I am not sure about IIT, but almost all top universities in the US have professional counsellors to help students tide over such tough times. I am not saying that all students use them or they are helpful, but at least the stress and pressures on students is recognized and given some outlet. It's not easy for a 20-22 year old to cope with failure, amplified by his surroundings, when all he has been used to is success.
But in this case how is it even failure? The course just got extended thats it. One job went away but there are hundreds of others waiting right? Seriously this is beyond me. Utterly senseless. IMO this guy is no better than the guy who commited suicide after the WC when his fav player Tendulkar failed to shine in the WC final! Get some bloody perspective! Years of hard work and investment down the drain! On a side note: My gf was telling me that in India engineering colleges have acceptance rate less that 10% and lower than even Ivy leagues? Is this true. And iss it also true that students spends upto 2 years in preperatory schools for engineering college and these prep school can have upto 10,000 students?
I think it's a fallacy and a needless generalization that people from IITs lack social skills - I've personally known so many who are perfectly adept - they've probably not had a love life in college but that's pretty much the only social 'skill' they lack. More pertinent to the topic it's also a fallacy that all people from IITs have it made by just studying there. Personally, I realized it when I started grad school at Penn and saw many more IITians at neighboring Drexel than at Penn.
Drexel is class for engineering. Nobody in Pak knows about it but since ive been in Penn Ive found out that its pretty good and has an awesome co-op program. One more thing. South Asians need to not go for 'name' of a college but the quality it offers for a particular field btw IIT iis engineering right or did i just make the prev post thinking sth else

Some of these guys really need to get a grip. I don't understand why someone would put themselves under so much pressure to begin with. Seriously, getting good grades is important and all but this **** is not worth damaging your health for. This enormous stress is simply not sustainable. Sooner or later, its going to lead to burnout.

RIP @student in original post. Huge generalizations by Mariyam (even though she based it on her experience). Its a myth that IIT folks dont have social skills. Mariyam needs to go out and meet some more birds of that feather.

Its the general attitude and culture that is passed down from generations. Nothing more Nothing less The cycle needs to be broken and cracks are slowly appearing with the westernization in India. Even living abroad......all the parents still have the same mentality and force feed their childrens futures.......... 1. Doctor 2. Dentist 3. Engineering 4. phuck off we dont know you ^^ thats the criteria every indian parent goes by in community.

R.I.P. 3 Idiots scenario again. But I would also like to add that cowards like these dont deserve to live. Just because it might somehow reduce his job prospects, he died. That is BS. There are loads of other companies where you would get a job. That might be a reason to be sad but not to give one's life. I also a section of Indian students growing mentally weak nowadays. 30 -50 years ago people used to work off their ass just to gain education. They had to work on the fields and khetis but the students just need to study nowadays and nothing else. Today's student life is not even a fraction difficult to what it was say 30-50 years ago. Everybody is to be blamed and only educational facilities cannot be blamed. Students are also a lot lazier and want everything as they wish and are not ready to fight for their careers as it used to be in the past.

