Michael Holding launches another scathing attack on Indians

SachDan

To be fair to Holding, he said the same about Keiron Pollard also I think, regarding too much IPL money and not enough substance to play in Test cricket.

I think Holding is just a bit upset that India didn't fight back in the second test. He repeatedly send on air that India wasn't taking the preparations to the series seriously enough. I don't know why you guys are angry when he is actually speaking the truth.
Agreed. There is truth in what he said regardless of his intentions. IPL has/will change priorities for the younger generation of Indian cricketers. In the future, we may be left with only flat track cow lashers far worse than the current lot Kohli-Raina-Rohit in terms of technique required for test matches or more darters instead of genuine spinners.
same old ***** about IPL.. No one bothers to check we have not lost single series in last 3 years... Now suddenly we lost 2 games in a row and this idi0ts are back. How come if we are so bad we were able to hold nmber 1 ranking for 18 months, mind you we still are number 1 ranked.
But the people winning you those series were brought up to play traditional cricket not T20, the new lot will suffer
Agreed. There is truth in what he said regardless of his intentions. IPL has/will change priorities for the younger generation of Indian cricketers. In the future' date=' we may be left with only flat track cow lashers far worse than the current lot Kohli-Raina-Rohit in terms of technique required for test matches or more darters instead of genuine spinners.[/quote'] Well, I don't think it's because of IPL. They play some 10+ matches in IPL. Bat for 300-400 deliveries. Surely that doesn't determine their technique.
Well' date=' I don't think it's because of IPL. They play some 10+ matches in IPL. Bat for 300-400 deliveries. [b']Surely that doesn't determine their technique.
I think they come back too pumped up and then play loose shots and get out
Well, I don't think it's because of IPL. They play some 10+ matches in IPL. Bat for 300-400 deliveries. Surely that doesn't determine their technique. Exactly. If Indian players want to succeed at the international level, they will have to transform themselves at some way. Can't expect players to go and perform directly.
Its not about how many games they play in IPL since their technique is not developed while playing in it. It's done during the hours of preparation essentially in their younger years. With the amount of money at stake every young cricketer would want to participate in it and would work hard at developing a batting/bowling technique that's suited for that style of cricket. In all likelyhood, that cricketer would turn into a cow lasher and a not a test batsmen.

I still don't get the b!tching about IPL by some folks here. Why can't you all just be happy that a hundred more kids can think of playing cricket professionally these days? I mean seriously, itni kya jal rahi hai yaar tumhari? How many of you buggers have actually earned some money in your lives? And if you have then what the flying fu

"I do not have a problem if these Indian youngsters are multi-millionaires. But they are not good enough for Test level. And that's what counts," concluded Holding.
Now which cricket expert would make such judgement based on just 2 tests and most of the juniors aren't even playing yet. While he may be making a valid point, his intention is clear. He is plain jealous of BCCI/India or he is paid by Sky for taking these cheap shots at Indian players.
"The bowler's Holding, the batsman's Willey" Said by Brian Johnston (I believe)
:D We need more commentators like this guy. Thanks for sharing.
I still don't get the b!tching about IPL by some folks here. Why can't you all just be happy that a hundred more kids can think of playing cricket professionally these days? I mean seriously, itni kya jal rahi hai yaar tumhari? How many of you buggers have actually earned some money in your lives? And if you have then what the flying fu Very well said. :hatsoff:

It is not the IPL which is the problem but it is scheduling by BCCI. IPL needs to be shortened to one month instead of two months and there should be sufficient gap between next tour and IPL so that players get enough rest. Also for bigger tours, team should get at least 15 days of acclimatization time and play a minimum of two practice games. Unfortunately BCCI don't give a damn about the scheduling , it is unfortunate that people like Holding attack IPL for anything and everything which is wrong with Indian cricket.

It is not the IPL which is the problem but it is scheduling by BCCI. IPL needs to be shortened to one month instead of two months and there should be sufficient gap between next tour and IPL so that players get enough rest.
Not just for the rest, but also for giving more time to Indian FC domestic season.
Also for bigger tours' date=' team should get at least 15 days of acclimatization time and play a minimum of two practice games. Unfortunately BCCI don't give a damn about the scheduling.[/quote'] That's true. BCCI has done well as a business organization, but it fails on many areas directly related to the game. The date ODI match between Ind-Eng at Kolkata was fixed without even considering the festival. Later they changed had to change it. Just goes to show that how much they care about this. Add to that they don't distinguish between types of series of nature of team. Earlier Indian teams used to get more practice matches. Now they put cramped schedule for such series. :facepalm: Bizarre statement by Shukla that players know schedule much earlier and they can take rest, we have players who can replace them. Seriously if you are richest board and consider yourself most powerful then can't they use power to schedule the matches according to the requirement of the team? Don't expect anything better. I don't blame Holding. Anyone who is making comments from comm box would notice test players, their performances, then hear about IPL and make such conclusion.