The Vibrant Gujarat Summits, held biennially since 2003, have been a major success, attracting investment proposals worth over US$ 370 billion. On January 12th and 13th, 2011 the 5th Vibrant Gujarat Summit is scheduled to take place at the new purpose-built Mahatma Mandir, in the State capital, Gandhinagar. It promises to be the biggest and best yet. The Vibrant Gujarat Summits aim to facilitate investment alliances for the participating countries; they are the ideal platform to explore business opportunities in Gujarat, in India and across the world. http://www.vibrantgujarat.com/
:two_thumbs_up:
Over Rs15L crore committed for investment GANDHINAGAR: The Gujarat government today said it has got investment commitments totalling nearly Rs 15 lakh crore on the first day of industrial 'mela' Vibrant Gujaratreflecting the state's pristine position as a corporate destination. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/business/india-business/Vibrant-Gujarat-scores-for-Modi-Over-Rs15L-crore-committed-for-investment/articleshow/7269429.cms

First, let me just say Gujrat has always been a model state in terms Industrial development. But, 370 billion? Do these guys realize that’s more than a third of India’s GDP? With that kind of money, you can pave every road in Gujrat in gold and buy every Gujrati a luxury condo. The whole of India probably hasn’t received that much Investment, foreign or otherwise, in the last 10 years combined. Oh these PR guys..:

^2G telecom scam was worth ~2lac crore' date=' 15 lac crore may well be a real figure.[/quote'] http://www.google.com/publicdata?ds=wb-wdi&met=bx_klt_dinv_cd_wd&idim=country:IND&dl=en&hl=en&q=india+foreign+direct+investment India's FDI in the last 10 years; 2000 - $3.5 bn 2001 - $5.4 bn 2002 - $5.6 bn 2003 - $4.3 bn 2004 - $5.7 bn 2005 - $7.6 bn 2006 - $20.3 bn 2007 - $25.1 bn 2008 - $41.35 bn 2009 - $34.5 bn Total ~ $155 bn So you’re telling me that the State of Gujrat alone is going to get nearly 2.5 times the total FDI that all of India received (and that includes the investment in Gujrat as well, mind you), in the last 10 years? Forget $370 bn, if a state manages to land $37 bn, that itself is an incredibly impressive performance. That’s the problem with these ‘Vibrant Gujrat’, ‘Shining Tamil Nadu’ or ‘Soaring Mahararshtra’ sort of events. The PR guys either grossly misrepresent or completely conjure up imaginary numbers to portray these events as a raging success. Its easy to get investors from around the world to ‘commit’ to large-scale investments. For every 100 rupees that is committed, hardly 10 rupees translates into actual investment on the ground.

Whatever it is.. I'm very happy for Gujrat and the able chief minister Modi. The state has really progressed leap and bounds..Hope it continues to progress like that..Whatever may be the figures of investment, it's clear that investors are lining up to invest in the state. Good for the economy and public..

Whatever it is.. I'm very happy for Gujrat and the able chief minister Modi. The state has really progressed leap and bounds..Hope it continues to progress like that..Whatever may be the figures of investment' date=' it's clear that investors are lining up to invest in the state. Good for the economy and public..[/quote'] That, I wholeheartedly agree with. As I said earlier, Gujrat has always been at the forefront of Industrial development and job creation in our country. In the last 15-20 years, Gujrat, Mahararshtra and Tamil Nadu have pretty much traded places for being the states that attaract the maximum investment. A lot of credit for that should go to Modi.
First, let me just say Gujrat has always been a model state in terms Industrial development. But, 370 billion? Do these guys realize that’s more than a third of India’s GDP? With that kind of money, you can pave every road in Gujrat in gold and buy every Gujrati a luxury condo. The whole of India probably hasn’t received that much Investment, foreign or otherwise, in the last 10 years combined. Oh these PR guys..:
They've just thrown numbers; some of it is past commitment that the govt/corporates repeated again while a lot of the other proposed investment does not have a time line. My concern is whether they follow the environmental regulations and consider the overall benefits of the proposed investments. For instance, there were a lot of eyebrows raised when the Nano plant moved to Gujarat in a matter of a few days, that was unprecedented in terms of how India generally works. Some media reports suggested the Gujarat govt went out of their way in granting university land and massive benefits such as subsidized water/power because of which the Gujarat tax payer was bearing the cost of Rs. 65k for every Nano. Who do we trust here, the Modi govt or some reports here and there ?
Guest Shivani

Gujarat stalls are so chamkeeli in the all states handloom exhibition

Gujarat has a very good business model since historic times. They have India's textile industry centers in Surat etc. and they have Patels all over the world who send back money to the state. The numbers seem to be thrown by some PR guys but still their developmental activities are appreciable.

I think Gautam Adani the owner of the Adani group is from Gujarat so they're supporting Gujarat.
i know him, we had recently done a case-study on adani group.

‘ GUJARAT MAY BE VIBRANT BUT ONLY SECOND TO MAHARASHTRA’ INDUSTRIALISTS, EXPERTS PRAISE GUJARAT BUT STILL FEEL THAT MAHARASHTRA IS THE STATE FOR INVESTMENTS GUJARAT is being pegged as the next Maharashtra, as the state raked in a record $ 50 billion worth investment in the first hour of ‘ Vibrant Gujarat’ summit. But experts and industrialists are of an opinion that despite the rush of investments, Gujarat will always be only second to Maharashtra. The Gujarat government has reportedly signed about 7,900 MoUs. According to Dr Vaijayanti Pandit, director of FICCI’s western region, the figures that are being showed at the ‘ Vibrant Gujarat’ summit, does not matter. “ In the last fiscal year, Maharashtra had investments to the tune of Rs 86,000 crore whereas Gujarat, got only Rs 63,000 crore. These are RBI figures. At the end of the day, the figures that matter are the government recognised figures,†she said. “ People have started migrating but still Mumbai is the hub, as it has far more to offer than Gujarat. Gujarat is developing and the industrial climate there is favourable for investment. There is no doubt that Narendra Modi is a powerful leader.†Venugopal Dhoot, chairperson of Videocon, also seconded Pandit. He said, “ Gujarat is growing. Aurangabad is similar to Baroda or any other city of Gujarat. Mumbai is the best place for business. Maharashtra will always remain number one and Gujarat would be number two.†A senior economist said, “ These figures are only memorandums of understanding that have been signed. The actual amount would come in only once the investment starts. Many companies sign agreements, but not all turn up. These figures do not reveal everything.†Gujarat government claimed that it is not in competition with any other state. “ There were nearly 18 states that had their stalls and many even lured the investors. The investors have even agreed to go to Chhattisgarh and invest there,†said Saurabh Patel, minister with the state and also the organiser of the ‘ Vibrant Gujarat’ summit. Gujarat government has been boasting that Ahmedabad would soon be the next financial capital of the country. “ If 21st century is for India then our Gujarat will lead the way. We are transparent, the CM has seen to it that red tapism does not exist and to an extent we have got rid of it. Those industrialists who want to invest in our state do not even have to go to the government office. We do not have electricity shortage and land is easily available. We see to it that the investors do not face any problem. Many investors come and thank us,†said Patel. http://www.mid-day.com/news/2011/jan...arat-FICCI.htm