Lalit Modi, the confidence man

:isalute: to the author, read it the other day. tbh I want IPL to fail now that Modi is not there. Would be nice humble pie for BCCI, I dont see any creativity, long term goals, innovation or leadership coming from anywhere within the BCCI. Modi was the guy who bought so much money aside from IPL, he negotiated the NIKE sponsorship which ended up being more then what the National Brazalian football team gets as well as TV rights etc. When you give you someone your house keys, you have to be responsible for their actions and not just dismiss and brush it under the carpet like BCCI did.

It is being reported that Modi's passport has been revoked by MEA.
The BCCI babus will be feeling a bit uneasy in the coming months, Modi is bound to come back, and when tap klasss afficialsss start questioning him, Modi would have a speech ready to spill all the beans. BCCI :hehe:
Still see that there are fan boyz of an absconding criminal. :hehe:
Not really but you got to give credit where credit is due. Not denying the fact that Modi flouted rules and most probably earned millions illegally for himself, his friends and family. But at the same time I don't think IPL would be such a brand it is now without him. BCCI don't have the business saviness or foresight to make IPL happen or even sustain it. The youtube deal to telecast IPL on youtube was amazing and deserves a lot of credit. The three things I didn't like was - i) Strategy Break/timeouts in between the innings, ii) Over commercializing by branding 4s, 6s, wkts, catches etc. (e.g., karbon kamal catch wtf?), and iii) Player auction which was sort of demeaning the players a bit - a draft kind of system a la American sports such as NFL would have been better. Other than the 3 things which could have been improved, IPL was run professionally and smoothly and there are a lot of things which obviously were done right. And for that credit should go to Modi.

What a wonderful article. The story of his life, his rise, his fame, his fall... all covered in one piece. Very unbiased.

Not really but you got to give credit where credit is due. Not denying the fact that Modi flouted rules and most probably earned millions illegally for himself, his friends and family. But at the same time I don't think IPL would be such a brand it is now without him. BCCI don't have the business saviness or foresight to make IPL happen or even sustain it. The youtube deal to telecast IPL on youtube was amazing and deserves a lot of credit. The three things I didn't like was - i) Strategy Break/timeouts in between the innings, ii) Over commercializing by branding 4s, 6s, wkts, catches etc. (e.g., karbon kamal catch wtf?), and iii) Player auction which was sort of demeaning the players a bit - a draft kind of system a la American sports such as NFL would have been better. Other than the 3 things which could have been improved, IPL was run professionally and smoothly and there are a lot of things which obviously were done right. And for that credit should go to Modi.
Yes. Credit must be given where due. There is no one who could have pulled off the IPL. He did.
Professional when compared against the "lofty" standards of BCCI. And the credit must go to Modi only for letting a professional body like IMG take care of the operation of the league.
LalitKModi on twitter I support Anna Hazare totally.
LOL :hysterical: I guess he thinks Anna Hazare is somehow related to Vijay Hazare and his protest is something to do with cricket :cantstop:

Modi pushed for IPL on youtube and HD cricket broadcasting. This man knows how to make cricket grow with modern standards as he himself wants IPL/cricket to look to the world like NBA and EPL does. BCCI are like village looters, completely ass backwards.

Yes. Credit must be given where due. There is no one who could have pulled off the IPL. He did.
Oh yeah ? No one could create success out of the first BCCI backed cricket league in a country of a billion+ full of cricket fanatics, more than a century after the MLB was founded ? Some of you are blinded by the corrupt jackwagons that control the strings in BCCI. Its not like there's no administrators in the country that still have a conscience.
Oh yeah ? No one could create success out of the first BCCI backed cricket league in a country of a billion+ full of cricket fanatics' date=' more than a century after the MLB was founded ? Some of you are blinded by the corrupt jackwagons that control the strings in BCCI. Its not like there's no administrators in the country that still have a conscience.[/quote'] He pulled it off at the grand scale. He didnt compromise on anything and he executed exactly as he hoped. Doubt anyone of the bcci babus list could do that.
Still see that there are fan boyz of an absconding criminal. :hehe:
Criminal? Do you think the current babus of BCCI are not committing fraud at the moment? Good, bad, Ugly. Man got the job done, and the reason he was brought down was that he took panga with one of the biggest criminal organizations in India - a political party that was in power at the time. Modi didn't want Kochi to get the team, he wanted it to go to gujju-land. Bashing "Mr. UN" on twitter was what led to his downfall. Still, the Kochi team is a slow moving train wreck anyway, i wouldn't be surprised if the whole thing folds up and moves to gujju-land in a couple of years.

We just saw the opening ceremony and empty seats yesterday, despite being the first day of the IPL. The teams weren't even introduced. Some funny lip-synced singing and out-of-sync dancing. There was no buzz at all. I've got my money on Modi.

Oh yeah ? No one could create success out of the first BCCI backed cricket league in a country of a billion+ full of cricket fanatics' date=' more than a century after the MLB was founded ? Some of you are blinded by the corrupt jackwagons that control the strings in BCCI. Its not like there's no administrators in the country that still have a conscience.[/quote'] 1. Didn't we see how Zee's venture went? 2. Do you really think the current administrators have a conscience? 3. Do people with a conscience look for a fall guy to dump every mistake on?

Firstly let me just say that I despise the man but he has lot to offer if kept under a leash. The problem was he was almost given a freehand which wouldn't have been curbed had he not meddled with Congress with Tharoor issue. But there is little doubt of determination of his enterprise of his salesmanship. But he is an egomaniac. So I would want this guy with Indian cricket notwithstanding Kickback which tbh is not abnormal phenomena. I think he can bring lot more money into the game.

^ He has. After he's gone, the change is for all of us to see. There is not much buzz, there are no build-ups. A simple blowhorn tune stolen from South Africa is all we see in the IPL promotion. We might not immediately feel his absence. Someday, when we are down in the dumps, we will. This is the guy I will credit for making India the big-boss of cricket. It was HE who wanted us to stand-up to bullying, tantrums and he took ICC on single-handedly and changed our perception before the world. In his capacity as the VP of BCCI, he did a lot of good for Indian cricket.

Oh yeah ? No one could create success out of the first BCCI backed cricket league in a country of a billion+ full of cricket fanatics' date=' more than a century after the MLB was founded ? Some of you are blinded by the corrupt jackwagons that control the strings in BCCI. Its not like there's no administrators in the country that still have a conscience.[/quote'] Good post. Lalit Modi did well, but let's not forget that he had the backing of the world's richest cricketing body and it is absurd to think that if it weren't for him, IPL wouldn't have been as successful as it is today. For all we know it may even have been better without the tamasha of the auctions and random inclusions of some players in auctions and others having to play for minimum pay etc.