The Outsider Posted February 27, 2011 Posted February 27, 2011 This is a cricket forum where moderators and admins take out time to keep it in order and readable from their personal lives. There are no monetary benefits associated with the job moderators do here. It's just a game and while the ICF admin team understands that there is going to be frustration on a poor performance by the Indian team and at the same time posters from other countries would like to rub in India's losses, the minimum that each poster can do in his individual capacity is maintain civility in discussions. Instead of discussing the match, I have spent loads of time cleaning up racist posts, troll jobs, banning multiple users today. If such behavior carries on, please be aware that the leash is short. The main purpose of the admin team is the same as all posters - to discuss cricket in a civil manner. We are not going to bother handing out gentle warnings and infractions in the future - offending users will be banned immediately. The rules are available to read here : http://www.indiancricketfans.com/announcement.php?f=8&a=18 And if you can't be bothered to read them, follow the simple principle don't type anything that you would not want to read if you were in the opposing shoes. Please help making this coming month of cricket an enjoyable experience to all. Thanks.
Cricket_Guru Posted February 27, 2011 Posted February 27, 2011 :two_thumbs_up: a place where majority is filled with good characters, then even bad posters follow their approach but if its opposite then the result is not good.
Utalk Posted February 27, 2011 Posted February 27, 2011 Completely agree mate.This is a cricket forum not a race slurs centre.I am new to this forum and some of the stuff written is atrocious for so called educated people.I lost it the other day and responded to couple of posts in an equally bad way which in hindsight I should not have. May I suggest couple of things that I feel will make great difference and we can still have banter about the great game. I live in UK and you will be aware that P word is regarded a racial slur.I see its frequently used here.As you have people from all over the world on this forum it offends many people.Avoiding use of P word would lift the quality of the forum. I know that most swear words are banned here but there are still words such as "haramzada" translated b@stard used here. Racial abuse should be a none starter and describing a whole nation as cheats or doll scrounger is uncalled for and brings the quality of this forum down. I hope I have not offended no one with these points.
dragonfly Posted February 28, 2011 Posted February 28, 2011 You have offended my english language though. "Non" starter it is.
Zap_Brannigan Posted February 28, 2011 Posted February 28, 2011 I live in UK and you will be aware that P word is regarded a racial slur.I see its frequently used here.As you have people from all over the world on this forum it offends many people.Avoiding use of P word would lift the quality of the forum. I know that most swear words are banned here but there are still words such as "haramzada" translated b@stard used here. Majority of users here are not from UK. We've been using paki as a short form for a long time. It is similar to aussie or lankans. Moreover, this forum has a very unrestrained attitude. Unlike , perhaps a very "religiously inclined" forum,I (and as i believe many users here) type as we talk and we talk like a normal person. I (and as i believe many users here) curse, I bring gods name in vain, etc. without any concern that the "guy in the sky" will spite us.
Zero_Unit Posted February 28, 2011 Posted February 28, 2011 ^ what are you talking bout! Even here in Canada the P word is labeled as racist even when reffered to Indians/Lankans/Bangladeshis ... maybe just inside India people uses it freely ... P word = N word ...
Zap_Brannigan Posted February 28, 2011 Posted February 28, 2011 ^ what are you talking bout! Even here in Canada the P word is labeled as racist even when reffered to Indians/Lankans/Bangladeshis ... maybe just inside India people uses it freely ... P word = N word ... Not in US or Asia and that's where the majority of the forums-ers here live.
Rajiv Posted February 28, 2011 Posted February 28, 2011 ^ what are you talking bout! Even here in Canada the P word is labeled as racist even when reffered to Indians/Lankans/Bangladeshis ... maybe just inside India people uses it freely ... P word = N word ... What Part of Canada? I have never heard Paki being a racial slur in Canada The only word for Desis is BROWN. But in either case? if its for Pakistanis, Indians, Lankas, Banglas - so why are only the Pakistanis bothered?
Prakat Posted February 28, 2011 Posted February 28, 2011 I live in UK and you will be aware that P word is regarded a racial slur.I see its frequently used here.As you have people from all over the world on this forum it offends many people.Avoiding use of P word would lift the quality of the forum. Paki is considered a racial slur because when used in the UK it generally is directed towards anyone who looks like he/she is from the Indian Sub-continent. Anyone from Pakistan, India and Bangladesh and even Sri-Lanka will be lumped into this classification. Whereas in India, it is a short form for Pakistani. So it's more Nationalistic than Racial in intent. And like it or not, we are divided by borders. The only way if could become an abuse is if we called someone a paki who is an Indian Muslim. Again not racist but definitely prejudicial and in very, very bad-taste.
pakexpress Posted February 28, 2011 Posted February 28, 2011 no idea why Paki is considered a racial slur? whats wrong with people in UK? its just a short for paki and nothing more.. we use in US all the time with no problem..
Prakat Posted February 28, 2011 Posted February 28, 2011 I think it has a lot to do with the history of that word in the UK. back in the 80s and 90s with a wave of immigrants and growing support for the BNP (Nationalist, Right-Wing Party that was building support based on anti-immigration legislation, "protecting" Native British rights to work etc., and repatriation of citizens of Sub-continent origins). There were hundreds of incidents of groups of members of this party as well as neo-nazi skinheads, attacking Indian/Pakistani people, neighbourhoods and businesses while shouting chants that contained the word "Paki!". Walls around Indian/Pakistani populated areas would have graffiti painted on them containing hate speech and the word "Paki". Things like "GO HOME PAKIS!" etc. This is why now that word is equivalent to the N word in the US. The movie "This Is England" captures this era and people of this mindset very well.
Ranjha Posted February 28, 2011 Posted February 28, 2011 It's also the way u pronounce it. If u say paki in English accent, it's racial against all browns. If u say paaaki like in desi style, then it's just a short form.
Zero_Unit Posted February 28, 2011 Posted February 28, 2011 What Part of Canada? I have never heard Paki being a racial slur in Canada The only word for Desis is BROWN. But in either case? if its for Pakistanis, Indians, Lankas, Banglas - so why are only the Pakistanis bothered? Well Rajiv I live in montreal. But it really depends on who actualy takes it as a racial slur. I have told few pakistani friends paki and they know am just joking with them. And I have seen people getting beaten up for using that term. And I have been called a "F'ing PAKI" in a racial manner aswell (the funny thing is it's a BLACK guy who called me that even though he knows am Indian).
Prakat Posted February 28, 2011 Posted February 28, 2011 I understand what you mean' date=' here in Canada Indians ( mostly Sikhs ) started immigrating here in the 1930s, the first generation had to bear the brunt of racist slurs. even Sikhs were called as "Hindu' by racist whites, second generation started kicking ass of racists here...after getting thrashed in Punjabi style...these racist goras just gave it up :giggle: and today it is a totally different ball game :two_thumbs_up:[/quote'] Nothing like turning the tables on cowards and bullies and bigots! :two_thumbs_up: Here's the trailer of the film. It's worth watching just for the acting by the young boy who's at the center of the story. H0jkv2bRFgQ
flamy Posted February 28, 2011 Posted February 28, 2011 If Paki is racist, what about Indi Commandos?
Pak_Fan_4_Eva Posted February 28, 2011 Posted February 28, 2011 Abuse must not be tolerated. This forum is full of filth like that. People may call me a troll (I may be ) but I never abused India or the Indian people. Not one of my post goes without certain Indian posters attacking my nationality. Now Pakistanis are not the only victims of abuse here. The Sri Lankans and the Bangladeshi's get a lot of stick as well and so do the Aussies. My advice: To maintain a healthy and purposeful discussion on this forum, strict action must be taken on the issue I highlighted above
ganeshran Posted February 28, 2011 Posted February 28, 2011 If Paki is racist' date=' what about Indi Commandos?[/quote'] Not racist. But simply stupid.
jibranpatel15 Posted February 28, 2011 Posted February 28, 2011 Abusing should not be allowed at all in public to anyone. Anyone means player/user whoever. Only abuse urself & no one else so please make a strict action against these abusers. Yes if u are against some player/Team u can defend urself but u can't abuse them yaar
Dinx - the Jinx Posted February 28, 2011 Posted February 28, 2011 Abusing should not be allowed at all in public to anyone. Anyone means player/user whoever. Only abuse urself & no one else so please make a strict action against these abusers. Yes if u are against some player/Team u can defend urself but u can't abuse them yaar that cracked me up... what the hell r u tryin to say? BTW, why do u feel the need to post in every other thread
ganeshran Posted February 28, 2011 Posted February 28, 2011 Can we tone down the personal attacks on players? A small request from me. So many threads here on ICF eventually end up with posters making personal attacks on players, and those who are interested to actually debate issues are shouted down. Banter is fun most of the time and we end up getting a good laugh out of the arguments and counter arguments, but can we please draw the line at abusive personal remarks against players?