carnish Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 Channel 9 speed guns look a bit high around 5k' date=' while Ten speed guns look a bit low around same 5K. Otherwise, Yadav and Ishant''s highest pace is around 146-147 which they had clocked on Neo speed guns consistently in India while on same Neo speed guns Finn clocked up to 153K, but they were shown up to 152 there, 5k up. While Yadav yesterday on Ten speed guns was sh own fastest at around 141, about 5K less. That is my observation.[/quote'] But doesnot it happen that some days bowlers have off days depending on wicket and bowl slow .. Umesh must be rusty in the new season and hence bowled slow.. why blame the speed meter??
jairamesh Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 Here is an example, (I know not the most accurate) but provides decent indication for the difference, and remember it was the same against West Indies. 1st Test Eng v Ind 2011, Ind 1st innings, Broad's 5th Over (pretty warmed up by then): Broad to Mukund, no run, 88.8 mph, pushed right across the left-hander, who leaves alone 22.2 Broad to Mukund, no run, 88.1 mph, fairly wide and full again, this time Mukund has a drive, the ball bouncing to extra cover 22.3 Broad to Mukund, no run, 87.4 mph, curving in appreciably through the air, the ball takes the inside half of the bat and rolls to leg 22.4 Broad to Mukund, no run, 83.4 mph, this one holds its line outside off, Mukund shoulders arms 22.5 Broad to Mukund, no run, 86.8 mph, Broad keeps Mukund deep in the crease with a back-of-a-length delivery, defended to cover 22.6 Broad to Mukund, no run, 86.9 mph, pushed firmly to cover to end the over Over average: 87 mph ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Now, against SA, England batted first two sessions of the day, final session SA are batting, hence Broad should be steaming in for final two hours play: His 5th over: 9.1 Broad to Amla, no run, 82.3 mph, fended a little into the gully from the crease 9.2 Broad to Amla, no run, 84.1 mph, full and swinging away, well wide 9.3 Broad to Amla, no run, 84.6 mph, off stump this time, blocked back to the bowler 9.4 Broad to Amla, no run, 83.4 mph, full and Amla for the first time really, coming right out to meet the ball and blocking into the covers 9.5 Broad to Amla, no run, 86.6 mph, length ball angled to gully 9.6 Broad to Amla, no run, 85.5 mph, full and tucked to cover, a little awkwardly but kept out nevertheless Over average: 84 mph
jairamesh Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 Similarly Broad's 1st over against Ind, SA and WI: vs Ind 1st, Ind 1st Innings 14.1 Broad to Mukund, 1 no ball 14.1 Broad to Mukund, no run, 84.6 mph 14.2 Broad to Mukund, no run, 87.2 mph 14.3 Broad to Mukund, FOUR, 87.7 mph 14.4 Broad to Mukund, no run, 89.4 mph 14.5 Broad to Mukund, no run, 90.1 mph 14.6 Broad to Mukund, no run, 89.2 mph vs SA 1st Test, SA 1st Innings 1.1 Broad to Smith, no run, 81.0 mph 1.2 Broad to Smith, no run, 82.5 mph 1.3 Broad to Smith, no run, 84.8 mph 1.4 Broad to Smith, no run, 83.2 mph 1.5 Broad to Smith, no run, 83.7 mph 1.6 Broad to Smith, no run, 84.1 mph vs WI 1st Test, WI 1st Innings 1.1 Broad to Powell, no run, 83.7 mph 1.2 Broad to Powell, no run, 83.9 mph 1.3 Broad to Powell, no run, 83.9 mph 1.4 Broad to Powell, no run, 83.9 mph 1.5 Broad to Powell, no run, 83.7 mph 1.6 Broad to Powell, no run, 82.8 mph Last year I even remember thinking "bloody hell" I never knew the likes of Anderson, Bresnan, and Broad could bowl that fast. I was very surprised to see Broad bowl regularly touching 90mph.
rkt.india Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 You should also include Sky Sports in the same league as Ten Cricket. Sky too tends to show speeds around 5 kph less IMHO. How Sky shows 5 kPh less. Best was clocking 93 MPH, Roach was clocking 90 mph plus. I saw likes of Meaker and young Mills clocking 90 mph in county one day and T20 cricket. It cannot be just because England bowlers are shown slow, speeds guns are slow when others clocked quick speeds. Shannon Gabriel too was clocked up to high 80s. even last year, all England bowlers clocked quick except Anderson. In ODIs, Finn even clocked 150Ks last year against us in England . I suppose they are not genuine fast bowlers like Lee, Tait, Akhtar were. They are more of rhythm bowlers who when in rhythm can clock quick but not every time.
rkt.india Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 But doesnot it happen that some days bowlers have off days depending on wicket and bowl slow .. Umesh must be rusty in the new season and hence bowled slow.. why blame the speed meter?? Because it was for every bowler. Even Malinga was not clocked 140 plus much. Pathan was clocked 124K while his usual pace is 130-135K. Zaheer barely clocked 135.
rkt.india Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 Last year I even remember thinking "bloody hell" I never knew the likes of Anderson, Bresnan, and Broad could bowl that fast. I was very surprised to see Broad bowl regularly touching 90mph. Last year, they were all pumped up and motivated to beat and clean sweep India and they put all they had in their body. watch both the series simultaneously and you will notice the difference in intensity.
jairamesh Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 Last year' date=' they were all pumped up and motivated to beat and clean sweep India and they put all they had in their body. watch both the series simultaneously and you will notice the difference in intensity.[/quote'] Yup that's what I did yesterday after seeing how the likes of Smith and Amla dominated them. Just watching some of the Youtube videos you can feel the intensity of the two England sides at different level. Broad's face was bursting red pulp from ball 1 vs India. Last year England's fast bowling through the 4 Tests was relentless. It's probably one of the best fast bowling in terms of sustained quality and intensity I have seen through a series, and obviously laying green tracks helped. India got caught out badly, and missing that strong opening partnership really hurt us bad. I fear the worst if 2 of our top 3 don't click together often this coming season.
MechEng Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 Yup that's what I did yesterday after seeing how the likes of Smith and Amla dominated them. Just watching some of the Youtube videos you can feel the intensity of the two England sides at different level. Broad's face was bursting red pulp from ball 1 vs India. Last year England's fast bowling through the 4 Tests was relentless. It's probably one of the best fast bowling in terms of sustained quality and intensity I have seen through a series, and obviously laying green tracks helped. India got caught out badly, and missing that strong opening partnership really hurt us bad. I fear the worst if 2 of our top 3 don't click together often this coming season. India were lazy....BLOODY lazy in England tbh. No fight, no guts...nothing:((....England bowled well but were assisted with India's lack of intensity and terrible team management. India drew in England in 2002, where the conditions were tougher than 2011. And the attack in that series was good if not great - Flintoff, Jones, Harmisson, Hoggard and Giles. Interestingly the same attack decimated Australia in 2005 Ashes. IPL has made our players less passionate about Tests. Because before 2008, India never took Test Cricket lightly...Especially under Ganguly.
carnish Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 Because it was for every bowler. Even Malinga was not clocked 140 plus much. Pathan was clocked 124K while his usual pace is 130-135K. Zaheer barely clocked 135. Just tell me one thing .. having watched the game yesterday did you really feel from naked eye that anyone was bowling 142+ yesterday?? Heck I felt what crap was Malinga bowling.. From where I was seeing the speeds were 5 KPH higher than what I thought those balls would have been. My Opinion only. Maybe Wrong.
Needforspeed Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 Just tell me one thing .. having watched the game yesterday did you really feel from naked eye that anyone was bowling 142+ yesterday?? Heck I felt what crap was Malinga bowling.. From where I was seeing the speeds were 5 KPH higher than what I thought those balls would have been. My Opinion only. Maybe Wrong. +1. I think now Malinga bowls with full intensity only in T20, maybe b'cos he has to bowl only 4 overs. In ODIs I dont mind even if Yadav bowls at 135 provided he can bowl the right length.
Crookbond Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 Just tell me one thing .. having watched the game yesterday did you really feel from naked eye that anyone was bowling 142+ yesterday?? Heck I felt what crap was Malinga bowling.. From where I was seeing the speeds were 5 KPH higher than what I thought those balls would have been. My Opinion only. Maybe Wrong. Man I can understand 140+ but 142+ ... kya precision hai boss! :hatsoff:
carnish Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 Man I can understand 140+ but 142+ ... kya precision hai boss! :hatsoff: Dats cause speed showed Yadav bowled a few balls at 140.6 odd.. so i said 142 to stop someone bring up the speeds from cricinfo .. just saving an embarrasment for me .. lol
Crookbond Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 Dats cause speed showed Yadav bowled a few balls at 140.6 odd.. so i said 142 to stop someone bring up the speeds from cricinfo .. just saving an embarrasment for me .. lol This was the "Cycle Agarbatti Honest Post" of this thread :clap:
carnish Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 This was the "Cycle Agarbatti Honest Post" of this thread :clap: Seriously its funny the kind of prizes they distribute in ODI tourneys played in Pakistan and Bangladesh .. Kitply Sixes and stuff.. Its good in India .. Just take the man of the match and kaam khatam.
Crookbond Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 Seriously its funny the kind of prizes they distribute in ODI tourneys played in Pakistan and Bangladesh .. Kitply Sixes and stuff.. Its good in India .. Just take the man of the match and kaam khatam. In India on Radio it was "BSNL Chauka - Connecting India" :haha:
carnish Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 In India on Radio it was "BSNL Chauka - Connecting India" :haha: I really don't care about Radio.. but distributing such stupid prizes on the ground giving them a ridiculous sponsor name is disgusting and by no means professional.
Trichromatic Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 Have to say English commies must be living in some alternate universe. Atherton pointing out that "they have got used to bowling sides over in last 18 months". Of course not to mention the 3-0 loss to Pakistan and the test match lost to SL. Didn't listen to commentary. He was talking about their bowling right? There is nothing wrong. They did bowl well against Pakistan and SL. :dontknow: Atherton often makes fair assessment.
Vilander Posted July 22, 2012 Posted July 22, 2012 All this makes me more intrested in watching the after match presentation than the match itself.