I lived 7 years in States. Definately enjoyed my stay. It build my character and confidence. Learnt lot from american people and their culture. If I had not gone to USA, I would not be as confident as I am now. I always wanted to come back. And I am glad I came back at right now. I was there when my Mom needed us to be there. If I had not been there on time, I would have not been able to sleep all my life even if I became Millionaire. My life is better here 1) I stay away from all my relatives even my dad does, so got it from him. He was his own man, so am I. 2) 24 Hour water, we have Water Bore, water is not a problem even in Dry area as ours. 3) A/c in all the rooms, Tvs in all the Rooms, Car and all vehicles 4) Maid that cleans every thing. I don;'t have to clean toilets (Gosh hated that in USA), no cleaning dishes etc. 5) I am available whenver my family needs me and I am proud of that fact.

I lived 7 years in States. Definately enjoyed my stay. It build my character and confidence. Learnt lot from american people and their culture. If I had not gone to USA, I would not be as confident as I am now. I always wanted to come back. And I am glad I came back at right now. I was there when my Mom needed us to be there. If I had not been there on time, I would have not been able to sleep all my life even if I became Millionaire.
Good thing you did. This living so many thousands and thousands of miles away has this major drawback that you cannot provide the care you may want to provide.
My life is better here 1) I stay away from all my relatives even my dad does, so got it from him. He was his own man, so am I. 2) 24 Hour water, we have Water Bore, water is not a problem even in Dry area as ours.
that's great, which city is that?
4) Maid that cleans every thing. I don;'t have to clean toilets (Gosh hated that in USA), no cleaning dishes etc.
Definite plus in India. In US, half the weekend goes for all the things you need to do which a maid in India would have helped with!

Here are the points: * Traffif : yes traffic is pathetic in India but go to any big city in the world and try to travel between 7.30 - 9am and then 5pm to 6.30 and enjoy the same traffic jam everywhere .. *Bijli/electricity : Yes definately its better overseas but I can not justify living 1000s of miles away from the place I grew up so I can have 24 hr air conditioning instead of 22hrs a/c and 2 hrs under fan running on generator or battery thing they have these days *Naukri/Job/Money : This is still an issue , the other day I was in a meeting with a team from Chennai and I asked her if she can talk on Thursday and she said to her manager that its election day so its a holiday .. the manager said but u can take an hour out .. the girl said "but sir I had plans" .. the manager said "it wont take long" and she said fine ... and this is what I hate about it .. The managers OWN your ass and I dont like it ... Its a cultural thing. I agree with MM that money is the main driving force for us Indians to move overseas but its also the fact that once u work overseas where one works from 9-5 for 5 days a week then moving back scares you. *Safai/Roads/Cleanliness : I agree Australia is much cleaner , air is less polluted but we dont have any helpers here .. I agree one doesnt need to clean the house everyday but the weekend usually goes into : doing laundry (****ing ironing takes forever ), cooking , cleaning etc .. In India for most of this you can get a helper for 1-2k. even while living overseas if both husband and wife work then its a VERY busy life. *Kids : Its not easy to raise kids here, there is no support , they will miss their nana nani , dada dadi , mausis and mamas always . They will be taught to follow indian values while they will be spending 99.99% of their live in Australia/US. Relatives /Shaadi / birthday : we may all hate our relatives but they are essential part of life. They are there when u need someone. You have wedding to attend in nov-dec , birthdays and other parties all year around. Its a social club. So basically its all about Money and work environment for me !

Regarding the last line, desi - I really think its all more about a comfort zone. Many of us (like shwetabh wrote) are in a comfort zone when we get used to living abroad. Whether money+work envt greater than everything else? It may not be greater had we continued to live in India, we wont miss the work envt that we find here. But, once you are in a comfort zone, then we find it hard to transition or take that step.
there are many other reasons to go and not to go back like crime rate , how old tharkis stare at 14 yr old girls , corruption etc and there are many other reasons like : living with parents when they really need kids around , able to see nephews and nieces grow up, better emergency support , better social life ... here if u fall sick no one bothers .. my boss dropped his wife at the hospital when she was in labor since there was no one watching kids at home .. :orderorder:
Lol, what comfort zone? When you can give up your comfort zone that you had in India to come here, why cant you do it the other way ‘round? After all, when you were contemplating your first move abroad, did you say to yourself ‘Oh, I am in a comfort zone here’ and not move? You just packed those bags and left didn’t you? :laugh: You should just be honest and say ‘I am here for money, I like the feeling of being rich and having a bloated bank account’. Nothing wrong in that. All this comfort zone, discomfort zone is only for people who were born here. It’ll be hard for a person who was born in America, lived all his life in America, to go live in India. You cant be born in India, spend a significant portion of your life in India, migrate abroad for a few years and say – ‘Oh, I am finding it hard to make the switch’. That’s just dishonest and hypocritical.

