My dear southie' date=' the heart is not an umbrella :cantstop:[/quote'] Morris :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Aamir, on the other hand, is not any better as an actor than Shah Rukh but puts on this show as if he is making "serious cinema" and dishes out bakwaas like Lagaan, Mangal Pandey, and Ghajini!! If you want to talk about acting talk about Naseeruddin Shah and the likes, if you want to talk star power talk about Shah Rukh Khan, if you want to watch junk in the pretense of thoughtful cinema watch Aamir Khan, who is an ordinary star and an ordinary actor.
No way is Aamir ordinary ! Lagaan is very good and Ghaj inst bad- he acts well in it. (Mangal P I havent seen) I am not sure if he ever claimed his movies were 'thoughtful'. They are above the usual Bolly fare though
I am not a Shah Rukh Khan fan - I think the last movie I watched of his was Don a good 3-4 years back. He delivered a crappy performance as usual, but the movie was a hit as usual. What I like about him is that there is no pretense to be some great actor in his movies - he knows he is making masala which sells. Aamir, on the other hand, is not any better as an actor than Shah Rukh but puts on this show as if he is making "serious cinema" and dishes out bakwaas like Lagaan, Mangal Pandey, and Ghajini!! If you want to talk about acting talk about Naseeruddin Shah and the likes, if you want to talk star power talk about Shah Rukh Khan, if you want to watch junk in the pretense of thoughtful cinema watch Aamir Khan, who is an ordinary star and an ordinary actor.
So just because he (SRK) knows that he is making masala movies, he is allowed to sell the same crap with different wrapper every time ? SRK is a good actor no doubt about that, but he is more worried about how much would his films make rather than how much would the critics love it. Of course, he is not the only soul to be thinking in this fashion in our movie industry (another one would be Akshay Kumar). SRK, the self proclaimed King of Bollywood, thinks he is the greatest entertainer in our industry but there are very few movies that you could pick of his that you wouldn't hesitate in watching over and over again..or at least even talk about it. Two SRK's movies that justifies his talent are Chak de! and Swades; he should have or should (in near future) use such scripts as a guiding rail if he really wants to be the greatest entertainer. I don't know what you're qualms are about Aamir Khan. Of course he is a pretender and there is not a single individual in our industry that does not wear a mask to sell their package to the aam janta. Aamir at least does not get stuck in "wohi bechenge joh beekta hain" stereotype. He at least tries to break away from the stereotype and makes movies that are at least worth watching once if not more. And it is a fact that SRk loves the limelight, KKR's websites would testify my claim. A cricket franchise' website is all about him and not cricket. You wouldn't get a better example than this.
My dear southie' date=' the heart is not an umbrella :cantstop:[/quote'] My dear Northie, I know enough Hindi to know the difference b/w 'चाहता' and chata. :P Is it a 'Northie' thingy to get hung up on typos? :laugh:

Shwetabh is right. How dare Aamir make movies on pseudo-intellectual topics like Colonialism and pre-Independence days. He should strictly restrict himself to making art films on migratory patterns of Indian birds or maybe the lifestyle changes of the Bodo tribes. After all, the vastly knowledgeable and discerning Indian filmi audience are totally capable of lapping up such topics. :winky:

For me Amir and SRK are both GR8 actors. Perhaps the best in Bollywood. I luv watching both of dem!!:dance: And as long as SRK is the owner of :kkr: for me he is the best!!:two_thumbs_up: Edit : Out b4 people starts abusing me!! :giggle:

My dear Northie, I know enough Hindi to know the difference b/w 'चाहता' and chata. :P Is it a 'Northie' thingy to get hung up on typos? :laugh:
arey bahiya woh Mumbai se hai, means West.
arey bahiya woh Mumbai se hai' date=' means West.[/quote'] From southies' POV, we're NorthWest to them :mad:
baah ... the best bollywood actor bar none is a southie : Kamal Hassan :winky:
Well he hasn't done much bollywood. I would still rate Nana Patekar better than even Kamal. The guy's intensity is unmatched although he does lack the variety that Kamal and others have.
Shwetabh is right. How dare Aamir make movies on pseudo-intellectual topics like Colonialism and pre-Independence days. He should strictly restrict himself to making art films on migratory patterns of Indian birds or maybe the lifestyle changes of the Bodo tribes. After all, the vastly knowledgeable and discerning Indian filmi audience are totally capable of lapping up such topics. :winky:
+1 Himesh Reshammiya can act better than Aamir Khan.

in term of acting i like srk cuz his acting touches my heart, and in term of popluarity srk is very famous compare to amir....i rmemebr 1 day i was standing outside a movie store and i asked my sri lankan friend do u kno who is this they said yes shahrukh khan then i asked them do u kno who is this they said no...btw it was salman khan whom they didnt kno...

