Are urban Indians becoming excessively stupid?

Mariyam

Football craze has reached such dizzying heights ( depths) that even mainstream brands have started making ads to generate awareness about the social malaise: iowd_DRDtxk All you football 'supporters' must watch this.
We see this ad daily .... :regular_smile: But i Like the other one more.... "hamesha mai hi miltha hoo kya?" :haha:

Soccer may be fun to play but it is boring to watch for many reasons. One issue is that if by a miracle a team takes a 2-0 lead early in a game....... The game is over. There is absolutely ZERO drama. The team that is down will NEVER come back. Might as well watch something else. The game itself in theory is exciting. It moves constantly, players dribble, pass, steal, knock people down, slide, head the ball etc. But the problem is that the players spend the overwhelming majority of their time setting up unsuccessful scoring attempts. And MOST of those attempts are not even close. I really dont find the appeal in watching 1082970271 fail attempts when eventually the scoreline ends with 0-0 . The main reason it is so popular worldwide is because its the most basic sport anyone can play , One just needs to have a round ball and start playing with it , its such a cheap sport and with no " Hard to grasp" rules , compared to a game like Cricket which is too complex with well over a hundred rules . Ironically the people in the subcontinent inspite of being not so economically stable play one of the most expensive sports in the world " Cricket" whereas the so called First World still drools over a cheap sport , the only exception in this case is USA where soccer is seen as a " gay and sissy" sport . The Dumb Europeans tried all that they could to get the Yanks interested in there boring Football but in a country where people grew up watching comparatively tougher and more violent sports like American Football , Basketball the appeal of " Softy Soccer" never picked up . Now after failing to capture the American Market , the Europeans are trying to catch the interest of the " Wannabes " in the Asia especially in India where you can find Millions who try to separate themselves with the usual "Indianism" to look cool . Thankfully we have Cricket to enjoy in India otherwise by the looks of things we could have easily ended up being a lame soccer nation with an insignificant ranking of 100+ in the world

In other words, you are not a fan of football :winky:

Sorry I can understand that you hate football but the reasons you gave just don't cut it. What about a lead over 300 in cricket or after a follow on. There have been precisely three instances in International cricket where a team has won after following on. So pretty much if you follow on the match is either a draw or you lose. But dont you still watch the game. And regarding attempts at goal, isnt cricket mainly an attempt to get the batsman out. And at the maximum you can have 90 overs * 5 days * 6 balls just to get 20 wickets. So by your logic isn't cricket a waste too?

Title of this thread should be "Indian football fans are becoming stupid??" ' date=', I dont think all urban indians watch football.[/quote'] It is very obvious why the thread is titled as it is, except to those who are football fans staying in urban habitats.

A question to all footy-lover haters/critics .... suppose an american guy starts watching cricket, he starts liking it . he watches sachin batting and gets impressed with him and becomes an indian cricket team fan because of dhoni/sachin/yuvraj.while talking with his british fellows he says "we are gonna beat you guys in the next series". (its not impossible IMO) now will you call him stupid? will you say cricket is just for india , what the hell hes gonna do by supporting us? he should rather watch American footy , WWE .etc

On a serious note. No. I wouldn't call him (more) stupid if he only supports cricket or Tendulkar. Vaibhav might call him stupid for the latter. But if he pretends that he is from Mumbai, speaks in Mumbai slang and buys MI merchandise to appear cool when it is absolutely clear that he doesn't have any connection with the place, then I would definitely say the same that I say about Indian football fans. Being a cricket lover for the love of the game or because the game fascinates you is one thing. Trying to pretend like someone you are not based on the team you "support" is what is looked down upon. :dance:

^^^ He's American. High probability that he would be stupid regardless of the sport he follows, team he supports or the detergent he uses. So yes, I would call him stupid.
OK you may have got a bad quality of generalizing everything , but at least you are not a hypocrite.

^ :laugh::rofl: :rofl: :rofl: I have no words for this shyte. This is just ****ing stupid. There are girls in there too :WTF: Are these guys just trying to get laid ? :hmmmm2: Mr. anti-jinx dada-lover can answer some of these questions !! :hail: How can you say "We believe, this is our time, we are Man U" with that signature desi accent and expect people to not laugh their ass off :laugh:

Cringe worthy cases line these make Mariyam's case stronger. This is at Man U cafe in the city. WTF Yaar WTF f1mAudbaPZY&feature=player_embedded
What kind of serious news channel sends a dedicated reporter and a camera crew to cover a bunch of 15 guys in a cafe? I think that producer of the channel must have been related to one of those crazies in that group. :hysterical: Having said that, the cameraman did a REALLY job of making sure the coverage area did not extend past the 12 fans who were there. :laugh:

^ :laugh::rofl: :rofl: :rofl: I have no words for this shyte. This is just ****ing stupid. There are girls in there too :WTF: Are these guys just trying to get laid ? :hmmmm2: Mr. anti-jinx dada-lover can answer some of these questions !! :hail: How can you say "We believe, this is our time, we are Man U" with that signature desi accent and expect people to not laugh their ass off :laugh:
:haha: