I don't know what alternate reality you are living in. I was in India last year around the time of release of Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi - people from all spectra were looking forward to the movie and anticipating it's release. It's not that his movies run only abroad. Do you think that his movies in India run for months on end in theaters being watched just by people who hate him and his movies' date=' so they can watch and b!tch about them? If that's the case then it's certainly not Shah Rukh Khan who is the idiotic one here.[/quote'] This trend started from Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna which was a abroad hit and desi flop. His movies make more money abroad than in India (if you consider the comparitive amount of investment). The only explanation for that is because he has a wider audience from other country expats who follow him. http://www.ibosnetwork.com/newsmanager/templates/template1.aspx?a=22038&z=4
Box Office: Kurban 2. MNIK embarks on a Monday crash pattern, set to flop Monday, February 15, 2010 As expected, boosted by the Pakistani/mideast populations, My Name is Khan got the initial response overseas but not Hollywood-challenging to the tune of $1.8 mil in USA in gross where they are incidentally celebrating the President's day weekend. But more importantly, the post-release reports neither there in America nor especially in the mainland India are painting a good sign for the Shahrukh Khan-Kajol film in the days to come. Across the country, the post-release reports are flat out mixed to very poor, belying the 5 and occassionally even 5.5 star scale-exceeding ratings that were relayed ahead of the release in Indian media. This incidentally had happened with Kurbaan too. Quite the contrary are the public reports of this movie. Infact when it's all said and done, Karan Johar and Shahrukh Khan may actually thank Shiv Sena for creating enough controversy for the film to manage a respectable collection in the opening weekend in the metros atleast. Because the actual box office pattern for MNIK in India went like this: On Friday the film could not release as planned in Maharashtra, North Karnataka, parts of Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, and Orissa and even a couple places in Delhi-UP. It lost out in major centers like Pune, Nasik altogether. In Mumbai, India's biggest center where it was to release on over 105 theaters, when it released on afternoon shows it was in only handful of multiplexes (Fun republic etc.), MNIK took to 70-75% occupancies which was below expectation considering the media frenzy. In the interiors as reported occupancies were dismal, in the tune of 25-30% (even lesser in many cases). On Saturday, the film did release in about 49 halls in Mumbai and in afternoon in Pune. This continued through Saturday evening till the terror blasts shook Pune putting Pune back to square one. Nonetheless Saturday and Sunday saw pickups for the film recording 80-95% collections in majority of multiplexes across the board which is quite good. But after the curiosity triggered by the various controversies, the merits of the film as a box office power have to take over, and this is where the Karan Johar-Shahrukh Khan-Kajol film is unable to stand the test. The cracks for the film started around Sunday night shows, even as most of Sunday was advance booked on Saturday itself. But Monday tends to be a make or break situation for any film, regardless of controversy or not. The worst fear for MNIK apart from the tensions of Friday would have been the much feared Monday crash, and unfortunately for the film now, that is indeed happening as Monday morning opened nationally to poor to dismal response compared to Friday which wasn't all that to begin with, and advance for Monday night is not showing much hope. In some multiplexes where Sunday went 85-90%. Monday is looking to end up doing just 8-9% (though some are around 30%). The situation is somewhat better in Hyderabad and Delhi which has a sizeable muslim population but it may not hold there either as it has gone down in the nearby regions. Same in Jaipur, Kanpur, Ahmedabad etc. The Karan Johar film never had much of a chance in the interiors of India and can already be dubbed a flop there. At this point, the 100 crore Fox Star Studios venture which has been billed as followup to Slumdog Millionaire, needs over 250+ crore gross revenues; but it is likely going to end up coming up short and lose by a long distance.

i agree... story line was crap... it was surprising for me in terms of the way foreigners played their roles.. they were pretty good... duplicates for Bush and Obama were hillarious.. but Kajol and SRK were brilliant.. I think SRK's best movie so far -- acting wise..

watched about 45 mins of the movie and it seems okay till now. SRK has done pretty well to deviate from his usual gatecrashing and stealing someone else's love (well Kajol is a divorcee in this one :giggle:). Will finish watching tomorrow.

watching pirated dvd?
umm, no. I went to the theater because I have so much ****ing money as I am a gujjew and a motlier because I am a gujjew, so I could afford to walk out of the theater half way through and ask the guys to pause it till I return the next day. What you think ?

Like I said, SRK's most natural acting - not sure what autism they were talking abt Awesome stuff, Khan Meets Obama - SRK gets Sibling Visa in a Jiffy, Hijab-Clad women is University Prof and oh don't forget the flood Class, no words describe this classic movie

I dont get it .. was it good even with the flood etc that you have mentioned in your post ?
How does it compare with Rab ne Banadi Jodi in 'class' ness? I thought that was a classic movie. =Girl doesn't recognise her own husband after he changes his hairstyle and shaves mucchad.
umm, no. I went to the theater because I have so much ****ing money as I am a gujjew and a motlier because I am a gujjew, so I could afford to walk out of the theater half way through and ask the guys to pause it till I return the next day. What you think ?
:rofl::rofl::rofl:
:haha:Well answered Hiten bhai
How does it compare with Rab ne Banadi Jodi in 'class' ness? I thought that was a classic movie. =Girl doesn't recognise her own husband after he changes his hairstyle and shaves mucchad.
I stopped watching after some dance scene - and I couldn't take the flipper-throbbing lips of SRK anymore
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahaahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahaha :cantstop::cantstop::cantstop: I've never seen it described in a better way :haha::haha: