urbestfriend Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 Real shame! Dont care whether it is due to CAB or BCCI ,but this is pretty embarrassing for all cricket loving Indians. :((
Sachinism Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 Will a new ground get hosting rights now? I think the other grounds may not be able to put up with extra games, if thats the case, which grounds are likely to next in line, Hyd?
SachDan Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 What a shame! this is worse than MCG or Lords not hosting a world cup match awarded to their respective countries :(
Sir_Afridi Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 One would have thought that lessons were learned after hockey world cup & CWG debacles but then this is India for you. ICC should ban Eden Gardens for atleast 2 years now. Pakistan would have done far better job in WC preparation than the so called richest board. :fail:
satyam1729 Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 One would have thought that lessons were learned after hockey world cup & CWG debacles but then this is India for you. ICC should ban Eden Gardens for atleast 2 years now. Pakistan would have done far better job in WC preparation than the so called richest board. :fail: Have they caught the attackers of SL cricket team yet ? And btw both CWG and hockey world cup was hit . Pakistan is a banana republic.
The Outsider Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 Been saying it for ages - ban Eden Gardens for a few years. They always find a way to disgrace the country.
Zelig Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 "Eden is the face of Indian Cricket" CAB :two_thumbs_up: You indians couldnt organise a piss up in a brewery! That's uncalled for, saar.
jf1gp_1 Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 One would have thought that lessons were learned after hockey world cup & CWG debacles but then this is India for you. ICC should ban Eden Gardens for atleast 2 years now. Pakistan would have done far better job in WC preparation than the so called richest board. :fail: i saw multiple CWG events , renovated jawahar lal nehru stadium is fantastic , definitely the most spectator friendly stadium in India; infact all cwg location were very well done . Dont mix corruption with what was delivered Pak doing a better job than India, may i remind you what happened to SL
pensionplan Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 Will a new ground get hosting rights now? I think the other grounds may not be able to put up with extra games' date=' if thats the case, which grounds are likely to next in line, Hyd?[/quote']I read somewhere that Bangalore will get the Ind-Eng game after Kolkata got the royal boot. I do not think ICC will go outside of the present designated centers if Kolkata cannot host the remaining games as well.
ludhianvi Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 Only some parts of the ground need more time?
fineleg Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 Shame on CAB' date=' Thats what happens when Politicians run Cricket in Bengal. Its High Time Dada stops playing or Thinking about IPL and gets into Bengal Cricket Administration and Saves Bengal Cricket. Bengal needs him, its high time he returns some Favour back to his City.[/quote'] Dada will probably be better than the other scumbags. However it is relatively better. Dada does play politics and that was the negative aspect with him which was one of the reasons for the differences within the team when he was at the helm. But that skills can be put to good use if he has the right intention.
Ram Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 What can you say? If the whole fiasco surrounding the Commonwealth games wasn’t embarrassing enough, here we have, another public humiliation. Eden Gardens, is without a shadow of doubt, the marquee cricket stadium of India. To strip that of a world cup match, that too a high profile contest like India v England, is so unbelievably shameful. And for once, you can probably leave BCCI out of the blame-list. What else could they have possibly done? Its the State Association’s job to get things in completed in time and quite clearly, CAB has been sitting with their hands underneath their arses. Though the decision looks like it is final, I hope we work out a compromise situation and try to reinstate the match. The ICC has to realize that 1000s of fans, including our very own Sachinism, have made elaborate travel plans and spent 10s of 1000s rupees already. They should keep these people’s best interests in mind as well. But the larger point remains – when will we, as a nation, ever learn from our mistakes? I mean, less than 6 months after the world-wide embarrassment of the Commonweatlh games, we couldn’t pull up our socks? And this not even some tiny-pot stadium in Ranchi or Guwahati. This is the PREMIER sporting venue in India and they couldn’t get even this ready? In normal circumstances, as an Indian, you’d be tempted to hang you head in shame. But these crooks don’t ever deserve sympathy/empathy. You just have to shake your head and move on.
yoda Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 Real bad news for those fans who have bought tickets and have made plans. I can't believe that the BCCI simply says it is between the ICC and CAB and they have nothing to do. WTF!
Desi Cartman Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 Rofl and people in India still laugh and feel so proud about finishing the work at the last hour.
saneindian Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 They started the renovation works about 15 months ago. If in 15 months you cannot renovate a stadium, better not organise any WC matches. Award it to some other stadium like the one in Hyderabad which is a world class stadium. Also if Wankhede is not ready yet, shift the finals and other Mumbai matches to the DY Patil Stadium, a world class facility that deserves to be promoted instead of these stadiums owned by crappy state associations.
pensionplan Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 Though the decision looks like it is final, I hope we work out a compromise situation and try to reinstate the match. The ICC has to realize that 1000s of fans, including our very own Sachinism, have made elaborate travel plans and spent 10s of 1000s rupees already. They should keep these people’s best interests in mind as well. ICC did what is the right thing here. Actually in the earlier inspection about 2 months back they have warned both Wankhede and Eden and expressed concerns and had a list of things to be set right before this inspection. While Mumbai came out fine the old slime ball Dalalmiya gave two hoots and brought it to the present position. If fans are to get mad at someone and have someone accountable it has to be CAB first and foremost. ICC officials here just did their job and declared the venue in the present condition unfit and they had reasons to. Where are the effigy burners in Kolkata when we need them for the right cause? Go get Dalalmiya and his henchmen from Bengal for this goof up
Andy Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 Dada will probably be better than the other scumbags. However it is relatively better. Dada does play politics and that was the negative aspect with him which was one of the reasons for the differences within the team when he was at the helm. But that skills can be put to good use if he has the right intention. Well Finey, i think he can do better job of what this Bangali Babus arre doing ATM irrespective of what you think. Because we do not have any better option than him ATM. But then again, you have to see what the man himself wants, IPL or to return some favour back to Bengal.
Holysmoke Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 oh well bengal is like that. Should've told them the WC was in 2001 if you wanted the stadium ready by 2011.
Andy Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 ICC did what is the right thing here. Actually in the earlier inspection about 2 months back they have warned both Wankhede and Eden and expressed concerns and had a list of things to be set right before this inspection. While Mumbai came out fine the old slime ball Dalalmiya gave two hoots and brought it to the present position. If fans are to get mad at someone and have someone accountable it has to be CAB first and foremost. ICC officials here just did their job and declared the venue in the present condition unfit and they had reasons to. Where are the effigy burners in Kolkata when we need them for the right cause? Go get Dalalmiya and his henchmen from Bengal for this goof up ++