Last year i went to India after 8 years. My gosh. Chennai had changed completely. Too many buildings. I used to ride 30 to 40 km every day by bike to every corner of chennai. Chennai is always my favorite place. But i don't think i can live there after being here for so long. Traffic is really bad in chennai. When i was new here i wasn't married. I was very young. I had set of friends who were not married. So there was some motivation to go back there. After coming here i got married. They are also settled. There is nothing there to go back to as my parents moved to cuddalore to live peacefully. Here I play cricket 6 months an year. I have lot of friends here. No hassles.

You should just be honest and say ‘I am here for money, I like the feeling of being rich and having a bloated bank account’. Nothing wrong in that. ............. All this comfort zone, discomfort zone is only for people who were born here..
Its not money which is the problem in going back to India. I think from a financial standpoint, I can live alright in India. Its the other things that have been mentioned before in this thread. And, No. Comfort zone is not a problem only if you are born here. People get used to new ways and expectations change, even if they are immigrants. There is absolutely nothing wrong if someone wants to NOT go back to desh, because they make a lot more money in US/Aus/Canada/UK/Holland wherever. That's fine. But I think these days jobs in India pay quite well (not as much as $$ amount, but still you can live comfortably with the compensation esp. in MNCs in India). So, other issues are a bigger bottleneck than just US$
Last year i went to India after 8 years. My gosh. Chennai had changed completely. Too many buildings. I used to ride 30 to 40 km every day by bike to every corner of chennai. Chennai is always my favorite place. But i don't think i can live there after being here for so long. Traffic is really bad in chennai. When i was new here i wasn't married. I was very young. I had set of friends who were not married. So there was some motivation to go back there. After coming here i got married. They are also settled. There is nothing there to go back to as my parents moved to cuddalore to live peacefully. Here I play cricket 6 months an year. I have lot of friends here. No hassles.
Yes, and its even worse in Bangalore. I think B'lore is probably one of the most congested cities in India!

I really can't think of any reason NOT to go back except that it takes a lot of planning to move a family back whereas when I came to the US I was single and it was an easy decision to just pack and leave for greener pastures.

You can go back, but you will never be home. The India I grew up in is not the same India it is now in a lot of ways, I feel as alien there as I felt when I came to the US 8 years back. Politicians, I am very interested in issues that affect the society, the life of a common man, and I dont see the politicians changing anytime in the future. General ethical standards, is lesser in India (dont flame me, but this is what I feel). The system consumes you and it becomes a way of life with yourself. Have seen a lot of idealistic friends lose their fire and passion, and also compromise their principles they would have died for a few years back, dont want that to happen to me. Everything else is fine with me.

> General ethical standards, is lesser in India (dont flame me, but this is what I feel). The system consumes you and it becomes a way of life with yourself. Have seen a lot of idealistic friends lose their fire and passion, and also compromise their principles they would have died for a few years back, dont want that to happen to me. Right on Money. I don't think politicians are problem, its people. We need hard and strong Bureacrats. Some of them become ISA officers so that they can milk money. We need honest guys there. Rest will take care of itself. Right now in our city we have hard nut female police commissioner, boy she is too good. Also we have strong Municipal commisioner, hell bent to follow the laws of town planning. He just demolished illegal shopss on govt. to widen the roads. I remember one incidence during my 6th semester exam. We all were studying in Library. Here comes one guy his dad was big IPS officer (very corrupt) and this guys only aim was to clear ISA/IPS exams (dint worry about BE at all) to become officer and that too very corrupt. That was his lifes ambition, to become unethical and corrupt bureacrat. Jeez, I hope he did not clear the exams.

You can go back, but you will never be home. The India I grew up in is not the same India it is now in a lot of ways, I feel as alien there as I felt when I came to the US 8 years back.
:dito: Its a different India now :((
You can go back, but you will never be home. The India I grew up in is not the same India it is now in a lot of ways, I feel as alien there as I felt when I came to the US 8 years back. Politicians, I am very interested in issues that affect the society, the life of a common man, and I dont see the politicians changing anytime in the future. General ethical standards, is lesser in India (dont flame me, but this is what I feel). The system consumes you and it becomes a way of life with yourself. Have seen a lot of idealistic friends lose their fire and passion, and also compromise their principles they would have died for a few years back, dont want that to happen to me. Everything else is fine with me.
Triam, Yes things have changed. But ironically these things you listed above were the same when you grew up as well. If there is one aspect of India that has not changed at all, it is the corrupt politicians and ethical standards (incl that of gen populace). The politicians were really bad then, they are really bad now. maaraadha ore vishayam, indha paradesi politicians mattum thaan! :(( (loosely translated: they are the only morons that haven't changed at all)
You haven't changed either => Sachin sucked in 07 and he sucks in 09...