beetle Posted August 16, 2010 Posted August 16, 2010 aaahhh well i dont know if things are the same for you hun but i know the post natal diet my mother in law swears by consists of pure ghee and lots of carbs and lots jaggery!! apparently the health benefits are priceless but in terms of weight its a diet full of saturated fat if you ask me so losing weight post natally in culture isnt always easy! Nah... didn't touch any of that stuff.I set a target of one year to lose the pregnancy weight and achieved that.Now it is just the usual aaloo parantha with malai weight that carry.....:--D
rahulrulezz Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 Lurker bhai!! BUMP! Ok brother, I've been following a pretty good routine for the last 3.5 months, but I wanted to check with you on how to do get to the next level. Again, my goal is to get a cut, chiselled body...not bulk. Since the last time I've talked to you, I'm standing near 5 10, between 147 and 150 pounds, and a flat stomach. My goals are athleic (stronger, leaner, faster) and this will obvously make me look better. Here's what I'm doing right now: Day 1 -> Arms and Abs Day 2 -> Chest and Back Day 3 -> Shoulders and Legs Day 4 -> Arms and Abs Day 5 -> Chest and Back Day 6 -> Shoulders and Legs Day 7 -> OFF I do each body part in seperate sessions, approximatly 20-30 minutes for each body part. As for the individual exercises I do for those, they are mostly recommonedatios from you :) Do you think I'm not getting enough rest? I'm gettng through these workouts OK so far....enough to have done it for 14 weeks. I'm also 22 and blessed with lots of energy. To summarize my questions for you: 1) Do you think this is excessive? I don't train with more then 15 pounds weights 2) If so, should I implement something where I'm lifting 4 days and cardio on the rest? 3) Can you prescribe a nice diet plan I can follow if you have some time? I can eat chicken, I can cook (pretty horribly...). I don't want to be put on any supplements though. Sorr for the long post boss! Whenever you have time if you could educate me, I'd appreciat that. I've been following your advice for 1.5 years now and you've always given me AWESOME advice....thanks boss! With arms, do you mean you work on your triceps and forarms as well(not just bisceps)....Triceps n forarms are really vital for batting as well if your idol is Afridi:--D .. Helps you to clear those big grounds and get cought next ball :giggle: Also make sure to mix in shrugs as well .. Most of the bodybuilders and bollywood hunks spend good time on shrugs With back, I am assuming you are talking about both upper back and lower back.... but hopefully you are not missing on 'lats' ...Lats are a must for a V shape back... Also in legs, make sure to mix in calf muscles as well.. Squats are best option to work on your lower body... Also I don't see you doing any running or jogging...most pros dont prefer running in bulking phase but I myself prefer running 10-12 minutes running after the workout..this makes me feel more athletic and flexible.. I work out 3 days in a row and take a break on the 4th day..this way i get 1-2 days off every week... btw nice going Shehzaada:two_thumbs_up:..I really like your schedule and your determination.. and its good that desi guys these days are taking their health more seriously... Just know that hardest part is convincing yourself to get out of the house and hit the gym
rahulrulezz Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 Nah... didn't touch any of that stuff.I set a target of one year to lose the pregnancy weight and achieved that.Now it is just the usual aaloo parantha with malai weight that carry.....:--D Maalaaiii :woot: ...Never had it from last 7 years since I came to Canada:((
Zap_Brannigan Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 Just started hitting the fitness center again regularly, atleast for the last 3 weeks. I start with weight training for biceps and triceps for just 3 sets and then move on the the machines.Work chest, leg, back and thighs for 45 minutes. Overall i work out for 1 hour with a 15 minute walk before and after the workout every alternate day. So the 1.5 hours every time i work out already seems like a lot but i still have to find time for a jog in the threadmill and some sort of abs work out.
