DomainK Posted February 3, 2011 Posted February 3, 2011 Isnt it amazing how we fight over some great music composers. Why cant we just sit back and enjoy all the amazing music they produce in stead of ranking them in numbers?
spectre Posted February 3, 2011 Posted February 3, 2011 Rahman is easily the best South Indian music director ( I dont know much about bollywood ones, so i am not commenting on it) But the Rahman of 90's and early 2000 is >> than the Rahman after 2005. Even now he comes with some great numbers(like in VTV), but the consistency is missing. Earlier all songs used to be amazing, now its only some of them. The SM oscar songs are no where compared to his brilliance in Roja, Thiruda Thiruda, Bombay, Minsara Kanavu... Tamil Film industry is blessed to have plenty of great music directors in every era. Atm, everyone gives some great numbers so very often. So there is no dearth of good music even when Rahman goes missing for sometime. Harris Jeyaraj Yuvan Vidyasagar DSP James Vasanthan Even the new ones like GV Prakash and Thaman have given some great songs.
Sachin=GOD Posted February 3, 2011 Posted February 3, 2011 Abe chamanon AR is the SRT of music; why does anyone even compare him to others Never ever insult Goddy ever again :mad:
littlemaster1982 Posted February 3, 2011 Posted February 3, 2011 Never ever insult Goddy ever again :mad: Man, There are quite a number of Sachin fans who are ARR fans too (like me). I know it's not a valid comparison (both are in extremely unrelated fields) but how that is an insult?
The Outsider Posted February 3, 2011 Posted February 3, 2011 ^ You are a polytheist, he is a monotheist. Conflicting philosophies.
The Outsider Posted February 3, 2011 Posted February 3, 2011 If Lata Mangeshkar sung "Aye mere watan ke logon" standing on a moving motorcycle while juggling 3 knives, would it have made the song greater? Its just an additional gimmick with no real musical purpose. Thats it. Why should it be any different for 'breathless'. :laugh:
littlemaster1982 Posted February 3, 2011 Posted February 3, 2011 Yeah. Never thought I would indulge in religious fights :P
coffee_rules Posted February 3, 2011 Posted February 3, 2011 Well if you had two kinds of food, both great, and one had greater reach and helped unite the people of the world, then there is a valid comparison. :winky: Ill Pi, for you :winky::winky: You make it sound like he is the first music director to compose a patriotic song.
coffee_rules Posted February 3, 2011 Posted February 3, 2011 I find Shankar Mahadevan fans going gaga over breathless just so annoying. Even if the song was sung in one breath ( which it is not) what does that add to the song as such? Nothing. Its a great physical feat with no relation to the song. If Lata Mangeshkar sung "Aye mere watan ke logon" standing on a moving motorcycle while juggling 3 knives, would it have made the song greater? Its just an additional gimmick with no real musical purpose. Thats it. Why should it be any different for 'breathless'. I don't think here in this case, he was going gaga over the 'breathless' part, but only appreciating the song (tune and the effort and the experinence of hearing it live). SO your criticism is a bit overboard. I agree that live music when done well is the best way to enjoy any song.
Sachin=GOD Posted February 3, 2011 Posted February 3, 2011 ^ You are a polytheist' date=' he is a monotheist. Conflicting philosophies.[/quote'] :hysterical::hysterical: I was only saying that AR Rehman does'nt deserve to be compared with Goddy.............IMO he is the 2nd best music director in India after RD Burman.
Ram Posted February 3, 2011 Posted February 3, 2011 This thread bears an eerie resemblance to the ‘Sachin vs. Bradman’ debate. :yikes: And by immediate corollary, that means this debate will rage for a couple of decades at least and by the end of it, no one would be none the wiser :giggle:
Ram Posted February 3, 2011 Posted February 3, 2011 I find Shankar Mahadevan fans going gaga over breathless just so annoying. Even if the song was sung in one breath ( which it is not) what does that add to the song as such? Nothing. Its a great physical feat with no relation to the song. If Lata Mangeshkar sung "Aye mere watan ke logon" standing on a moving motorcycle while juggling 3 knives, would it have made the song greater? Its just an additional gimmick with no real musical purpose. Thats it. Why should it be any different for 'breathless'. Vaah re Vaah, Vakeel ji!
Mariyam Posted February 3, 2011 Posted February 3, 2011 To PK, Aaku, The Outsider & Morris. I've no way to guess if the smiliey indicates that you buy the argument or you don't. So I'll let it pass :P To the OP, you've pretty much decided in the first post itself that ARR is the greatest. Thats not fair. I think if you see the period 2005 to date, Jatin Lalit have also composed some good stuff. In fact, IMO, limited to Bollywood numbers, I think they've done better than ARR in the said period. And I'm surprised no one mentioned Jatin Lalit :(( Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar Chalte Chalte Fanaa Dabanng Mohabattein Sarfarosh Kuch Kuch Hota Hai and many more that I don't recollect.
b555 Posted February 3, 2011 Posted February 3, 2011 Man, There are quite a number of Sachin fans who are ARR fans too (like me). I know it's not a valid comparison (both are in extremely unrelated fields) but how that is an insult? same here lm :icflove: between, how are you ?
Jersey #10 Posted February 4, 2011 Posted February 4, 2011 To PK, Aaku, The Outsider & Morris. I've no way to guess if the smiliey indicates that you buy the argument or you don't. So I'll let it pass :P To the OP, you've pretty much decided in the first post itself that ARR is the greatest. Thats not fair. I think if you see the period 2005 to date, Jatin Lalit have also composed some good stuff. In fact, IMO, limited to Bollywood numbers, I think they've done better than ARR in the said period. And I'm surprised no one mentioned Jatin Lalit :(( Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar Chalte Chalte Fanaa Dabanng Mohabattein Sarfarosh Kuch Kuch Hota Hai and many more that I don't recollect. He had only one song in Dabangg so please don't give him credit for the whole movie album.
yoda Posted February 4, 2011 Posted February 4, 2011 I like Jatin Lalit, especially Fanaa. In fact Fanaa songs were very Rahman'ish. :--D
Zelig Posted February 4, 2011 Posted February 4, 2011 One of my fav ARR's Ok9mfO_MeRU Shreya Ghoshal After watching Boomika look so cool in that song, a lotsa TN girlies tried the Punjabi kurtha...damn! Difficult times, man..difficult times :((
don_corleone840 Posted February 4, 2011 Author Posted February 4, 2011 :hysterical::hysterical: I was only saying that AR Rehman does'nt deserve to be compared with Goddy.............IMO he is the 2nd best music director in India after RD Burman. Rd burman was not best even in his time.Laxmikant pyarelal were far better music director than him.