Its the general attitude and culture that is passed down from generations. Nothing more Nothing less The cycle needs to be broken and cracks are slowly appearing with the westernization in India. Even living abroad......all the parents still have the same mentality and force feed their childrens futures.......... 1. Doctor 2. Dentist 3. Engineering 4. phuck off we dont know you ^^ thats the criteria every indian parent goes by in community.
I agree. But the priority in the past was. 1. Doctor/Engineering 2. Dentist 3. IAS 4. Government naukri 4. phuck off we dont know you To be fair enough, it was Doctor/Engineer in the past as the top priority. Then private engineering colleges sprung up in the last 15 years or so and har gali me engineering college ban gaya. Not to mention the donation system that started in private Engineering colleges. Phir engineering was not liked unless from a govt. engineering college and if possible IITs. Phir aaya MBA. But soon MBA colleges started churning out in every nukkad and every gali and MBA degree holders were there in every second house. :giggle: Phir wo bhi gaya kaam se. The most constant favorite of parents have been Dactar Sahib till now. :hatsoff: But private medical colleges are also springing up at a very fast pace in the last decade especially in South India and special donation system seems to be the flavor there. :giggle: Soon Doctors will also be in abundance and it is already happening nowadays. Now, nothing less than MD is accepted by patients especially in case of cities and that too from a govt. medical college. :D Govt. job has always been rare and few and only special candidates with special connections and special bribe can make it. :D So, parents especially with no govt. connections themselves do not hope for a govt. job for their children. They dont mind it though if their children gets one as there is no work and no firing at all in govt. job. :giggle: The problem with India is that parents still go for the safe way. Nobody wants their children to be entrepreneurs, sportsperson or anything else. One reason for that is also because the population here is very large and so very few actually become successful by not playing the safe route. And once anything looks remotely successful everyone seems to be hoarding the same route and destroy the market completely. Unless we somehow stop the massive population growth then these problems would never get fixed. Even now, a lot of the recent developments are not by virtue of Indian market but due to outsourcing from US, UK etc. Indian indigenous market is still very small for such a huge population and so very few can actually grow big in such a market. One other reason is also because Indians dont trust Indian and Indian brands themselves. For example, tum me se kitno ne Videocon ya Onida khareeda hai. Godrej khareeda hoga shayad wo bhi fridge 10-20 purana wala. Naya to fridge bhi log LG ya Samsung khareedte hai. Buying anything Indian seems low fashion nowadays and buying everything firangi is high fashion. :haha: Levis, Peter England, Reebok to har koi khareedta hai amongst branded clothes par Indian brands especially with an uncool name kaun khareedta hai. :D I am not sure how Indian economy would become independent if such a mentality of "firangi over Indian" remains.
Even now, a lot of the recent developments are not by virtue of Indian market but due to outsourcing from US, UK etc. Indian indigenous market is still very small for such a huge population and so very few can actually grow big in such a market. One other reason is also because Indians dont trust Indian and Indian brands themselves. For example, tum me se kitno ne Videocon ya Onida khareeda hai. Godrej khareeda hoga shayad wo bhi fridge 10-20 purana wala. Naya to fridge bhi log LG ya Samsung khareedte hai. Buying anything Indian seems low fashion nowadays and buying everything firangi is high fashion. :haha: Levis, Peter England, Reebok to har koi khareedta hai amongst branded clothes par Indian brands especially with an uncool name kaun khareedta hai. :D I am not sure how Indian economy would become independent if such a mentality of "firangi over Indian" remains.
The economic growth and westernization is shedding light and future into many young kids and parents imo. People are being more independent and conscious about making their own decisions. Things like marriage, culture are slowly starting to degrade(not saying is a bad thing) and turning into formalities in which its direct reflection of the new era of thinking and way of life.
I agree. But the priority in the past was. .
My list is from Australia........shows how much mentality our desi parents bring over the seas. :desiman:
This is really tragic. At the risk of opening a Pandora's box, this problem is mainly with those who do engineering, especially from the top institutes. I understand that many on ICF are also form such institutes, but you guys maybe the odd ones out. Most of these IIT fellas have exaggerated opinions about themselves. They seem to think that all things intelligent start and end with them, just because they cleared the Joint Exam or whatever it is called. Furthermore, most of these guys ( and few gals) are so engrossed in their academics, that they haven't the chance to properly develop their social skills. They pretty much stand out in any public gathering. They can't gel much with anyone apart from their types and most of their conversations with earth ( read : the outside world) revolve around showing others how smart they are. IIT for all the good that it teaches them academically, doesn't prepare them for basic interaction with others. It doesn't teach them any interpersonal skills, nor does it teach them people management. They just churn out automatons who are diffident and inward looking. Don't believe me. Just see how the average IITian interacts with a girl, during a college festival. You know something is amiss when you talk to one. These guys are at ill at ease. I'm not saying that the other non engg colleges are perfect. But they are more in sync with the world outside. PS: Not generalizing, but just stating what I've observed.
Agree. I know a couple of people from my class who made it to IIT - after getting into IIT, one of them changed his signature and started writing the words "IIT" beneath his signature :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: and also, both those guys wouldn't talk to others with a straight face and looked at other students who were in "lesser" colleges with contempt. This is just based on my experiences with a few IITians.

What's so funny about writing IIT underneath the signature? Just saying you went to IIT gives you a lot of preassigned credibility and this guy is using that fact to market himself more smartly.