suraj Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 Just started hitting the fitness center again regularly, atleast for the last 3 weeks. I start with weight training for biceps and triceps for just 3 sets and then move on the the machines.Work chest, leg, back and thighs for 45 minutes. Overall i work out for 1 hour with a 15 minute walk before and after the workout every alternate day. So the 1.5 hours every time i work out already seems like a lot but i still have to find time for a jog in the threadmill and some sort of abs work out. What kind of job do you do?? Finding 1.5 hrs with my job is impossible on any day of the week
Zap_Brannigan Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 What kind of job do you do?? Finding 1.5 hrs with my job is impossible on any day of the week I leave work when i should and dont work after hours. Before i used to play tennis, games or go out for dinner/drinks after work.Now, I have to reduce all that and become more efficient with my time esp. since i live alone and have to do everything (cook,clean,laundry etc). But so far, i have managed to have a healthy balance between work, hobbies, girlfriend and fitness. But i still have a long way to go esp. since i somehow end up drunk on weekends with lots of fried food adding to my beer belly.
Shehezaada Posted August 17, 2010 Posted August 17, 2010 With arms, do you mean you work on your triceps and forarms as well(not just bisceps)....Triceps n forarms are really vital for batting as well if your idol is Afridi:--D .. Helps you to clear those big grounds and get cought next ball :giggle: Also make sure to mix in shrugs as well .. Most of the bodybuilders and bollywood hunks spend good time on shrugs With back, I am assuming you are talking about both upper back and lower back.... but hopefully you are not missing on 'lats' ...Lats are a must for a V shape back... Also in legs, make sure to mix in calf muscles as well.. Squats are best option to work on your lower body... Also I don't see you doing any running or jogging...most pros dont prefer running in bulking phase but I myself prefer running 10-12 minutes running after the workout..this makes me feel more athletic and flexible.. I work out 3 days in a row and take a break on the 4th day..this way i get 1-2 days off every week... btw nice going Shehzaada:two_thumbs_up:..I really like your schedule and your determination.. and its good that desi guys these days are taking their health more seriously... Just know that hardest part is convincing yourself to get out of the house and hit the gym hey rahul.. thanks dawg....I actually work out at home but still as long as your putting in the work it's aight. To answer your questions: 1) For Arms -> It' a three step routine, 10 x Alternating Bicep Curls, 10 x tricep kickbacks, 10 x hammer curls is one set. I do 5 sets with 30 seconds rest in between. Just started doing this with 20 pounds, so nothing too excessive yet. 2) For Back, I do lateral raises, shrugs (upper back), dumbbell rows, dumbbell deadlifts and back extensions 3) As for running....I play a lot of basketball so it should cover it. But your right I should run more.....I'll start soon! since your much more experienced...do you go through weight cycles, like bulking phases, then fat slimming phases to maintain your body? The question I'm trying to get at is.....is it better to 1) Lose as much fat on your body, set a good foundation where you get toned and stuff, AND then focus on bulking? or 2) Bulk first, then worry about the fat later when your slimming down? I don't want HUGE muscles...but more definition. Too much bulkyness will slow me down... Also i might use your schedule in the future....seems very tough but doable
Andy Posted August 20, 2010 Posted August 20, 2010 I do workout everyday. But not to build my body. Only to keep myself slim :D
vvvslaxman Posted August 20, 2010 Posted August 20, 2010 Most of the work out desi guys do, happens waist down :cantstop:
DomainK Posted August 20, 2010 Posted August 20, 2010 I dont like muscle building. I have enough of that. I have a treadmill at home which I use and I do plenty of Yoga.
goose Posted August 20, 2010 Posted August 20, 2010 Top tip you won't find anywhere else - start every weights session with a sprint session on the treadmill.
DomainK Posted August 20, 2010 Posted August 20, 2010 Top tip you won't find anywhere else - start every weights session with a sprint session on the treadmill. I dont think it's that rare a tip. In the gym I used to attend, they always used to ask me to do some cardio before doing weights.
Jersey #10 Posted August 21, 2010 Posted August 21, 2010 I hate working out but still do it sometimes for the sake of it. I usually hit the gym and work out like a crazy monster when I'm really pissed at someone.
