Omg, my parents are visiting me from India tomorrow. So I’ve gotto do what every good Desi son does and play tour-guide for five weeks! :(( I’ve also been forced to set-up what is commonly referred to as a ‘home’. Apparently, if you live in place, you’re supposed to have couches and televisions, other furtiniture and stuff like that. Personally, I’ve never understood the need for a couch. People generally use it for watching tv, but who watches tv these days, especially when everything’s available on the internet? Some say when you invite guests over to your house, you need someplace for them to sit. My reply is simple -Don’t invite guests, they’re such a nuisance anyway. They dirty your carpets, clog your toilets, their kids usually breaks stuff. Instead, we can just ask them to come to the nearest Starbucks, enjoy a good conversation over a cold-coffee and everyone can just get back to their lives. :giggle: Also, I’ve lived with my parents for such little time in the last four years, I’ve completely forgotten what it is to be a good son (not that I was one before..). Can someone help me out here? Any tips? :((
I have been in the same situation and I felt awkward living with my parents after 6-7 years. At first its good but then after 2-3 days u need a break, I went to my friends place for one night so it was funny that my folks came from india to live with me and I went to my friend's place for a night after only a few days. My parents are sweet and they understood that I had to go away and take a break .. Now the situation is bad ... I have my in laws over ... its been a week and trust me the first 5 days were terrible .. now Im getting used to it tips ... at first when my parents saw my living condition, my mum nearly cried and said " beta aise kaise rehta hai tu " then we spent the next few weeks upgrading my house ... buying a couch , groceries lol ... looking for hara dhania etc ... so time will fly .. initially you'll feel sort of suffocated ( probably not the right word ) .. but with own parents its still easier ... use them to help u select furniture :--D
Sriram' date=' you gotta first clean up all the evidences of your good habits like smoking etc...Just make sure you have enough food in your refridgerator to show your mom that you eat regularly and do not forget to stock up on veggies, fruits/milk..My mom went mad just hearing what I eat from a relative who visited me..just do the basic cleanliness stuff and yeah no unexpected girl friends ppping in...can be the worst nightmare. It happened to my friend :--D and no prizes for guessing how awkward it was..[/quote']
I have been in the same situation and I felt awkward living with my parents after 6-7 years. At first its good but then after 2-3 days u need a break, I went to my friends place for one night so it was funny that my folks came from india to live with me and I went to my friend's place for a night after only a few days. My parents are sweet and they understood that I had to go away and take a break .. Now the situation is bad ... I have my in laws over ... its been a week and trust me the first 5 days were terrible .. now Im getting used to it tips ... at first when my parents saw my living condition, my mum nearly cried and said " beta aise kaise rehta hai tu " then we spent the next few weeks upgrading my house ... buying a couch , groceries lol ... looking for hara dhania etc ... so time will fly .. initially you'll feel sort of suffocated ( probably not the right word ) .. but with own parents its still easier ... use them to help u select furniture :--D
Lol guys, its definitiely been a weird experience so far. Even my mom says ‘I know you’re my son, but it just doesn’t feel the same. Maybe its because I am seeing you in another country’. :D But as I was getting ready for work today, my mom had breakfast all prepared and insisted that I eat and then go. These days, if I am late for work, I just skip breakfast and grab a cold-coffe or a bagel along the way and eat my desk, but today’s experience was a throwback to my college days, when I’d be racing to catch the college bus and she’d be blocking the doorway, insisting that I eat before I go. :haha: I am not sure If I can take so much adulation anymore. :hmmm:
:giggle::giggle::giggle::giggle::giggle:
enjoy the few days when u have a chance to relive the past