SRK Detained and Humiliated at Newark Airport

Rajiv

First of all your comparison of Paks and Khans is not valid' date=' I gave you my answer based on non-discrimination. If Indian govt has intelligence that ANY pakistani is a threat to the country they should be allowed to stop ALL of them. Same way, if US has intelligence that any Khan is a threat to the country they should be allowed to stop ALL Khans.[/quote']The immigration agents at Newark did not stop SRK just for the fun of it. His name raised a flag in the system, so obviously there was some potential threat pattern which found a match with SRKs personal data.

The immigration agents at Newark did not stop SRK just for the fun of it. His name raised a flag in the system' date=' so obviously there was some potential threat pattern which found a match with SRKs personal data.[/quote'] I am not faulting the immigration agents. They are probably blindly following protocol. Question is what "threat pattern" exists with a guy whose name ends in Khan, who is from India and who is profession is acting (or according to some lack thereof :winky:)?

International does not equal to india, pakistan, bangladesh and desi UK parts Bollywood is just being recognized worldwide for Slumdog millionaire especially in US....it will take years before Indian celebrities become global icons
LOL! kis duniya mein jee rahe ho sir? According to Time (2004 article), 3.6 billion people globally watch SRK's movies. He is the world's biggest movie star if you look at the numbers. More

I am not faulting the immigration agents. They are probably blindly following protocol. Question is what "threat pattern" exists with a guy whose name ends in Khan' date=' who is from India and who is profession is acting (or according to some lack thereof :winky:)?[/quote']I dont think you understand. I am not saying USA faces threat from SRK. But who knows there is a potential terrorist with Khan as last name. Or it maybe something else, I cant say. But it is quite impractical to program the immigration database to recognize "celebrities". Once the flag is raised, the rest of the verification requires time and probably has to be done manually. The key aspect is that there is more likely to be a wanted terrorist (by USA) with last name Khan or some muslim name, than a Hindu or Buddhist. Consequently people with muslim names or from muslim countries face inconvenience. It is unfortunate but this cant be used to deny the right of a country (USA) to protect itself.

Oh well.... let him wait for an hour that's fine. Hasn't ever waited in a queue in his life time? Everyone waits at times and in my opinion every star should be made to go through this ordeal. They have life way too easy for them for the kind of contribution they make to the world. They aren't finding cure to cancer or anything, they just entertain. Whereas the scientists or the folks that work in the background and make stellar contribution to this world get strip searched. They still wouldn't complain as much as one Mr.Khan would do.

LOL! kis duniya mein jee rahe ho sir? According to Time (2004 article), 3.6 billion people globally watch SRK's movies. He is the world's biggest movie star if you look at the numbers. More
dood majority of that # falls in South Asia and take the few middle eastern countries where indians and pakistanis are settled....and desi UK...that's about it. if you look at the # .....Hinduism is the 3rd largest religion in the world...yet 90% of it is concentrated in India SRK is dreaming that every Khan should be let go thru immigration without any checks whatsoever...he's the one who's living in a bubble where 9/11 never happened and all the muslim terrorists are not actually muslim.

dood majority of that # falls in South Asia and take the few middle eastern countries where indians and pakistanis are settled....and desi UK...that's about it. if you look at the # .....Hinduism is the 3rd largest religion in the world...yet 90% of it is concentrated in India
I have no idea if 3.6 billion figure is correct (I think it is not), but Ind+Pak+bangladesh+ Middle east(where desis live like qatar/dubai etc) doesn't total even 2 billion.

Oh well.... let him wait for an hour that's fine. Hasn't ever waited in a queue in his life time? Everyone waits at times and in my opinion every star should be made to go through this ordeal. They have life way too easy for them for the kind of contribution they make to the world. They aren't finding cure to cancer or anything' date=' they just entertain. Whereas the scientists or the folks that work in the background and make stellar contribution to this world get strip searched. They still wouldn't complain as much as one Mr.Khan would do.[/quote'] well that would apply to sports stars too.but the point is that they(sports n film stars) are global icons n once he had people,which includes immigration officials,vouching for SRK,there is no reason not to believe them. SRK didnt go there for picnic or to meet his friends.he was invited by AMERICAN CITIZENS to attend I-day function.Obviously he must be popular in America. stientists v entertainers well thats another debate

