The Tendulkar Fatigue Syndrome

Guest BossBhai

-- Removed on request of the user --

No reason why the site couldn't reinvent itself along lines you suggest. It can be anything the owners/founders want it to be. Maybe it is time to plot a new course.

Dhondy - I don't know much about you or some of the other folks here who have been much much longer here than I have, but expecting a free fan forum to hopefully go on and become something that continously or rather cosisitently produces high quality posts and discussions is perhaps living in an utopian world. Perhaps what this site reflects at the moment is the everyday Indian cricket fan who wants to discuss all the things on his mind that he/she would discuss in their work place, college cafeterias etc but can do now with a wider audience through this medium. To qoute you above perhaps this site has too much of an Indian fan flavour and they don't carry that much meaning for you any more.

Yes, that is a very reasonable post. I'll try and shut up now and stop being a fuddy-duddy.

Dhondy, the second post on the thread was genuinely funny - the comparison between Jesus and Tendulkar stretching his arms out at the reaching of a century. So what exactly is wrong in Indian Cricket Fans celebrating an accomplishment from a guy who can serve to be a role model across professions? As for your points about this being a too Indian centric site, I was the only one when forming this site, who was in favor of making it a global cricketing and transitioning into an everything network. You were amongst the followers of the notion that we make it Indian and grow global from there. And today, I agree with all of you! Had this site been made into a generic cricket site, it would have flopped - the challenge now is to actually grow it into a pan topic and an pan nation website. How do we do it? It's a big question and I don't have any rehearsed answers from my sponsors. But it can be done! - if a renegade website on cricket can grow to the extent ICF has, then as the Adidas ad goes, "Impossible is Nothing".

dhondy bhau, i dont know if its genetic or cultural - but desi fans fall into sycophancy very easily. and the whole 'worshipping' thing in post after post, thread after thread, can get tiring. Still doesn't take away anything from the living legend that Tendy is, or his unique once-in-a-century talent, or his colossal statistical achievements. Yes the same tendy that a certain emotional physician fan once accused of being afraid of Mr genital warts. I'm only bringing that up to point out that even the most educated and 'sophisticated' fans, can be guilty of excess, can get carried away, in positives or negatives. :winky: hota hai.

I never envisioned to be a serious global cricket site, the title itself invites everything Indian. But off course there is no restrictions to discuss foreign cricket. It's a place where a fan of Indian cricket comes and posts his views, giggles, feels home, plays some bets, fights, moans, complains, makes new friends and comes back the next day to start over on his new bookmark I don' think everyone is sophisticated and polished enough to write serious articles and posts, its just the nature of forums. Some come here to read it as a newspapers, some do as a comic book! Whats wrong with that. We have different sections ( Chat, Science, Other Sports ..) for OTT. Since we've started, we have discovered some awesome posters and that's the best part about the site On Tendulkar - he is just too good to have a silent celebration

Shwetabh, Rajeev I got the idea of reader power from letters in science mags like New Scientist, which make far more interesting reading than the articles themselves. Articles simply provide a focal point and are usually only skimmed through. If I knew how to exploit this to improve this site, I would have done so by 5000+ posts. Newsjunkie, I wasn't emotional at all when I made that post. I have always had the ability to see Tendulkar's weaknesses as well his brilliance, unlike some here, with complete objectivity (I know it sounds a bit pompous, but it's true). I haven't forgotten how Sachin walked without nicking Shoaib in that series and at that point of time, it said a lot about the respect, even fear, Shoaib commanded from top batsmen. That's the sort of ruthless comment that's missing far too often on this website. The ODI 200 in a meaningless B/L series has not blinded me to the fact that Sachin's next two tours are to countries he averaged 18 and 34 in last time around. I'll be watching and praying like the rest of you, but the rationalist in me says he won't go much further than he did last time. Can the fans cope?

