Tiger80 Posted October 4, 2011 Posted October 4, 2011 Aleem Dar, the three-time ICC Umpire of the Year, has said the inconsistent use of the Decision Review System (DRS) affects an umpire's performance and has called for the system to be used uniformly across all international series. "There's no issue in using technology," Dar told PTI. It's a good addition to the game but the umpires should stop thinking about it when making a decision. And, instead of being used randomly, the system should be enforced on a permanent basis in all series ... It's not being used in all series and that affects the umpires' performance. I believe inconsistent usage is not good for the game either." Dar's is the latest voice to join the debate over the use of technology. On Australia's recent tour of Sri Lanka, Brad Haddin, Australia's wicketkeeper, said the system should be used consistently by all the international teams or not at all. On the other hand, the BCCI recently announced it was once again opposed to all forms of the DRS after India's tour of England, despite having agreed to a minimum standard at the ICC's annual conference in June. The ICC also allows teams to opt out of implementing the system altogether for commercial reasons, as is the case with the upcoming Bangladesh-West Indies series, further complicating the issue. Dar also said the ICC's new rules, which went into effect on October 1, have added to the responsibility of the umpires. The amendments to the playing conditions include having two new balls to start an innings, a redefined period of Powerplays and a ban on the use of runners. Confusion over the new rule on runners led to a 28-minute delay during the Faysal Bank T20 Cup final, and Dar said the umpires need to be more vigilant. "I feel my responsibility has increased and we need to be more focussed," Dar told the Express Tribune. "The team [in the Faysal Bank T20] was allowed a runner because the tournament was played with the previous playing rules. Umpires may face such situations after the rule changes and that's an increased burden." http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci-icc/content/current/story/534821.html
Crookbond Posted October 4, 2011 Posted October 4, 2011 One can understand the confusion which runs through their umpire. Till now they have handled it really well but the day isn't far for a great goof up. YouTube will rock!
Trichromatic Posted October 5, 2011 Posted October 5, 2011 One can understand the confusion which runs through their umpire. Till now they have handled it really well but the day isn't far for a great goof up. YouTube will rock! Not only with umpires, but also with players. Whether technology is used or not, it's a different issue. But at least ICC should have same rules for all the matches. We are not living in 80s and 90s when rules were different for different series. It's funny that one team plays an international cricket test match with one set of rules and other teams play same format with different set of rules just because ICC has given rights to boards to decide themselves about this. :facepalm:
Number Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 That doesn't mean he can keep umpiring like crap against India.
SLICKR392 Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 He was rubbish against us before the DRS showed up. Not sure if coincidence but he has been poor with us.
Ultimate_Game Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 Aleem Dar doing his best to convince BCCI to start using DRS :giggle:
rkt.india Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 DRS indeed needed. :wall: Pujara's luck runs out very early. He has seen quite a few poor decisions already.
khanjee Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 lol ISI agent Aleem in full flow..i see pakistan/ISI conspiracy
JaFanatic Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 lol ISI agent Aleem in full flow..i see pakistan/ISI conspiracy ok
yoda Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 We deserve such decisions given that we gave the ungli to DRS.
Number Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 lol ISI agent Aleem in full flow..i see pakistan/ISI conspiracy :haha: Hamare hi khilaaf kyu aisi umpiring karta hai yeh.
Sarkar Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 I have always felt Aleem Dar hates Sachin Its known fact Pakistanis Hate Sachin and Indians
Trichromatic Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 Its known fact Pakistanis Hate Sachin and Indians Are you an exception?
khanjee Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 :haha: Hamare hi khilaaf kyu aisi umpiring karta hai yeh. aray bhai ISI ka agent hai..what else do you expect:):)
carnish Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 Dar is a good umpire ... One wrong decision and not a howler doesnot change that.
Texan Posted March 18, 2013 Posted March 18, 2013 Dar has been a good umpire. I have watched him in matches involving India and he did not seem unfair. BCCI has itself to blame for not accepting DRS. It should be used uniformly irrespective of which teams are playing.
khanjee Posted March 18, 2013 Posted March 18, 2013 no one wants to talk about Philip hughes decision that was made by Dar...I think its high time we replace Dar with Sahiba..