Desi Cartman Posted March 20, 2009 Author Posted March 20, 2009 I am not so sure. If there is a conflict with your immediate team member you need to take care of it. Sooner or later you will need to work with him and this could be an issue than. I guess the correct thing is to change a little so they cant whinge about it but at the same time make sure that I maintain a distance.
Rajiv Posted March 20, 2009 Posted March 20, 2009 You should only change if you are bothered, and by the looks of it you seem to be concerned. I'd say be bindass, take your paycheck and *** the losers
Desi Cartman Posted March 20, 2009 Author Posted March 20, 2009 You should only change if you are bothered' date=' and by the looks of it you seem to be concerned. I'd say be bindass, take your paycheck and *** the losers[/quote'] I rather change few things so they cant complain about me .. but at the same time maintain some distance .. no point in taking them on .. saray budhay hain and they have been working together for 10 years or so .. Manger will also listen to them ..
fineleg Posted March 20, 2009 Posted March 20, 2009 I rather change few things so they cant complain about me .. but at the same time maintain some distance .. no point in taking them on .. saray budhay hain and they have been working together for 10 years or so .. Manger will also listen to them .. That is the key - what the manager thinks. If the "group of friends" have influence on the manager, you better watch your back.
theguyinallblue Posted March 20, 2009 Posted March 20, 2009 its not good to be too honest... you can lie about your job pressure..like you were at home doing the job..still you could not attend to your wife or some very important job since you were working... even if you are having a comfortable time work wise...show that you are having a tough time managing work both at home and at office... kuch baten mann me rakhna seekho guru...
Desi Cartman Posted March 20, 2009 Author Posted March 20, 2009 its not good to be too honest... you can lie about your job pressure..like you were at home doing the job..still you could not attend to your wife or some very important job since you were working... even if you are having a comfortable time work wise...show that you are having a tough time managing work both at home and at office... kuch baten mann me rakhna seekho guru... :hatsoff: true ... I got too friendly I guess
fineleg Posted March 20, 2009 Posted March 20, 2009 desi, did ur team talk about you when you were not there? (not sure if you found out later or you are 'guessing'), but - if its jovial its ok, but if they talked in an insulting manner, then maybe you can gently tell your manager to ask them to keep a lid on it.
Desi Cartman Posted March 20, 2009 Author Posted March 20, 2009 desi, did ur team talk about you when you were not there? (not sure if you found out later or you are 'guessing'), but - if its jovial its ok, but if they talked in an insulting manner, then maybe you can gently tell your manager to ask them to keep a lid on it. nah overall its fine .. its just that I can see that all of a sudden they all started making some not so funny jokes about me coming in late etc ... my manager also told me that Team wasnt happy when I took time off to take of my wife since they had too much to do and I wasnt around to help. I told him I gotta do what I gotta do & if people can leave their family members in the hospital and come to work then I dont have problems but I am not like them and never will be ..
fineleg Posted March 20, 2009 Posted March 20, 2009 Economy is real bad in many places, and people are grumpy and not so tolerant or respectful. Sign of the times. People paint a bad picture of colleagues, so if job cuts arrive, then they look 'relatively better'
Desi Cartman Posted March 20, 2009 Author Posted March 20, 2009 ^ true ... basically no one wants to work but people complain about other people ... Anyway ,,,, Im gonna go home and get drunk I m hurt .. my friends hurt me today .. so thats a good reason to get drunk :cheers:
veer Posted March 20, 2009 Posted March 20, 2009 you just gotta know how to tackle these guys.. first make sure that they know that you work an hour from work and then come to office late.. I come lat at my work too but thats because traffic.. and leave late cuz of the same.. i used to get smart comments too but then i took another approach saying... ''man dont you guys get stuck in traffic.. ? its just horrible at 8 am.. you should try 9 am traffic.. its much better''... its just the matter of telling them your part of story.. that is if you care ... for me I kinda care cuz i gotta spend 40 hrs a week with them.. better relations make it easier..