There is a procedure to be followed, vouching and stuff is not part of the procedure. The simple fact is that SRK's name set off an alert and the US immigration officers had to follow the procedure. And I dont see why the US immigration system needs to maintain a list of celebrities. Apart from high ranking members of the government, no one should be given a preference. I find it amazing that people are suggesting that bollywood celebrities get special treatment. Moreover, the system functioned pretty well - SRK was out in 66 minutes which is a reasonable amount of time. It is worthwhile to contrast the behavior of SRK with APJ Kalam. The latter, an ex-President of India, was frisked on Indian soil and never made a big deal out of it, even though it was against protocol. Here SRK is thoroughly milking his 66 minute wait, which is part of the normal procedure in US.
Vouching might be or might not be part of the procedure you or I don't know but when your own colleagues recognise a well known person and vouch for them, you should atleast listen to them. Hence, like I said earlier, he should have been discreet and let him through. And in this case, note it was officer and not officers. One over eager officious guy who wanted to amuse himself to pass the time. Don't get me wrong though. I am not for one second in favour of preferential treatment for anyone but that just doesn't happen in the real world. Some people are more equal than others. My contention is that when someone very very well known(the computer will tell you this for sure) from a country, your country wants to have good diplomatic ties with, enters, you simply do not put them through such hassles unless you have been advised by intelligence to detain that person. This was obviously not the case because if it was, it would have been made clear already. And judging by the uproar and the ensuing firefighting by the US ambassador to India, this has caused diplomatic embarrassment to the US govt. PS - Regarding your mystification about Ambika Soni swinging into action so early, it's because SRK is quite close to both Rahul and Priyanka. The moment this happened, Madam took charge and directed Ms.Soni to make a big song and dance about it.

seedhi has been outstanding in this debate.:two_thumbs_up: Has nullified all the PC mob who would put minoroty appeasmet over national security. I also would hazard a guess that Mr Khan was probably quite obnoxious to the immigration officials. I am sure he blurted out in a arrogant, aggravating manner " DO YOU KNOW WHO I AM, DO YOU KNOW WHO I KNOW". I am sure the officials reply was " step this way sir":--D

when did this moron SRK gather so many fans on ICF ? The guy is a cheap thrill and pure politician....he has no class whatsoever.... only in India can a guy like that become so famous....I hate that guy ever since he maligned dada..... well done seedhi

Vouching might be or might not be part of the procedure you or I don't know but when your own colleagues recognise a well known person and vouch for them' date=' you should atleast listen to them. Hence, like I said earlier, he should have been discreet and let him through. And in this case, note it was officer and not officer[b']s. One over eager officious guy who wanted to amuse himself to pass the time. Don't get me wrong though. I am not for one second in favour of preferential treatment for anyone but that just doesn't happen in the real world. Some people are more equal than others. My contention is that when someone very very well known(the computer will tell you this for sure) from a country, your country wants to have good diplomatic ties with, enters, you simply do not put them through such hassles unless you have been advised by intelligence to detain that person. This was obviously not the case because if it was, it would have been made clear already. And judging by the uproar and the ensuing firefighting by the US ambassador to India, this has caused diplomatic embarrassment to the US govt. PS - Regarding your mystification about Ambika Soni swinging into action so early, it's because SRK is quite close to both Rahul and Priyanka. The moment this happened, Madam took charge and directed Ms.Soni to make a big song and dance about it.
Frankly your post reeks of the "mai baap" mentality. In the US Al Gore and Ted Kennedy have been subject to security checks. Instead of appreciating that that this "vouching for" system is not followed in the US, I find it astounding that Indians are supporting it. This sense that some people are more equal than others is the root of so many problems in India and frankly is something which should be a relic of the feudal past. Dont you find it disgusting to see "influential" people in India breaking the line, breaking the laws precisely because of such a mentality? Instead of rooting out this hierarchical structure, I cant believe people wanting to perpetuate it even outside India. Furthermore, I am not sure SRK is so well known as to merit a special entry in the US immigration database. I also dont believe that US has been embarrassed in this matter, nor are they going to make changes to accommodate the sensitivities of India celebrities. Apart from the US Ambassador to India (whose job it is to smooth ruffled feathers in India) I havent heard from any high ranking member of the Obama administration about this. The over the top response of the Indian govt is unbearably immature. US immigration is going to go about its business as always. In the future another "well known" Indian will be subjected to extra checking and it will be the Indian govt left with egg on its face and its shrill whining exposed as having had no impact on US policy. Even more scary is the possibility that after this jumping into the fray by the Indian govt, there is some untoward incident in the US with Indian citizens as the perpetrators. Which is why the security of US is best left to them, and the Indian govt at least has no business lecturing them about it.

when did this moron SRK gather so many fans on ICF ? The guy is a cheap thrill and pure politician....he has no class whatsoever.... only in India can a guy like that become so famous....I hate that guy ever since he maligned dada..... well done seedhi
this is not about loving or hating him,dude.n i dont have a reason to hate him.i am not his huge fan,but dont hate him

Bollywood reacts to SRK ordeal: Shilpa Shetty: I understand completely what he is going thru, I have been a victim of racism too.... I cried to sleep in that big boss show room for days...I was contemplating suicide but the producers intervened and promised fame and fortune and here I am and Ms. Goody is six feet under. Rakhee Sawant: I had no idea this has happened to SRK...I am going to invite him in my next show.... Rakhi ka honemoon.. Karan Johar: Hey Yall....mai to itna pareshan tha....OMG....SRK ne mujhe ph lagaya aur mai to ghabra gayi...oh my god...mere to jaan nikaal aaye...I'm so happy he's ok now...he looks so good in that tight outfit doesn't he? omg Dharmendra: Kutte....Kaminey.....mai tera khoon pi jaoonga......aisa hi bolta mai immigration officer ko Sunny Deol: Abe kya kar lega vo, dhai kilo ka haath hai yeh....jab kisi ke upar partahe na...to aadmi uthta nehi...oood jata hai...yeh immigration officer to kuch bhi nehi Sanjay Dutt: Arre yeh to Sanju baba ke saath har roz hota hai....I is use to ho gaya hoon....kyu circuit? Dev Anand: Arreeee mai to abhi jawan hoon...mujhe to koi airport mai kuch nehi kehta Bachhan Sr: Yeh Gurukul ki niyaam aur parampara ke khilaf hai

Its sad that a country that has been ravaged through terrorism with thousands of their citizens being killed on a regular basis from such acts, does not have citizens who appreciate the importance of national security and protection of the lives of its citiznes. IIMO any paks/banglas coming thorugh security in India for example should be questioned for a lot longer then 66 mins. And am afraid to say that I dearly hope our security agencies are doing racial profiling so it gives us the best chance of stopping further indians being murdered!

Bollywood reacts to SRK ordeal: Shilpa Shetty: I understand completely what he is going thru, I have been a victim of racism too.... I cried to sleep in that big boss show room for days...I was contemplating suicide but the producers intervened and promised fame and fortune and here I am and Ms. Goody is six feet under. Rakhee Sawant: I had no idea this has happened to SRK...I am going to invite him in my next show.... Rakhi ka honemoon.. Karan Johar: Hey Yall....mai to itna pareshan tha....OMG....SRK ne mujhe ph lagaya aur mai to ghabra gayi...oh my god...mere to jaan nikaal aaye...I'm so happy he's ok now...he looks so good in that tight outfit doesn't he? omg Dharmendra: Kutte....Kaminey.....mai tera khoon pi jaoonga......aisa hi bolta mai immigration officer ko Sunny Deol: Abe kya kar lega vo, dhai kilo ka haath hai yeh....jab kisi ke upar partahe na...to aadmi uthta nehi...oood jata hai...yeh immigration officer to kuch bhi nehi Sanjay Dutt: Arre yeh to Sanju baba ke saath har roz hota hai....I is use to ho gaya hoon....kyu circuit? Dev Anand: Arreeee mai to abhi jawan hoon...mujhe to koi airport mai kuch nehi kehta Bachhan Sr: Yeh Gurukul ki niyaam aur parampara ke khilaf hai
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:

