zen Posted July 1, 2011 Posted July 1, 2011 I would like to go India' date=' but my parents have told me to delay it until next year due to some problems back home. I asked them to tell me what it is, but they didn't. They said to try and find something here in the mean time.[/quote'] I hope you or your family haven't taken huge loan to finance your education. I would be worried if that's the case, if not then there is not much to worry about as you still have a long road ahead
WC2011INDIA Posted July 1, 2011 Posted July 1, 2011 I hope you or your family haven't taken huge loan to finance your education. I would be worried if that's the case' date=' if not then there is not much to worry about as you still have a long road ahead[/quote'] No. My dad paid for 1st and 2nd year. I paid some of 3rd year and he paid remaining amount. I paid for 4th year myself from the salary I earned during my summer job in 2009.
Rajiv Posted July 1, 2011 Posted July 1, 2011 ^^ In that case, just find a job - anything decent. Try a Call Center like Rogers or bell
Cricketics Posted July 4, 2011 Posted July 4, 2011 WC2011INDIA, why don't you join some consultancy. I don't know exactly about Canada, but I have many Indian friends who have joined consultancy in varioius parts of U.S and have gotten job eventually. May be that can do the trick for you. They prepare you for interviews and stuff and guarantee you job too I heard they give you stay and stuff.
WC2011INDIA Posted July 4, 2011 Posted July 4, 2011 WC2011INDIA, why don't you join some consultancy. I don't know exactly about Canada, but I have many Indian friends who have joined consultancy in varioius parts of U.S and have gotten job eventually. May be that can do the trick for you. They prepare you for interviews and stuff and guarantee you job too I heard they give you stay and stuff. You mean like career coaching? I am not sure about stay and stuff though. Never heard of a consultancy providing you accomodation.
Rajiv Posted July 4, 2011 Posted July 4, 2011 ^^He means, get help from a recruiting agency who will get u a job..not a bad idea since my chandigarh friend got it the same way..they take their cut for 1 year and then he became permanent
Rajiv Posted July 4, 2011 Posted July 4, 2011 just dont trust the kanedians :good: kyun..kisna dil tod diya kya?, if it was 11 years ago online..then I am sorry :giggle:
Guest Shivani Posted July 4, 2011 Posted July 4, 2011 kyun..kisna dil tod diya kya?' date=' if it was 11 years ago online..then I am sorry :giggle:[/quote'] woh zakhm ab tak nahi bhare rajiv 11 saal qaafi nahi thay :girlcry:
Rajiv Posted July 4, 2011 Posted July 4, 2011 woh zakhm ab tak nahi bhare rajiv 11 saal qaafi nahi thay :girlcry: What will it take? 11 X 2 to mend it all.:icflove:
Guest Shivani Posted July 4, 2011 Posted July 4, 2011 What will it take? 11 X 2 to mend it all.:icflove: will take not eleven x two but youuuuuu hai koi jawab? kaho? chup kyun ho? jawab do?
Cricketics Posted July 4, 2011 Posted July 4, 2011 You mean like career coaching? I am not sure about stay and stuff though. Never heard of a consultancy providing you accomodation. Yes as Rajiv added, they will find you the job take certain amount upto one year or whatever you contract is with them. But once Company where you working at decided to do your h1, than you can tell your consultancy to "phack off" and you will keep whatever you make.
Rajiv Posted July 4, 2011 Posted July 4, 2011 will take not eleven x two but youuuuuu hai koi jawab? kaho? chup kyun ho? jawab do? :give_heart:
Sir_Afridi Posted July 4, 2011 Posted July 4, 2011 WC2011INDIA, why don't you join some consultancy. I don't know exactly about Canada, but I have many Indian friends who have joined consultancy in varioius parts of U.S and have gotten job eventually. May be that can do the trick for you. They prepare you for interviews and stuff and guarantee you job too I heard they give you stay and stuff. Consultancy fraud dont work in Canada. faking resumes & work experiences and asking friends to give telephone interviews only work in us.
Cricketics Posted July 4, 2011 Posted July 4, 2011 Consultanc is not really a fraud setup here. It's really popular here. Most of my Indian friends, especailly south Indian students here all go through it and end up getting jobs in 4-5 months.
panesarv Posted July 4, 2011 Posted July 4, 2011 Employment agencies can help sometimes. I got a summer part-time job through them
EnterTheVoid Posted July 4, 2011 Posted July 4, 2011 WC2011, get yourself some cocaine and hookers son and your problems will sort themselves out.
Rajiv Posted July 4, 2011 Posted July 4, 2011 WC2011' date=' get yourself some cocaine and hookers son and your problems will sort themselves out.[/quote'] ..he has to move the US then
Desi Cartman Posted July 5, 2011 Posted July 5, 2011 Check this out http://www.firstpost.com/world/get-outside-of-your-comfort-zone-says-salesforce-coms-anshu-sharma-21429.html PS: he is my brother :aha:
debachat Posted July 5, 2011 Posted July 5, 2011 Try living close to border. In case of medical emergency' date=' come to USA because you will probably die while waiting for the doctor in the ER in Canada.[/quote'] And in the US you will die anyways....LoL - either looking at the bill or by not being able to pay that bill - I have lived in both places - currently in Toronto for the last 5 years. Was in US for a long time as well - but after living in Canada for this long - couldnt imagine how I could live in the US. And yes - I chose not to live in US. never applied for a Green Card and never had the intent. Here is my summary - take it for what it is 1. if you are planning to save a lot of money - Canada is not the place unless you are sitting in the executive suite.... 2. Salary may not be comparable for the same job. Be prepared to manage expectation 3. Taxes are high. 4. Healthcare is free. And yes - you wait for non-emergency procedure but you do so in the US as well. And no - if you are dying - you will be taken care of...but for that you have to be really dying. Broken hand or leg is not the case for expediting things. 5. People are much friendlier. Much much friendlier. Exceptions are everywhere...but statistically 6. They dont frown upon immigrants. Immigrants are not considered liability. 7. People who live here - belong here. There is a association that goes beyond finding the best "deals". If I have to save a few hundred dollars - I may drive down for a good deal - but I am not looking for deals all the time. 8. Work-life balance is much better. People do take vacations. 9. Unlike popular belief - Canada is not always cold. Its like many of the cities in US and even better than some in terms of weather. Summers are great. 10. Very diverse population and unlike a NY where individual cultures lose their identity - Toronto encourages assimilation of cultures with individual expression!!!