DomainK Posted March 20, 2009 Posted March 20, 2009 That's how an organization reacts. It happens because you do it and your boss, whoever he is, allows you to do so. Most company managements do not encourage such practices as it can potentially spoil the environment, can start a trend and can create rebels which they dont want. My ex-boss was a a great boss. I enjoyed great liberties in the office. He had made it clear to me: As long as the clients are happy, does not matter if you are not coming to the office at all, I wont ask you questions. And if the clients are complaining, does not matter if you are working your ass off in the office 24 hours, I will hold you responsible. So it was clear: if you are delivering the results, you are at liberty how you do it. And I faced similar objections from those colleagues who did not get this liberty. I soon knew who were friends and who were not. I started looking through them and soon enough they stopped asking stupid questions. They talked nasty things about me on my back though....I never cared. I wish I could find such a boss again!!
beetle Posted March 20, 2009 Posted March 20, 2009 its not good to be too honest... you can lie about your job pressure..like you were at home doing the job..still you could not attend to your wife or some very important job since you were working... even if you are having a comfortable time work wise...show that you are having a tough time managing work both at home and at office... kuch baten mann me rakhna seekho guru... Agree... Desi ...if people get upset with your truth....they don't deserve it. If they ask ....always show thatyou are working your ass off..... Also agree with finey about their attempt to show someone as not hard working to keep their jops safe.The khadoos buddas are scared of losing their job to a younger guy. Don't keep distance...be as friendly as you feel is required to keep healthy professional relationship. As for your silly 'dost dost na raha' rant...they are not your friends.If they are backbiting they are definetely not your friends.They are collegues and don't get sentimental about it.They are not your relative...you are not going to spend your life with them . Enjoy whatever family time you get with your wife.....and remember ..hum log hain na yaar!We will love you ..always!:icflove:
Desi Cartman Posted March 20, 2009 Author Posted March 20, 2009 Agree... Desi ...if people get upset with your truth....they don't deserve it. If they ask ....always show thatyou are working your ass off..... Also agree with finey about their attempt to show someone as not hard working to keep their jops safe.The khadoos buddas are scared of losing their job to a younger guy. Don't keep distance...be as friendly as you feel is required to keep healthy professional relationship. As for your silly 'dost dost na raha' rant...they are not your friends.If they are backbiting they are definetely not your friends.They are collegues and don't get sentimental about it.They are not your relative...you are not going to spend your life with them . Enjoy whatever family time you get with your wife.....and remember ..hum log hain na yaar!We will love you ..always!:icflove: Thanks :icflove: am I hurt ?... NO ... was I confused ?YES ... My rant was a reason to get drunk :cheers: I asked one of my colleagues that I feel there is a different reaction when i come in after 10 these days .. I said dont u think everybody knows that I work from home for hours everyday. He said "we have never been told " and then his ass saving dialogue "for me I dont care what others do .. but there might be some people who dont like it" ... I said "See thats why Im talking to u cuz I know that u dont care" :icflove: Next action be polite and as friendly as before and just politely ask my manager when he returns (bicharay ke hernia ka operation hua hai) that if he wants me to work from home every morning then PLEASE let the team members know so they know where to find me .. else I can come in earlier ... That's how an organization reacts. It happens because you do it and your boss, whoever he is, allows you to do so. Most company managements do not encourage such practices as it can potentially spoil the environment, can start a trend and can create rebels which they dont want. My ex-boss was a a great boss. I enjoyed great liberties in the office. He had made it clear to me: As long as the clients are happy, does not matter if you are not coming to the office at all, I wont ask you questions. And if the clients are complaining, does not matter if you are working your ass off in the office 24 hours, I will hold you responsible. So it was clear: if you are delivering the results, you are at liberty how you do it. And I faced similar objections from those colleagues who did not get this liberty. I soon knew who were friends and who were not. I started looking through them and soon enough they stopped asking stupid questions. They talked nasty things about me on my back though....I never cared. I wish I could find such a boss again!! Yes yaar ... I have had my share of excellent and bad managers . I believe younger managers are like that , they let u do what u want but they just want results and they usually get the best out of the team .. Even my present boss is pretty good .. very caring but sometimes he can be a bit weird... chalta hai !