^^ Sachin's next two tours are to countries he averaged 18 and 34 in last time around. I'll be watching and praying like the rest of you, but the rationalist in me says he won't go much further than he did last time. Can the fans cope? I think we all will be and there will be no shortage of daggers also, if he fails

Guest BossBhai

that is simply not true .... reasons why you think otherwise are best known to you. What is true though is that a younger Shoaib had been spanked mercilessly in many a matches both ODI and tests prior to that series (and indeed after that). Perhaps you expect the great man to never fail every time he walks out ... just like fineleg and co ?
Except for the fact that, that " merciless spanking" of Shoaib in tests translates to a pidly batting average of 26.33 against Akhtar. ( 79 runs scored against Akhtar in 6 innings who had him dismissed 3 times ). Please prove otherwise this " merciless spanking ". :hysterical: I could go on spanking silly your lame efforts. But don't have all the time you do. Atleast, don't insult the intelligence of others with your silly efforts, who probably don't have the patience to rip apart your non sense.
average against akhtar? WTF kindof made-up statistic is that. seriously.
I don't make up stuff. Avg against Akhtar = Test runs SRT has scored against Akhtar's bowling / ( no. of innings he faced Akhtar - dismissals through Akhtar ). The total runs is 79 @ avg of 26 The " merciless spanking " that dufferbhai is alluding to is certainly NOT that. This is listed in cricinfo under : Records / Test matches / Bowling records / Bowler/batsman combinations The below list shows the record ones. Obviously the Actor/SRT combo is not listed as they have not faced each other that often. http://stats.cricinfo.com/ci/content/records/283450.html More worms will come out of the woodwork shattering the countless myths about SRT's domination of top bowlers, giving dufferbhai more sleepless nights if a similar combo is drawn out for SRT vs Mcgrath, Donald, Steyn, Murali, Ambrose..etc ...for I am dead sure those avgs are in the early 20's. The only great bowler SRT has dominated is Warne.

Pfft, Akhtar is one bowler and SRT has taken apart a fair few who were superior. Dosent prove much. I haven't forgotten how Sachin walked without nicking Shoaib in that series and at that point of time, it said a lot about the respect, even fear, Shoaib commanded from top batsmen. That's the sort of ruthless comment that's missing far too often on this website. That might be true of Sachin alone (and I dont think it is- Patriots 'Sehwag v SRT' thread was one of the liveliest ones in recent days) But the other players- partciularly our bowlers get a lot of flak when thy are below par. Some of it is actually made with sound cricketing sense! I say some.. because Id agree that there are too few posters and threads actually WORTH reading, i.e ones that give genuine insight into strategy and tactics say, but they are still around... any attempt to be uber strict and allow the creme de la creme of posters alone would leave the site with about 15 members. I dont think the SRT worshipping is as bad as people are making it out to be- of course there is going to be fallout now after his scoring a 200. We're going to celebrate it, cant expect any different and I think this is just people being a bit sick of that celebration. Attemps to go the other way and make a 'Pan topic' site...well surely thatd make the current situation even worse. People claiming to have knowledge on everything when they actually dont, would attempt to express their views- good luck with trying to police that. Moreover there are other places we can do that, places which have been doing it for a while be it news websites or whatever- so lets stick to what we're good at. The Chit Chat and Politics forums do a reasonable job on those fronts anyway.

Guest BossBhai

Mods' date=' I will need to respond in a language the resident idyot patriot understands -which involves mainly hurling abuses and name calling. If the past is any indicator I forsee a lot of my posts disappearing while the idiots posts hang around. This is your chance to step in before I cut-lose...[/quote'] Sorry Boss. Just noticed it. Will edit the posts. Patriot, please stop using obscene language.
Guest BossBhai

Lulzers. When you have been found out as a petty statistical manipulator, it is not unexpected to focus on others things. It is even funnier considering that the loser who must have spent a considerable part of his life fantasizing and peddling senseless stats on a certain player gets so offended when faced with cold facts/stats. Geez..what a worthless, aimless life for dufferbhai.

Every thread on Tendlya brings about a riot :D It isnt Sachin's fault that AKthar keeps having a breakdown.... or else there wud be more matches between the 2, and perhaps a significantly higher average... if ur going to argue that akhtar got sachin out when akhtar was at his best then ... tendlya fans can counter that akhtar got tendlya out when tendlya was not in form :) arguments... counter arguments... in the end.... riots and name calling.... if cricket were still a gentelman's game... its followers sure dont seem gentlemanly