Sachin Tendulkar or Vivian Richards?

Which match did he save on his own? Maybe 112 against England, but where are those many other matches? :confused:
It would be interesting ( - read - another joke) to see how he counters these cold numbers.
Lara played 131 matches and was part of winning team in 31 matches. In those matches he scored 8 centuries. Compare this to Tendulkar's 20 centuries in 62 wins. His hundreds include these innings
213	468	2	v Australia 	Kingston 	13-Mar-99	Test # 1451
191	271	1	v Zimbabwe 	Bulawayo 	12-Nov-03	Test # 1669
167	256	2	v England 	Georgetown 	17-Mar-94	Test # 1254
153* 	355	4	v Australia 	Bridgetown 	26-Mar-99	Test # 1453
147	247	1	v New Zealand 	Wellington 	10-Feb-95	Test # 1289
132	223	2	v Australia 	Perth 	        1-Feb-97	Test # 1353
130	166	1	v Pakistan 	Bridgetown 	26-May-05	Test # 1752
120	169	2	v Bangladesh 	Kingston 	4-Jun-04	Test # 1703

His innings of 213 and 153 can be considered as those matches won single handedly (although in Test # 1451, bowlers dismissed Australia for low scores and WI won by 10 wickets). Where are those so called many matches which he won on his own? His effort in 4th innings in saved matches
Runs 	BF 	Pos 	Inns 	Opposition 	Ground 	Start Date
0	12	4	4	v Australia 	Brisbane 	27-Nov-92
3	17	3	4	v India 	Nagpur 	        1-Dec-94
43	77	3	4	v Australia 	St John's 	8-Apr-95
20	30	1	4	v England 	Nottingham 	10-Aug-95
13* 	59	3	4	v England 	Bridgetown 	12-Mar-98
8	59	4	4	v South Africa 	Bridgetown 	29-Mar-01
1	7	4	4	v Zimbabwe 	Harare 	        4-Nov-03
86	138	4	4	v South Africa 	Cape Town 	2-Jan-04
0	7	4	4	v India 	St John's 	2-Jun-06
and in 3rd inning
5	17	caught 	3	v Pakistan 	Lahore 	6-Dec-90
19	26	lbw 	3	v Pakistan 	St John's 	1-May-93
74	119	caught 	3	v New Zealand 	St John's 	27-Apr-96
78	83	caught 	3	v India 	Kingston 	6-Mar-97
19	57	caught 	3	v India 	Port of Spain 	14-Mar-97
115	207	caught 	3	v Sri Lanka 	Kingstown 	20-Jun-97
112	158	r.o. 	3	v England 	Manchester 	3-Aug-00
45	82	caught 	3	v South Africa 	Georgetown 	9-Mar-01
120	307	lbw 	3	v India 	Gros Islet 	10-Jun-06

Which match did he save on his own? Maybe 112 against England, but where are those many other matches? :confused:

Awesome job. Damned statistics. Damned facts. Don't let them get in the way of a really cool-sounding hypothesis. Also, I wonder how many of those Lara-saves were in dead rubbers.
His hundreds include these innings
213	468	2	v Australia 	Kingston 	13-Mar-99	Test # 1451
191	271	1	v Zimbabwe 	Bulawayo 	12-Nov-03	Test # 1669
167	256	2	v England 	Georgetown 	17-Mar-94	Test # 1254
153* 	355	4	v Australia 	Bridgetown 	26-Mar-99	Test # 1453
147	247	1	v New Zealand 	Wellington 	10-Feb-95	Test # 1289
132	223	2	v Australia 	Perth 	        1-Feb-97	Test # 1353
130	166	1	v Pakistan 	Bridgetown 	26-May-05	Test # 1752
120	169	2	v Bangladesh 	Kingston 	4-Jun-04	Test # 1703

Runs 	BF 	Pos 	Inns 	Opposition 	Ground 	Start Date
0	12	4	4	v Australia 	Brisbane 	27-Nov-92
3	17	3	4	v India 	Nagpur 	        1-Dec-94
43	77	3	4	v Australia 	St John's 	8-Apr-95
20	30	1	4	v England 	Nottingham 	10-Aug-95
13* 	59	3	4	v England 	Bridgetown 	12-Mar-98
8	59	4	4	v South Africa 	Bridgetown 	29-Mar-01
1	7	4	4	v Zimbabwe 	Harare 	        4-Nov-03
86	138	4	4	v South Africa 	Cape Town 	2-Jan-04
0	7	4	4	v India 	St John's 	2-Jun-06
and in 3rd inning
5	17	caught 	3	v Pakistan 	Lahore 	6-Dec-90
19	26	lbw 	3	v Pakistan 	St John's 	1-May-93
74	119	caught 	3	v New Zealand 	St John's 	27-Apr-96
78	83	caught 	3	v India 	Kingston 	6-Mar-97
19	57	caught 	3	v India 	Port of Spain 	14-Mar-97
115	207	caught 	3	v Sri Lanka 	Kingstown 	20-Jun-97
112	158	r.o. 	3	v England 	Manchester 	3-Aug-00
45	82	caught 	3	v South Africa 	Georgetown 	9-Mar-01
120	307	lbw 	3	v India 	Gros Islet 	10-Jun-06