Aamir PWNS srg@y in acting as well as in promotion nowadays .. Aamir never promoted his movies while SRK went with his publicity stunts and crap promotions and controversies ever since he became a star .. Aamir had a dedicated following with his brilliant acting while SRK had crap acting and only depended on publicity and controversies.. but once Aamir also started promoting his movies SRK is nowhere even close to Aamir in commercial value too .. if Aamir makes a film with newbies too it is a success without even much promotion .. just watch the movies and SRK is a far more superficial actor and he takes up crap roles (Chak De India being the only exception) whereas Aamir's movies and scripts are always 10x better

It's SRK of course if you look at world wide . SRK is know as the king khan, the king of bollywood. SRK has done many blockbuster movies among which some is still playing in the cinema whereas Aamir film is just good to see it once time only. SRK has fans from all the countries around the world whereas Aamir has fans only in india and barely in other countries. SRK has won 14 filmfare among which 7 is for best actor in a leading role( just 1 less than dilip kumar but the top among all present actors). Aamir has just won 7 filmfare(which the number of best actors award received by SRK) among which only 2 is for best actors. SRK is the best Actors ever and he has proved his talent not only in movies but also on shows like award ceremony and KBC(host). SRK is the best ever. Awards Won by SRK 1993 - Filmfare Best Debut Award for Deewana 1994 - Filmfare Best Actor Award for Baazigar 1994 - Filmfare Critics Award for Best Performance for Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa 1995 - Filmfare Best Villain Award for Anjaam 1996 - Filmfare Best Actor Award for Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge 1998 - Filmfare Best Actor Award for Dil To Pagal Hai 1999 - Filmfare Best Actor Award for Kuch Kuch Hota Hai 2001 - Filmfare Critics Award for Best Performance for Mohabbatein 2003 - Filmfare Best Actor Award for Devdas 2005 - Filmfare Best Actor Award for Swades 2008 - Filmfare Best Actor Award for Chak De India Special Awards 2002 - Filmfare Special Award Swiss Consulate Trophy 2004 - Filmfare Power Award 2005 - Filmfare Power Award Comparing both of them is same like comparing SRT with RD ... SRT is the best ever with RD more in perfection and shown his best at certain times ... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Shahrukh_Khan%27s_awards_and_nominations
I dont agree at all... at least awards are one thing with which you cannot judge Aamir .. Aamir never goes to any award function and even the kids know it ... he does not believe in awards at least not in the filmfare and what not awards .. he is not given awards because filmfare etc. knows that he would never collect it and they also find it a bit of a disrespect to boycott all film awards .. sorry but you cannot judge Aamir by awards Aamir did not promote his films yet he rolled out blockbusters and super hits one after the other with limited publicity .. SRK only depended on promotions and publicity stunts for his films to become successful and he dished out flops every year whereas Aamir had hardly any flops in his career .. I would say Aamir had the Midas touch where he could turn successful any film with his acting It was only recently that Aamir started promoting his films and check out what has he made of SRK now .. SRK is pissing in his pants and can never even reach near the success of Ghajini leave aparts 3 Idiots .. Aamir PWNS srk in each and every field .. abhi to Aamir ki trailer hi aaya hai.. check out his upcoming films .. I guarantee at least 1-2 successful films out of the films Aamir Khan Productions will release this year .. Peepli Live is already getting great worldwide reviews just from film festivals and without any big actor .. it is already third on Bollywood Hungama now .. it is a small budget film but people are already getting eager to know news etc. .. dekhto jao how the Aamir brand will become 100x bigger than SRK brand in a few years
LOL@people claiming Nana Patekar as best ever actor. There isn't a more one-dimensional actor than that guy. He is extremely good at what he does, but he doesn't do much.
Matlab aapka parichay Dhrushtadyumna padmanabh Prajapati Neelkant Dhumketu BarishKar saab se nahin hua. One of the best, and easily forgotten, roles created on Indian celluloid in past few decades. You should check out Thorasa Rumani ho jaaye directed by Amol Palekar sometime. [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CNmKH9rqj8]YouTube- Thodasa roomani ho jayen part 1[/ame]