Herculus Posted August 21, 2010 Posted August 21, 2010 This is a simple workout : • Squat: 1x20 • Pull-Overs: 1x20 • Bench Press: 2-3x10 • Pull-overs: 1x20 • Bent-over Rows: 2-3x15 • Standing Press: 2-3x12 • Conventional Deadlift: 1x15 4 days a week to gain weight fast. This is arnold shwazeneger's workout : Monday/Wednesday/Friday Chest Barbell bench press: 4 sets of 10, 8, 6, and 4 reps Barbell incline bench press: 4 sets of 10, 8, 6, and 4 reps Dumbbell flys: 3 sets of 10, 8, and 6 reps Parallel bar dips: 3 sets of 15, 10 and 8 reps Pullovers: 3 sets of 15 reps each Back Chin-ups: 4 sets of 10 reps minimum each side Close-grip chins: 4 sets of 10 reps T-bar rows: 4 sets of 15, 12, 8, and 6 reps Bent-over barbell rows: 4 sets of 8-12 reps Thighs Squat: 5 sets of 10, 8, 6, and 4 reps with a 20 rep warm-up set Front squats: 4 sets of 10, 8, 8, and 6 reps Hack squats: 3 sets of 10 reps each Leg curls: 4 sets of 20, 10, 8, and 6 reps Standing leg curls: 4 sets of 10 reps each Straight-leg dead lifts: 3 sets of 10 reps each Calves Donkey calf raises: 4 sets of 10 reps each Standing calf raises: 4 sets of 15, 10, 8, and 8 reps Abdominals Crunches: 3 sets of 25 reps Bent-over twists: 100 reps each side Machine crunches: 3 sets of 25 reps Crunches: 50 reps Tuesday/Thursday/Saturday Shoulders Behind-the-neck-barbell press: 5 sets of 10, 8, 8, and 6 reps with a 15-set warm-up Lateral raises: 4 sets of 8 reps each Bent-over dumbbell laterals: 4 sets of 8 reps each Dumbbell shrugs: 3 sets of 10 reps each Upper arms Standing barbell curls: 5 sets of 15, 10, 8, 6, and 4 reps Incline dumbbell curls: 4 sets of 8 reps each Concentration curls: 3 sets of 8 reps each One-arm triceps extensions: 3 sets of 10 reps each Forearms Barbell wrist curls: 4 sets of 10 reps each Reverse wrist curls: 3 sets of 10 reps each Calves Seated calf raises: 4 sets of 10 reps each Abdominals Reverse crunches: 4 sets of 25 reps Seated twists: 100 reps each side Vertical bench crunches: 4 sets of 25 reps
rahulrulezz Posted August 21, 2010 Posted August 21, 2010 I just love working out..been working out for more than 2 years... got in a good shape now...Though still no luck with 6 packs...lol, they come and go... One buffett and I swear my 6 packs kinda disappear...lol I have a very funny story of why I started working out... its about 3 years back in my University... One of my best buddies in university is a South Indian...lol we always had this North vs South indian and veg vs non-veg jokes going between us:giggle:... so on the last day of our 2nd year class, we had a arm wresting match in front of whole class and I won in like 15 seconds..and then we saw 3 Idiots part II..just like Silencer from 3 idiots, my friend challanged me in front of everyone that 4 months of his internship in California, he would come back and defeat me in less than 15 seconds:hysterical:... After 4 months, on the first day of the class... he got the whole class and his madrasis buddies with him ... "Rahul, today is N.Indian(Veggie) vs S.Indian(non veg) partII" :cantstop:.. He kinda looked bulked up but I knew I could take a South Indian down anytime..B->.lol... so in front of whole class, we had a rematchh... and guess what..he defeated me in less than 15 secondss... lol, my punjabi buddies were quiet and his tamil bros were dacing on that Prabhu deva song 'Podu Podu' song:giggle:.... it was like Chennai Superkings and Bangalore Royal Challangers defeated both Delhie Daredevils and Punjab kings 11 on the same day...I felt as if I betrayed all those paranthas and samosas :(... I was shocked... so the reason for my defeat was that this South Indian buddy of mine worked his ass off in