punjabi_khota Posted May 6, 2011 Posted May 6, 2011 Mariyam, I seriously doubt anybody would look down on anyone else because they went to a lesser college. That just sounds like a load of crap. These people who view others who didn't go to as prestigious universities as them will get caught out very easily when they join the workforce. There's absolutely no room in a team for arrogant drama queens. Either fit in or **** off. It's as simple as that. You have to remember that the age of these kids. Most are 17 year olds, who are suddenly celebrities in their family/neighborhood/towns because they cracked JEE. Some of these people will have inflated egos, which may or may not be justified in long term. I personally think you can do a lot worse than being a little arrogant in life, its not that big of a deal. :musicman: You find a similar attitude among some Ivy-leaguers here in the US too. :dontknow: I work along some Frenchmen who can't stop talking about how hard Math is at Ecole Polytechnic. So its a global phenomenon :acute:
Aaku Posted May 6, 2011 Posted May 6, 2011 :hmmmm2: how can someone be cute and creepy at the same time.. wahi tou game hai !!!
Anonymous Posted May 6, 2011 Posted May 6, 2011 Sad. R.I.P. kiddo and may you understand. My Dad wanted me to do IIT. I gave him a spliff, asked him to chill and stop kidding himself. :hysterical::hysterical: btw...Its the Joint Entrance exam isnt it?? P.S. sorry to all the ones that are involved in a serious debate..didnt mean to derail the thread :nervous:
achilles Posted May 6, 2011 Posted May 6, 2011 Firstly, may the soul of the boy rest in peace. Now a few observations- 1. The guide was doing his job (or was maybe having a bad day). A person must however be accountable for his actions and must think before he says or acts in the manner he choose to. 2. The student who committed suicide seems to be likened to an idiot by many. The way I look at it, maybe he wasn't from an absolutely awesome family with a strong financial background. 3. The job might have meant the world to him and this was maybe his only chance he thought of getting to work there. 4. None of us were in his shoes. So we should not be judgemental. 5. We've all come up from this system. We all know it has more good than bad. There is however need for an overhaul.
ViruRulez Posted May 6, 2011 Posted May 6, 2011 Firstly, may the soul of the boy rest in peace. Now a few observations- 1. The guide was doing his job (or was maybe having a bad day). A person must however be accountable for his actions and must think before he says or acts in the manner he choose to. 2. The student who committed suicide seems to be likened to an idiot by many. The way I look at it, maybe he wasn't from an absolutely awesome family with a strong financial background. 3. The job might have meant the world to him and this was maybe his only chance he thought of getting to work there. 4. None of us were in his shoes. So we should not be judgemental. 5. We've all come up from this system. We all know it has more good than bad. There is however need for an overhaul. :WTF: IIT students get educational loans most easily. Financial background is a non-issue once he/she gets selected for IIT. And an IIT passout would get a more than decent job any day of the year. Job market is anyways quite good and an IIT passout would land a job just by virtue of his/her resume if not anything else. So, cannot take the case of financial problems there too. And no job is more important than one's life.
triam Posted May 6, 2011 Posted May 6, 2011 A decade back, yaar! I still visit Philadelphia off and on - are White Dog and Black Cat still around? And the coffee shop next to them on Sansom? And of course, there was Smokey Joes! White Dog is there not black cat. I just moved to the suburbs (6 months back, West Chester), Penn is awesome though.
Mariyam Posted May 6, 2011 Posted May 6, 2011 Looks like I was too harsh on IITians when I said they lack any social skills. I retract that statement. They do have the necessary social skills to download movies from the internet and solve 10 page equations. Bravo
ViruRulez Posted May 6, 2011 Posted May 6, 2011 Looks like I was too harsh on IITians when I said they lack any social skills. I retract that statement. They do have the necessary social skills to download movies from the internet and solve 10 page equations. Bravo Are you one of the female contestants in Beauty and the Geek show by any chance. :D (I mean the Indian version :P ) You sound like those girls at least in the above comment. :haha: Out b4 you malign me as an IITian as I am not an IITian or any engineer by any chance. :vroam:
f.b.m Posted May 6, 2011 Posted May 6, 2011 You actually knew what you wanted to be? Well congratulations sir. It doesn't matter if you actually ended up doing what you wanted. At least you wanted something. I never knew what I wanted to be. Till date. How can some one in 10th or 12th know what they want to be? I find this whole notion ridiculous. I mean what does one know about surgery or architecture or what not to choose that as a career. Everything is hearsay at that age. I've had the good fortune of interacting with Eunice D'souza during my jr college days. She had some rather strong views on this and even went on to challenge the " British educational system". Unfortunately for her, the book she authored on the topic has the unique distinction of being banned across the state; the first ( and probably only) one not involving a religious or historical figure. A point she never forgets to mention. She calls the degree education a painful marriage from which there is no divorce. She advocates a system where "wholesome" overall knowledge, covering all disciplines is shared till the 15th standard and then students can apply to what ever company they feel like. The companies will conduct aptitude test and train the students. Her idea challenged the very foundations of corporate job- educational degree nexus as we have it today. It was revolutionary, but very interesting. What book is it? I want to check it out. Are her views similar to Ken Robinson's by any chance?
youngindia Posted May 6, 2011 Posted May 6, 2011 They seem to think that all things intelligent start and end with them' date=' just because they cleared the Joint Exam or whatever it is called. Furthermore, most of these guys ( and few gals) are so engrossed in their academics, that they haven't the chance to properly develop their social skills.[/quote'] The issue here is about ability to handle problems in life. if the kid had been brought up with the perspective that problems and obstacles will often come in the way of attaining goals but its up to him to overcome those obstacles and attain those goals, he may have to learnt to treat ups and downs better and started adapting to adult life better. he could had deeper problems which require therapy.its clear he had a serious problem handling downs. ppl with socials skills do not NECESSARILY show these skills It applies to everyone else. you like to talk with those types who share your intersts,its just that the bigger mass of people share quotidean conversations. i am not sure fitting it into a bigger audience is necssarily an advantage unless you know how to harness to your advantage like a star entertainer or gifted networker. you can up being a chit chatter whiling away your time for nothing with unconstructive conversations that serve no purpose, except timepass.your genuine friends will always be a select few. yes types like intellectuals and technologists would generally have a problem mingling among the crowd anywhwre in the world except for a gifted few.but not all intellectuals are from iit and not ALL iitians are genuine intellectuals.so its not a IIT thing. they like to talk about subjects they are passionate about ,not necessarily to show how smart. some may do. comunication has a role no doubt .but many people can build an hyperbole on its improtance. The strengths of some ppl are different.if they find they are not great with people, they may try to compensate in other ways. not all aspects of a business is about social skills. roles and responsibilities differ. In the professional world,its about who is needed for achieving business goals and people with high level of knowledge and skill but not exactly great social skills, can get through by being "game changers" in aspects of the job like technical,strategy etc.What we call in cricketing terms "matchwinners" these guys are highly valued by any company. people even with a disruptive influence in the team have stayed for a very long time because they are highly talented unless their luck ran out. In business,you have to handle team meetings, corporate meetings and professional presenations. not girls or silly conversations :) i have hired people on basis of how potentially useful they are going to be to my project.not on how they talk ! relevant only for higher posts. women are to blame for this. :hysterical: not entirely impossible.you may be fascinated by the field without knowing it in depth. but its not the best time. yes. early developers are rewarded by the system currently. late developers have to catch up later. in USA,ppl can change majors even in the middle of a degree.flexibility and options like that may help.
youngindia Posted May 7, 2011 Posted May 7, 2011 India's own indigenous market is not fully developed. It is not only the case with India but with China too where the market is dependent on exports and industrial outsourcing. are you talking about production by indian/chinese companies rather foreign investment and MNC plants in india/china ? countries have gradually grown from low end of the chain to high end of the chain traditionally.singapore,taiwan,south korea have all gone through this transition. china and india are following up pretty late due to higher complexity in size and popualtion. high end talent and work will be done by the developed countries. its ridiculous to expect videocon to thrash samsung .its like expecting afgahnistan to thrash australia in cricket in the next 10 years. we are like the minnows as far as high end work is concerned. we may be at low to mid end work while china may be doing more of mid end work and starting slightly in high end work . don't forget the supporting system like premier universities,r & d labs and industry-academia linkage that will sustain a pool of the best world class talent. that's precisely why its so difficult for india or china to come anywhere near the US for the next 30 years atleast
flamy Posted May 7, 2011 Posted May 7, 2011 :hysterical::hysterical: btw...Its the Joint Entrance exam isnt it?? P.S. sorry to all the ones that are involved in a serious debate..didnt mean to derail the thread :nervous: exactly :winky:
Params7 Posted May 7, 2011 Posted May 7, 2011 Overpopulation leads to extreme competition. Always and there is no way around it. Infact people dying is nature's of sorting it out right? But I simply blame the parents here most of all. I hate Indian parents who make it so the kid feels his life is over if he fails an exam. Now they're gonna repent for life. Not everybody has the caliber to excel in hardcore studies.
Params7 Posted May 7, 2011 Posted May 7, 2011 Most of these IIT fellas have exaggerated opinions about themselves. They seem to think that all things intelligent start and end with them, just because they cleared the Joint Exam or whatever it is called. Furthermore, most of these guys ( and few gals) are so engrossed in their academics, that they haven't the chance to properly develop their social skills. They pretty much stand out in any public gathering. They can't gel much with anyone apart from their types and most of their conversations with earth ( read : the outside world) revolve around showing others how smart they are. IIT for all the good that it teaches them academically, doesn't prepare them for basic interaction with others. It doesn't teach them any interpersonal skills, nor does it teach them people management. They just churn out automatons who are diffident and inward looking. AHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAA OH WOW. You're a female right? And attacking the social skills and ego of engineers/IIT students? This is class. You seem to be the type easily seduced by those alpha bro's from art colleges :cantstop: You do realize if these engineers did spend their time clubbing and attending every party in the campus they wouldn't pass their tests with good enough numbers and generally fail in life? Right? Or are you saying they just spend so much time studying their asses off because they just love to, not that *the system* demands that from them? And engineers have built everything around you. You're probably posting looking at an LCD screen because of people like them who design the technology around such things. Can't blame them for having a bit of an ego.
EnterTheVoid Posted May 7, 2011 Posted May 7, 2011 Looks like I was too harsh on IITians when I said they lack any social skills. I retract that statement. They do have the necessary social skills to download movies from the internet and solve 10 page equations. Bravo Do you live with your parents or have you left the nest? You seem like you've been wrapped in a nice ball of cotton wool, completely oblivious to what's happening outside the four corners of Mumbai. Btw, flouting your ignorance is not "cool"
achilles Posted May 7, 2011 Posted May 7, 2011 :WTF: IIT students get educational loans most easily. Financial background is a non-issue once he/she gets selected for IIT. And an IIT passout would get a more than decent job any day of the year. Job market is anyways quite good and an IIT passout would land a job just by virtue of his/her resume if not anything else. So, cannot take the case of financial problems there too. And no job is more important than one's life. No job is more important than life, but I guess we will never know why a brilliant IITian, who might be an analytically and intellectually astute student, took such an extreme step. To me, I really think there is more than meets the eye. Why would a student from such a distinguished institute commit suicide just coz his teacher refused to accept his project?
Stuge Posted May 7, 2011 Posted May 7, 2011 Well,I was trying everything to stay away from this topic. .Just saying he/she was an idiot or selffish doesn't really do much. Recently, a friend of mine committed sucide and He had a breakoff with his gf .Girl's family and his family had lot to do with it (I came to know about this part after he commited suicide ).15 days before, he wrote some strange lines on his facebook wall and I was quite surpirised, when I read those linesk .All this continued for about two -three days (like posting links of one of the most saddistic songs one can ever listen). During this all this , I contacted his best friend and even family members ,but for some reason they couldn't understand, what this guy was going through .I tried to reach him too but failed . I'm dead sure all the events from the past and present caused Negative synergy that lead to such decision ,but right guidance could have saved him too :( RIP !!