledge which is what education should be all about. Personally, I am yet to come across a 'boring' subject if taught and learnt with the pursuit of gaining an understanding. What's wrong with knowing which soil is found where and is conduciv to the cultivation of which crops or where Kanchenjuga is if taught in the right spirit. School education is supposed to he fun about learning as diverse things as possible rather than making yourself an expert in solving complex differential equations. There is enough time in life for all that. What is fun about sitting the night before the exam and mugging up the locations of Bharatpur Bird Sanctuary or the Mt.K2 on an India map? I want to know about many things at school, I want to learn as much as I can about my country, but I dont want information to be force fed upon me just for the sake of it. And you hit the nail right on the head, school education is supposed to be fun, but there was hardly anything 'fun' about this. Instead of having the students memorize these things, schools can have workshops where all students prepare and present about a particular topic, chosen out of a common theme. For eg, if the workshop was about Indian wildlife , each group of students could choose their own topic (like say the Endangered species of India) and present it to on a given day. How much fun would that be? I did not want to waste my precious childhood memorizing the different cash-crops of India or which year Akbar build the Fatehpur-Sikhri (If I got that right). I'd have had more fun playing sports, camping out or just going on field trips.