those 4 months in California..Rumours were that the guy skipped work to go to gym... That was it......I had to prove that Paranthas indeed taste better than Idlis.......... and balley balley sounds cooler than Aaiyo Aammaa:haha:... I starting working out hardcore in those 4 months of study term(and he didnt work out at all) ....on the last day of class, I challenged him in front of the whole class...lol... again, everyone around came in and we had a large audience considring lotsa other people knew about our history plus Veg vs Nonveg stuff ..lol.. So we sat down in the middleof a big lecture hall pand i felt as if I was carrying burden of whole North India.. it was izzat ka sawaall of all the Chola bhaturas, Shaahi panneeer of all those years.... lol..match started and guess what, i defeated him in less than 10 secondss...hahaha, that was a day!!!!!!!... I danced on Punjabi MC in front of the whole class..... that was it..i never left gyming and still go to gym 5 times a week... coming back to OPs questions, Do you workout everyday ? What is your workout schedule ? and what do you eat to build your body ? How good is your body shape ? What is your height & weight ? etc etc. I workout 5 days a week... I work on Biscep and back one day, Chest and triceps another... third day i work on Shoulders and legs... I do abs everyday I am a Veggie so I drink lotsa milk, eat lotsa badams, 1 scoop protein shake, paneeer, peanuts etc etc I have got a good shape now... My strenght has increased as well..I started with bench press 20 -20 pounds on both hands so could do only 40 but now I can easily bench press 200 pounds.. started with 15 pounds bisceps\ curl and now 45 pound biscep curl each hand...can run 30 minutes straight on treadmill in comparison to 10 minutes when I started... My height is 5 11 and my weight is 178 pounds
shubham45 Posted August 21, 2010 Posted August 21, 2010 my work out schedule is 100 push ups 10 pull ups 100 sit ups 100 crunches
Shehezaada Posted August 26, 2010 Posted August 26, 2010 Guys, as rahul said I'm not getting enough cardio, and I want to get going on another program. It's been about 15 weeks on the current one. Monday: Cardio and Core Tuesday: Chest and Triceps Wednesday: Full Court Basketball - 2 hours Thursday: Back and Biceps Friday: Cardio and Core Saturday: Shoulders and Legs Sunday: Off Still 6 times a week but more cardio based. Quick question....for the lifting workouts, Tueday, Thursday, Saturday....do you do the chest and triceps in one big workout spanning about 45 - 50 minutes? Or do you do one specific body part, let's say Chest. Then go back and do Triceps later? I work out at home and so I have the option of working out whenever I want to. Or does it not matter?
Shehezaada Posted September 1, 2010 Posted September 1, 2010 And these are the workout routines I’m doing. Could somebody check them over and make sure I’m hitting all the right spots? Thanks! Workout #1 – Chest and Triceps Chest 1) Wide Armed Pushups -> 4 sets of 20 2) Superset Pushups -> 2 sets of 20 (10 with feet on chair, 10 with hands on chair) 3) Flat Dumbbell Chest Press -> 3 sets of 10 (20 pound dumbbells) 4) Dumbbell Chest Flies -> 3 sets of 10 Triceps 1) Dips -> 3 sets of 10 2) Tricep Kickbacks -> 3 sets of 10 3) Tricep Overhead Extensions -> 3 sets of 10 4) French/Arnold Presses -> 3 sets of 10 Workout #2 – Back and Biceps Back 1) Upright Rows -> 3 sets of 10 2) Shrugs -> 3 sets of 10 3) Twisting Dumbbell Rows -> 3 sets of 10 4) Two Armed Row -> 3 sets of 10 5) Back Extensions -> 2 sets of 10 6) Dumbbell Deadlift -> 3 sets of 10 Biceps 1) Hammer Curls -> 3 x 10 2) Preacher Curls -> 3 x 10 3) Concentration Curls -> 3 x 10