fineleg Posted May 15, 2009 Posted May 15, 2009 You haven't changed either => Sachin sucked in 07 and he sucks in 09... pkhota hasn't changed from derailing threads with offtopic. Dont derail this one too. Leave it for the original topic.
punjabi_khota Posted May 15, 2009 Posted May 15, 2009 You can go back, but you will never be home. The India I grew up in is not the same India it is now in a lot of ways, I feel as alien there as I felt when I came to the US 8 years back. Politicians, I am very interested in issues that affect the society, the life of a common man, and I dont see the politicians changing anytime in the future. General ethical standards, is lesser in India (dont flame me, but this is what I feel). The system consumes you and it becomes a way of life with yourself. Have seen a lot of idealistic friends lose their fire and passion, and also compromise their principles they would have died for a few years back, dont want that to happen to me. Everything else is fine with me. Dude, not to be pedantic or anything, but the principles or morals mean something only when you stand by them when the going gets tough.
Rajiv Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 You can go back' date= but you will never be home. The India I grew up in is not the same India it is now in a lot of ways, I feel as alien there as I felt when I came to the US 8 years back. . Outta all replies here - this is the most practical..very true, apt and as close as it can get The rest - silly dumb replies like roads, electricity, pollution and even phoreign born.."abhey tees maar kha ki aulad", thats the land u were born..how can u hate it? I wish I could go back, worst decision ever to leave India in the first place
zubinpepsi Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 I’d like to pose this question to all the people who say they like to live abroad because the roads are better, transportation is better, traffic is less, and there is less pollution and what not. How many of you would continue to live abroad, if the money you earn is equal to or lesser than the money you earned in India. I am not talking about the nominal value. i.e 20,000 rs > $5000, but the actual value. Assume that, all of a sudden, the exchange rate of the $ plummeted to 10rs. So, if you’re making $5000/month, that translates to 50,000 rs, which is roughly what most IT professionals with 3,4 years experience earn these days, in India. Lets also assume that the dollar’s purchasing power in the U.S is still preserved, i.e, with that $5000 you earn, you rent is still $1000, milk is still $3/gallon, gas is still $2.50/gallon and what not. So, you still end up saving roughly $2000 - $2,500 a month, that you managed before. However, this $2000 now translates to just 20,000 rs, unlike before when it equaled 1,00,000 rs. Would you still stay here, because you still get your ‘clean roads, no powe-cuts, less pollution’ etc? Of course not! I can promise that come such a day, Indians will be falling over their heels to book their return flights. People are here for the $$$. No harm in saying that and there’s nothing bad in it too. All the other fictitious reasons they come up are just lousy excuses they cook-up to somehow justify their not living at home. The day their presence here does not translate into significant wealth financially, the concerns over pollution and clogged roads will evaporate into thin air. as i mentioned b4.. im here not for the money.. ofcourse i need money to survive.. but as long as im in a position not to think twice b4 spending, im fine with tht.. im here for a very independant n a free life without any nagging social pressures which i wud have if i were in India.. even if i gett a better pay in India, tht will not make me go back to India..cuz i know all my friends r earning much more in India than i earn here.. but tht never made me to think abt moving to India.. I will go back to India only if my parents r in dire need of me.. otherwise i wont...
cochise Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 If I could get a job that would keep me in good stead...I would move to India in a thrice!
Cricketics Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 I would love to return once i have made good enough money and ready to do some big business so that i don't have to work at an IT job 10-6 anymore.. . Just have employees run my business all the time and I enjoy touring around the world and watching Cricket wherever India goes and then enjoy the Indian Life.. Need to make big bucks and then return soon to India.. It will take a while but wuold happen.
nikred Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 I would love to return once i have made good enough money and ready to do some big business so that i don't have to work at an IT job 10-6 anymore.. . Just have employees run my business all the time and I enjoy touring around the world and watching Cricket wherever India goes and then enjoy the Indian Life.. Need to make big bucks and then return soon to India.. It will take a while but wuold happen. aah.....just what I dream of doing. I hope things work out for both of us as planned.:icflove:
DomainK Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 as i mentioned b4.. im here not for the money.. ofcourse i need money to survive.. but as long as im in a position not to think twice b4 spending, im fine with tht.. im here for a very independant n a free life without any nagging social pressures which i wud have if i were in India.. even if i gett a better pay in India, tht will not make me go back to India..cuz i know all my friends r earning much more in India than i earn here.. but tht never made me to think abt moving to India.. I will go back to India only if my parents r in dire need of me.. otherwise i wont... You surprise me. Its not that everyone lives a false life here in India. You dont have to leave India to live life on your own terms.....of course unless your lifestyle includes things that are legally not allowed here. I live life on my own terms and no one comes to tell me what to do. It always depends on you.
Guest gaurav_indian Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 You surprise me. Its not that everyone lives a false life here in India. You dont have to leave India to live life on your own terms.....of course unless your lifestyle includes things that are legally not allowed here. I live life on my own terms and no one comes to tell me what to do. It always depends on you. lol i agree.Are we indians living in cages here?Or is their a talibaan in our country that doesnt allow us to live our life freely?yaar "kisi dusri country mein kuttay ki life jeene se acha hai apni country mein respect se jiyo":dance:
pan_walla Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 Why you would never move back to India? Apart from being white negro as previously mentioned :haha: I would not move back because- 1- Mentality of people 2- Lack of civic sense. 3- Corruption for everyday stuff 4- Politics 5- Religion 6- Law and order/Crime 7- Terrorism 8- Lifestyle 9- Sexually closed society 10- Too many traditions for my taste
nikred Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 Apart from being white negro as previously mentioned :haha: I would not move back because- 1- Mentality of people 2- Lack of civic sense. 3- Corruption for everyday stuff 4- Politics 5- Religion 6- Law and order/Crime 7- Terrorism 8- Lifestyle 9- Sexually closed society 10- Too many traditions for my taste Did you ask for your chachu's opinion about this before posting here?
ViruRulez Posted May 16, 2009 Posted May 16, 2009 Did you ask for your chachu's opinion about this before posting this? :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Macj Posted May 17, 2009 Posted May 17, 2009 8- Lifestyle 9- Sexually closed society I just watched a movie at a theater, I saw a Muslim guy and his white wife covering her hair with a scarf, she kept at it for a while. They then proceeded to hold hands and kiss. All in one lifestyle i'd say pretty much similar to home.