Kingston in Australia, Bridgetown in Pakistan , Port of Spain in India, .... :hmmmm2:
Lara has won ' date= saved more test matches single handedly compared to Tendulkar, he had the appetite to play bigger innings , tendulkar doesn't have a triple ton , same logic for me Sehwag is a match winner who can single handedly win test matches then any one in our team, strike rate, appetite for huge scores.Tendulkar flourished as a test bat in last 3 years, saving a few and winning a few matches, I would choose Dravid before Tendulkar in a test match anywhere in the world, also care to look at fourth inning averages.
Wrong!. Try again. Tendulkar flourished in the last 3 years same as Sehwag, Dravid and Laxman flourished. We had an awesome team and an awesome captain. Sachin socred more runs at a better average in the 90s without team winning. Because we had a below average team Comparing team performances while talking of individuals=lack of IQ, common sense and cricketing knowledge
Wrong!. Try again. Tendulkar flourished in the last 3 years same as Sehwag' date=' Dravid and Laxman flourished. We had an awesome team and an awesome captain. Sachin socred more runs at a better average in the 90s without team winning. [b']Because we had a below average team Comparing team performances while talking of individuals=lack of IQ, common sense and cricketing knowledge
Today in post match discussion, Manjrekar also said something similar that SRT had almost no support in first 7 years. And funny thing is Manjrekar was part of that team!!!
Today in post match discussion' date=' Manjrekar also said something similar that SRT had almost no support in first 7 years. And funny thing is Manjrekar was part of that team!!![/quote'] If you check some of the matches we played lately, would Viru's amazing 86 have won us the match if not for Sachin finishing it? Similarly, would Laxman have been able to finsioh matches if not for good starts from our openers? Nowadays we have agressive opening players, Sachin and Dravid in the middle and Laxman and dhoni as finishers. In the 90s, Sachin was expected to perform all these roles himself, be agressive, score big and finish innings. No wonder he came short so many times
If you check some of the matches we played lately' date=' would Viru's amazing 86 have won us the match if not for Sachin finishing it? Similarly, would Laxman have been able to finsioh matches if not for good starts from our openers? Nowadays we have agressive opening players, Sachin and Dravid in the middle and Laxman and dhoni as finishers. In the 90s, Sachin was expected to perform all these roles himself, be agressive, score big and finish innings. No wonder he came short so many times[/quote'] Good post.

Tendulkars brilliance or genius to me is , his motivation , longitivity, focus, exceptional talent, he had his times when he looked mortal.He took almost 6 years I think to get an ODI 100,he was a bad captain, he made Warne look like a school boy bowler,many times we have seen his batting bordering on perfection , his innovation, genius, centuries scored where he eschewed playing strokes thru the offside,he wasn't the best test batsmen in terms of saving or winning test matches until last 3 to 4 years.Manjrekar very correctly made a statemnt thru that period, along with other players,getting 100 -100 is getting to him , last few innings getting out to deliveries he would normally play in a different way, he is human, what makes him g8 is his humility , keeping a straight head, and he seems to be a very good human being.

Sachin is great but for test matches i would rate LAXMAN and DRAVID higher than him... and please don't comment on longivity(number of games played) as that is by no means related in comparision of greats as if that were to be considered SIR DONALD BRADMAN will become a mediocore batsmen... I know there will be many here who would ridicule my views but i think laxman and dravid have played lots more innings under pressure than sachin has and that makes them better than sachin in tests... however in ODI's there is no comparision to Sachin... :hatsoff:

And when was the last time Dravid played an innings under " pressure " ? Hope you dont consider his recent century as a pressure knock with plenty of other batsmen easily scoring a ton as well .
Nai yaar, test me Sachin ne jab bhi hundred mara hai, tab koi pressure tha hi nahi. He's so intelligent that he chose 51 pressure-less innings and scored a 100 in it. :hatsoff:
People are ridiculed when they present their opinion without any basis in fact. Unless you can prove your point, it just becomes another statement As I have said, with Laxman and Dravid, you remember their success. With Sachin, he has reached a level when one remembers his failures only. So you 'feel' that Dravid or Laxman play better under pressure even if it their 2-3 innings which you remember where they did so. Similarly you 'feel' Sachin fails under pressuere because you remember his 2-3 innings where he failed. Human mind is a strange thing

Richards .... if he was less obsessed about dominating the bowlers and a little more about stats, he could have had even better numbers :P

Richards .... if he was less obsessed about dominating the bowlers and a little more about stats' date=' he could have had even better numbers :P[/quote'] Like these? [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QX3ZnrZHKpM]Sachin Tendulkar 38- HAMMERS Glenn McGrath into oblivion-MAGIC ASSAULT FROM THE GOD OF CRICKET - YouTube[/ame] [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UhqDBJ6-q-Q]Sachin Tendulkar 52 (40) vs Pakistan at Sharjah 1991 - YouTube[/ame] :P
People are ridiculed when they present their opinion without any basis in fact. Unless you can prove your point, it just becomes another statement As I have said, with Laxman and Dravid, you remember their success. With Sachin, he has reached a level when one remembers his failures only. So you 'feel' that Dravid or Laxman play better under pressure even if it their 2-3 innings which you remember where they did so. Similarly you 'feel' Sachin fails under pressuere because you remember his 2-3 innings where he failed. Human mind is a strange thing
i am not here to prove my point by showing statistics like ICFers like rett and vibhash and others do cause i believe that statistics don't speak the whole story... having watched the game since 1995 and watching all INDIAN test matches without miss i have seen the way RD and LAX approach their innings under pressure and the same time i never critcized sachin for that but in my opinion i liked more number of innings played by the other guys better under pressure... yes some by sachin too but if u ask me to give statistics i am not gonna search for those as my opinion is purely based on all those games i tirelessly saw on tv and in the stadiums and not on mere stats which sometimes dont show the whole picture
Like these? :P
I guess, I had never seen that and learned something new Wow, they even wear colored clothes in tests .... in ODIS, the SR*avg shows little