Frankly your post reeks of the "mai baap" mentality. In the US Al Gore and Ted Kennedy have been subject to security checks.
FYI the authorities were completely inept with regards to the Ted Kennedy situation. He was issued an apology as his name rather erroneously featured in the list of potential terror suspects.And Gore was frisked through security, sure. Security frisking is a non issue. That's standard. But having frisked someone very well known and then detain him for no apparent reason is the root of the issue here.
Instead of appreciating that that this "vouching for" system is not followed in the US, I find it astounding that Indians are supporting it. This sense that some people are more equal than others is the root of so many problems in India and frankly is something which should be a relic of the feudal past. Dont you find it disgusting to see "influential" people in India breaking the line, breaking the laws precisely because of such a mentality? Instead of rooting out this hierarchical structure, I cant believe people wanting to perpetuate it even outside India.
I too hate the 'tu janta nahin mera baap kaun hai?' attitude. As I told you before, I am not for one second in favour of preferential treatment for anyone but that just doesn't happen in the real world. Neither am I an admirer of SRK's acting, which is well documented in ICF. What I think happened here was SRK was detained BECAUSE he was famous. That is very wrong. So far, we haven't heard any version of this incident where SRK was boasting about who he was just so he could be let off. He was asked to go somewhere by an officer but his fellow officers said that they knew SRK to be a well known actor and not a potential terror threat. That is all. I am sure you would feel relieved if some thulla stopped you for no apparent reason but his colleague advised him to let you go as he knew you from before.
Furthermore, I am not sure SRK is so well known as to merit a special entry in the US immigration database.
He doesn't need to have a special entry. The database itself would bring up why he was in the country previously and for what purposes. I believe he has been invited by the Golden Globe awards before as well. As stated earlier, unless the officer had specific intelligence regarding any unlawful activity that SRK was in the country for, he had no reason to detain someone who had a track record of 'high profile' visits to the country.
I also dont believe that US has been embarrassed in this matter, nor are they going to make changes to accommodate the sensitivities of India celebrities. Apart from the US Ambassador to India (whose job it is to smooth ruffled feathers in India) I havent heard from any high ranking member of the Obama administration about this.
The fact that the Ambassador and not some official at the US Embassy made the statement, is quite a telling indicator as well. Anyway,let's see if some statements are issued by others.

What I think happened here was SRK was detained BECAUSE he was famous. That is very wrong. So far, we haven't heard any version of this incident where SRK was boasting about who he was just so he could be let off. He was asked to go somewhere by an officer but his fellow officers said that they knew SRK to be a well known actor and not a potential terror threat. That is all. I am sure you would feel relieved if some thulla stopped you for no apparent reason but his colleague advised him to let you go as he knew you from before.
umm how are u so sure abt tht.. if thts the case.. then shudnt they be harrasing all the famouse ppl who come from the other countries????
The fact that the Ambassador and not some official at the US Embassy made the statement, is quite a telling indicator as well. Anyway,let's see if some statements are issued by others.
do u really think US gives a toss abt this.. ? maybe the ambassador jus made a statment jus to appease the boot lickers in India.. i heard through my colleague (dutch) tht ppl were buring american flags in the street cuz of this.. how funny is tht... and its embarrasing aswell.. maybe the ambassador made a statement so these idiots will stop sensationalizing this .....

umm how are u so sure abt tht.. if thts the case.. then shudnt they be harrasing all the famouse ppl who come from the other countries????
I don't think anyone here was privy to what happened. Everyone has their own intepretations based on what they have seen and heard. I have mine too.
do u really think US gives a toss abt this.. ? maybe the ambassador jus made a statment jus to appease the boot lickers in India.. i heard through my colleague (dutch) tht ppl were buring american flags in the street cuz of this.. how funny is tht... and its embarrasing aswell.. maybe the ambassador made a statement so these idiots will stop sensationalizing this .....
Well obviously, they do give a toss given the ambassador issued a statement. If they didn't, they would have just kept mum.