Day after suicide at IIT-M, blame game on

CHENNAI: Nitin Kumar Reddy's friends were still in shock a day after his suicide. His father Lakshmanamurthy, in his police complaint against the IIT-M administration and his son's project guide, has said that his son called him in his mobile on Wednesday afternoon before he died. He sounded depressed. Lakshmanamurthy pacified his son over the phone and assured that he will visit him in Chennai and talk to his guide and professors about the problem. Lakshmanamurthy said in his complaint that he informed his relative Sudhakar Reddy who was also the local guardian of his son. He asked Sudhakar Reddy to go see his son. But it was already too late. Nitin's hostel warden, professor Sathyanarayanan, called Lakshmanamurthy and asked him to rush to Chennai at once. Fearing the worst, Lakshmanamurthy rushed to Delhi airport when Sudhakar Reddy called him and said Nitin was dead. ( IIT student commits suicide on campus ) Lakshmanamurthy has said that the IIT-M administration and Nitin's guide PV Manivannan should have informed him and his son earlier about the delay in filing the project. He said that Nitin had been told suddenly at the very end that his project would be extended. Based on the complaint, the police have registered a case under Section 174 (unnatural death) of Criminal Procedure Code. "We will pursue and alter the case after detailed interrogation," a police officer said. Meanwhile, the family members and the relatives of the victim Nitin Kumar Reddy staged a protest at Government Hospital in Royapettah demanding action against the IIT-M officials. But they were pacified by police personnel. Nitin's body was handed over to his parents after an autopsy, who took it to Kuthalapattu near Chittoor in Andhra Pradesh. When asked as to what the Institute in general and Guidance and Counselling Unit (GCU) in particular was doing to address the situation and to improve the response against such incidents, dean of students Govardhan M said, "Why are you always reporting negative news about IIT Madras? We also have the maximum number of patents but you didn't report that. But you would want to report the death of 3 out of 5000 students which is statistically not important. Why don't you go to other engineering institutes and find out how many died there. Why only IIT?" He went on to say, "Do you know the student who died yesterday had a medical history of psychological problems from childhood? But obviously you don't want to investigate." But he quickly corrected the "childhood" part to say, "We have come to know from his friends that when he could not clear JEE in an attempt, he went into depression."
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/chennai/Day-after-suicide-at-IIT-M-blame-game-on/articleshow/8172860.cms
The economic growth and westernization is shedding light and future into many young kids and parents imo. People are being more independent and conscious about making their own decisions. Things like marriage' date=' culture are slowly starting to degrade(not saying is a bad thing) and turning into formalities in which its direct reflection of the new era of thinking and way of life.[/quote'] Cannot deny about the independent thinking part at all. But what I was saying is that the Indian economy and current job scenario is not as indigenous as it looks. Most high paying jobs or businesses in India are still related somewhat on outsourcing and India's own indigenous market is not fully developed. It is not only the case with India but with China too where the market is dependent on exports and industrial outsourcing. But China has followed up its development by investing in various sectors inside China and gradually developing its independent market which India is perhaps missing out a bit. Regarding economic development too, India's economic development is not as real as it seems. The standard of life is increasing but living costs has increased substantially from what it used to be say 15 years ago. Properties has increased upto 10-20 times from those days and so have prices of most daily goods. Previously people used to know that with every budget prices of cars, electronics and other items would increase but nowadays exactly the opposite is happening. Earning has increased but so have the living costs. If earnings have increased 5-10 times then living costs have multiplied to 10-20 times and so it is not that great of an achievement to be frank. We have developed but we have not been able to plan the development properly especially the market. The more money there is in the market the more rapidly are the prices of every commodity increasing. But the govt. does not have the power and authority and is highly corrupt to make to the right investments and control these things like China is doing. China is planning for the future and concentrating on indigenous production and consumption and employment recently and is also controlling inflation but Indian govt. is too weak and corrupt to implement such things. http://mobius.blog.franklintempleton.com/2011/03/28/china-part-i-–-planning-for-its-future/

Mariyam, I seriously doubt anybody would look down on anyone else because they went to a lesser college. That just sounds like a load of crap. These people who view others who didn't go to as prestigious universities as them will get caught out very easily when they join the workforce. There's absolutely no room in a team for arrogant drama queens. Either fit in or **** off. It's as simple as that.

@ViruRulez Peter England is an Indian brand' date=' named that way for the same reason.[/quote'] Did not know that. Anyways it is a very good brand and I hardly remember purchasing any shirt outside that brand in the last decade at least. But I purchase for the quality, comfort and the lasting of the shirts compared to most other brands. Anyways as you said it was named as such to attract the Indian customers who will only go for a cool non-Indian sounding name. So, it also proves my reasoning that Indian customers like buying firangi brands and so the manufacturers used a firangi name for the brand. :giggle: Is John Players an Indian brand too using a firangi name for Indian customers attraction. :hmmm: Anyways JP is a crappy brand and never bought a second shirt after my first JP shirt got discolored in a few months. It was not comfortable too. :headshake: