Who should be new Bowling and Fielding coach of Team India?

Feed

Gary Kirsten, head coach of the Indian team, was not specifically consulted before the Board decided to do away with Robin Singh and Venkatesh Prasad on Wednesday, and it remained unclear whether he would have any say in picking their replacements. More... Consultant or full-time? Ball in Board's court Anand Vasu , Hindustan Times New Delhi, October 15, 2009 First Published: 23:46 IST(15/10/2009) Last Updated: 23:49 IST(15/10/2009) Gary Kirsten, head coach of the Indian team, was not specifically consulted before the Board decided to do away with Robin Singh and Venkatesh Prasad on Wednesday, and it remained unclear whether he would have any say in picking their replacements. Kirsten, whose contract ends in February next year, has often questioned the wisdom of having a full-time fielding coach, on the basis that there is little time for a specialist to work with the players in the midst of a busy season. When this was suggested soon after Kirsten took over it caused a bit of a stir, but eventually Robin's services were used. Kirsten, instead, is understood to be in favour of using an expert who could come into the set-up for short, sharp camps, on a consultancy basis. Someone like Jonty Rhodes, widely acknowledged as someone who redefined modern fielding, and is keen to share his knowledge, could be an ideal candidate. Earlier this year Rhodes was in negotiations with Delhi for a short stint, but nothing came of it. If the Board decides on appointing a full-time bowling coach, Kirsten would be happy to work with someone like Eric Simons, who was the left-hander's team-mate at Western Province and has since gone on to coach various teams including South Africa, and most recently the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Several Indian players were impressed with Simons' work in the IPL team, and this could work in his favour. If the Board decides against a full-time bowling coach, and instead want only consultants, someone like Allan Donald, who recently gave up a job at Warwickshire, could become a frontrunner.

All Saffers being brought in?

Simons wasnt great as SAf coach was he? This is bowling only, maybe he'll be a good one dont know much about him. Donald will certainly command respect and will know what he's talking about beign an ex great. How good a coach is he though?
Donald I think coached England at the time we toured them and it was our bowlers who taught them a thing or two. India should just hire Zak as a part time bowling coach
All Saffers being brought in? Donald I think coached England at the time we toured them and it was our bowlers who taught them a thing or two. India should just hire Zak as a part time bowling coach
do u seriously think zak to be such an expert .. ?? he has not played last few months and dont even know what his form is like ...

No fileding coach is gonna make a difference when we have Munaf and Nehra in same odi team! As soon as the MLB specialist has one day working with these two I think he will pack his bags and go home the next day! Frankly we dont need a bowling or fileding coach! The whole impaact of the coach is so overrated. As Warne said the only coach we need is the one that takes us to the ground!

Your choices sum up the problem. Its the same logic that saw maradona become coach of Argentina. But Donald got out coached by Prasad when we won in England?
argentina qualified for the world cup.... It was not prasad but the form of our bowlers.....when they went out of form in last 6-8 months he did nuthng to improve......he cudnt take them to the next level....... i still dont get it....y our bowlers lose pace?????y?y?y?
do we really need a fielding coach ?
Yes. I remember the story told by Azhar. He himself admitted he was a terrible fielder. But he worked really hard to become a better fielder. Same case with best fielders over the years. Colin Bland used to exhibit his throwing skills after every match. He would show off his ability to hit the stumps from anywhere on the ground. He had stunning accuracy through practice. Practice makes even an average fielder a better fielder.
pont ko hi bula le zaman bhai
yaar wo zyaada hi phaaaast hai India ke liye. And he trusts more on words and judgment of others rather than actions. So, not sure if he would be able to last long in India as he said himself said that the same cannot work for India. :dontknow: Read his following post.
Javelin and cricket are SOOOOOO related! Anyway that's another story... as for the speeds, they are reported back to me by Atul himself and his other coaches so I take them as the speeds he has bowled. I live in the UK, not India or the USA, so have to trust the judgement of others on these matters.
yaar wo zyaada hi phaaaast hai India ke liye. And he trusts more on words and judgment of others rather than actions. So' date=' not sure if he would be able to last long in India as he said himself said that the same cannot work for India. :dontknow: Read his following post.[/quote'] seriously...........ye atul sharma keyser soze ban gaya hai...... but Pont is a good coach,still my fav is donald......the man was fast,guess has a coaching certificate,coaching experience and has good rapport with kirsten......hope i see him.....troy cooley is a good choice as well...