GloryOf83 in South Africa

gloryof83

I've been to Indian test matches in Australia, but it always has been my dream to travel to SA or Eng to watch India play there. We had a trip planned to India in the first week of Dec, looking at the dates I managed to convince my wife to go to India alone while I would join her after the first test. Permission granted, tickets booked. I wanted to stay in the same hotel as the Indian team, but the information was not available anywhere, so I took a gamble and called cricket SA... the worst they could say is no... and to my surprise they told me where the Indian team was scheduled to stay for the first test. Giddy with happiness I booked that hotel for my stay as well. Today I arrived in Jo'burg.. collected my rental car and drove to the hotel... while checking in I asked if the Indian team was staying here... just to confirm... and was told yes. After checking in... I parked my car and was returning from the car park when I noticed a couple of Indian guys with video cameras going into the hotel... assuming they were there to cover the Indian team I followed them in to a conference room where Dhoni was doing the pre-match press conference. I stayed through the entire conference which was fun. Going up to my room, I was pleasantly surprised when Dhoni & Kristen walked in to the same lift as me... I shook their hands and wished them luck. Turns out the entire Indian team is staying in the floor above me. I will update this thread with photos and other tid bits as and when they happen.

Wow, look forward to it :hail: I saw India when they came in 03/04 and 07/08. If Sachin is coming next year, I am going to make it a point to catch at least a day of every test. This year, I will be catching the ASHES in Adelaide and Melbourne and some of the KFC Big Bash (T20) matches.

Wow, I am amazed at your passion! Its one thing to boast that you are a big cricket fan and this and that, but to actually take it upon yourself to travel alone to South Africa and do whatever it took to stay in the same hotel as the Indian team, that is freaking awesome! :hatsoff: Looking forward to hearing some wonderful anecdotes, personal experiences on tour!

:woot: Pics and videos or it didn't happen. Give us more stories and tid bits for sure. Moar..moar! P.S. Now that's what we call an understanding spouse. :two_thumbs_up:

it was not that easy... had to bribe her with a trip to switzerland....

The team was in a yoga session (an hour ago)... so I came up for a shower + relax + icf. Now I shall go down and hang around in the lobby + bar + anywhere else... take a couple of pics... if I get to meet GOD (it will be the second time)... then this trip would be worth it... seeing him score a 100 would top it off.

and I thought this kind of mismanagement only happened in India!! :hatsoff:
arey bhai... India mey to baat alag hai... more security... in fact they book out the entire hotel. overseas main thoda relaxed hota hai...

just met dhoni & his wife in the lift again. don't know why but... presence of sporting heros make grown men act like 10 year olds. I was going to wish dhoni & his mrs well... but all I said was "if you win the toss bowl first"

Thats so true. I once met Sachin and Dhoni in a Mumbai-Bangalore flight. Went absolutely numb and was speechless.