Shane Posted March 20, 2009 Posted March 20, 2009 Tell em "I am super efficient and also .... Au0E8-YTdBo&feature=related
rahulrulezz Posted March 20, 2009 Posted March 20, 2009 Thanks :icflove: am I hurt ?... NO ... was I confused ?YES ... My rant was a reason to get drunk :cheers: I asked one of my colleagues that I feel there is a different reaction when i come in after 10 these days .. I said dont u think everybody knows that I work from home for hours everyday. He said "we have never been told " and then his ass saving dialogue "for me I dont care what others do .. but there might be some people who dont like it" ... I said "See thats why Im talking to u cuz I know that u dont care" :icflove: Next action be polite and as friendly as before and just politely ask my manager when he returns (bicharay ke hernia ka operation hua hai) that if he wants me to work from home every morning then PLEASE let the team members know so they know where to find me .. else I can come in earlier ... Yes yaar ... I have had my share of excellent and bad managers . I believe younger managers are like that , they let u do what u want but they just want results and they usually get the best out of the team .. Even my present boss is pretty good .. very caring but sometimes he can be a bit weird... chalta hai ! :two_thumbs_up:
cochise Posted March 20, 2009 Posted March 20, 2009 Desi, There is an element of group dynamics and tall-poppy syndrome to all of this. If they perceive somehow that you are getting preferential treatment, regardless of the reality, they will react in a hostile manner to bring you back to the pack. It is a form of group-think/pack mentality... Firstly, you may be very able and hard working and they probably know it and they also probably know you that you work from home but will not admit it. You see, indirectly, this shows them up as lacking and thus it induces insecurity in them and they react in a hostile manner to it. I have experienced and continue to experience this all the time...in Oz, anyone who stands out in terms of ability or in terms of behaviour from the norm gets treated in a hostile fashion because it threatens the security of the group and the individuals that comprise the group. Thus, they will act in a way to isolate you and then attack your difference in order to bring you back into the norm, so you no longer stand out, nor take the initiative nor do more than is required of a member of the group. I am so used to this behaviour from work mates, I actually revel in being a maverick...I have never sought to be part of a group so I play the mavericck around the group...take the incoming fire...then I break the group psychology. And I have found that many actually then step out of this closed mindset of the group as they never liked it in the first place, but did not know what to do except conform. Once the psyche of the inward looking and self-policed group is opened up, a much happier workplace emerges, one in which real team work can occur and people are more enthused to take the initiative and innovate without fear of reaction. The first thing in overcoming such problems at work is to not let petty comments disturb you...when you understand that it is coming from a weak and insecure person turned resentful as you are perceived as threatening the mould, it does not tend to bother you much. Identify the dynamic, understand it, and it will not disturb you and you will also know how to handle it.
dial_100 Posted March 20, 2009 Posted March 20, 2009 It depends. Normally, when you get paid, you are paid to do the job, be readily available for 8 or more hours between 7-6 on all work days. Now, some companies want you on Site and some want you online. But if it is the case what you are describing, it is better to get up early and make yourself visible 8 hours a day on scheduled time. Off hours efforts are often over looked and least appreciated.
Desi Cartman Posted March 21, 2009 Author Posted March 21, 2009 Thanks Cochise and dial100 ... thanks everybody , it feels good to know that Im not the only one who has had this issue ... Its was good idea that I created this thread as i got to vent out my frustration and at the same time read your views and suggestions . Here is my theory about all big or small issues in life "in the end its not really going to matter.. we are a tiny part of this vast universe " ... i have also found a way to resolve this and I will ...baki its weekend so mast rahnay ka :cheers: