India-England ODI Series Review Thread: Player's ratings

Yoda-esque

You are in illusion. If that was the case, Ganguly would not have talked about it openly in commentary box. 10 over batting never helps team where he scored 10 or 50 in those 10 overs. Look at WC 2011 semi final, he started well, but got out after getting set at the wrong time and batsmen coming after him did not find it easy once ball got older and if it was not for Raina's innings and SRT's missed chances, we would not have been in final. These things happened a lot in Sehwag's career. You never leave it to others. if you are set, bat long, which happened rare in case of Viru.
The Semi final was probably the worst example you could bring in to plead your case. That was exactly how an impact player can disturb a bowler's rhythm in the first few overs. We scored less because of Yuvi's dismissal. Otherwise it would easily have been 300+. P.S : the right word is delusion
Sehwag vs Raina? Why would you even do that? One is an opener, other a finisher. One has played for India for 10+years, the other has played 100 odd matches for us. Both have done well for us. End the debate there.
:two_thumbs_up:

kinda analysed ashwin`s bowling....he is very skilled tbh......bowled d carrom bowl, genuine off spin, skidder,drifter,even d top spin some times :omg: msd was 10 in this series, but was 0 in d test series in england :--D parthiv was unlucky in hyderabad, though played two bad shots in d series...4.5/10.. + fielding was 9/10 :two_thumbs_up:

The Semi final was probably the worst example you could bring in to plead your case. That was exactly how an impact player can disturb a bowler's rhythm in the first few overs. We scored less because of Yuvi's dismissal. Otherwise it would easily have been 300+. P.S : the right word is delusion
It was the best example because it showed hitting 2-3 fours in initial overs means nothing until you bat long and help team score a big total. Raina had just drafted into this game after Yusuf's failure and I had no reason to go after Raina if he had also failed. 20 odd runs inning is not called an impact inning. it was just a cameo.

both raina nd viru r destroyer in asia....viru slightly> raina in subcontinent pitches... raina >>>viru outside subcontinent....... though both r very mediocre in fast pitches raina is d best t20 player... he is ranked in top 5 in t20 by icc with due respect 2 vk.....he does not look an international bowler...tbh he should be thrown out of d team.........though he is a grity nd a hardworking guy, but srry 2 say he is a dip sh it bowler.... even in this series, he has picked 4 wickets in delhi, otherwise in other games he has been taken 2 d cleaners nd not even completed his full quota of 10 overs

It was the best example because it showed hitting 2-3 fours in initial overs means nothing until you bat long and help team score a big total. Raina had just drafted into this game after Yusuf's failure and I had no reason to go after Raina if he had also failed. 20 odd runs inning is not called an impact inning. it was just a cameo.
Kya bata karte ho yaar. Umar Gul was in red hot form during the WC, almost unplayable. Was hitting 91-92 mph consistently and moving the ball. Sehwag simply dismantled him through his early assault. In fact Gul had beaten Sehwag a couple of times in the very 1st over before Viru went berserk in his 2nd over. That was the biggest pakistani weapon blunted right at the start. Don't care how many Viru scored afterwards. That 38 will remain an epic knock for me.
In ODIs' date=' not in tests. Sehwag has not justified or performed to his talent in ODIs throughout his career in ODIs.[/quote'] You seriously got it wrong, either your delusional or in your words you don't understand cricket at all. Sehwag isn't the guy who scores big runs everytime, once in a while he scores big. But his main role is to get team off to a flier which allows middle order to take time to settle and get a big score. An average of 35 @ a strike rate of 105 isn't justifiable? Lets take his recent form, last 2 years he has averaged 44 @ a strike rate of 125. If you think he hasn't justified, all I can do is :hysterical:
You seriously got it wrong, either your delusional or in your words you don't understand cricket at all. Sehwag isn't the guy who scores big runs everytime, once in a while he scores big. But his main role is to get team off to a flier which allows middle order to take time to settle and get a big score. An average of 35 @ a strike rate of 105 isn't justifiable? Lets take his recent form, last 2 years he has averaged 44 @ a strike rate of 125. If you think he hasn't justified, all I can do is :hysterical:
In last 2 years ? Yes But overall in his career he hasnt justified his talent in ODI cricket. Also in 3 world cups he has played he has always been subdued.A couple of explosive knocks here and there (in world cups i mean ) but really has disappointed for his talent IMHO.
how dare you rate raina 6.5 ? :orderorder: Mahi is 10/10 :yay:
How can MSD not get a 10? :dontknow:
Raina got a lil lucky with dropped catches..ok,perhaps I was a lil harsh on him : 7/10 Happy? 10/10 is perfect and nobodys perfect (Even Mahi) In any case, I would have given him a 10 had he played Aaron in more matches as well as given a chance to Rahul in the final ODI.
Kya bata karte ho yaar. Umar Gul was in red hot form during the WC, almost unplayable. Was hitting 91-92 mph consistently and moving the ball. Sehwag simply dismantled him through his early assault. In fact Gul had beaten Sehwag a couple of times in the very 1st over before Viru went berserk in his 2nd over. That was the biggest pakistani weapon blunted right at the start. Don't care how many Viru scored afterwards. That 38 will remain an epic knock for me.
+1. Viru's innings was a blistering knock in that match and the main reason why Gul bowled like that even in the final years. With a middle order like ours, Viru has the license to go on the attack and he does just that. Yes it doesnt come off sometimes, but more often than not, he does the job.

Rahane - 6/10 - Solid if not spectacular. Got India off to some solid starts and played some classy shots. Not as impressive as he was in England but still looks a very good prospect and should be persisted with. Parthiv Patel - 4/10 - Had a poor series, has probably had his chance at international level now. Gambhir 8/10 - Played some fine innings and normally scored at a good rate. Top player, especially in run chases. Kohli 9/10 - Played some really classy innings and is the best young ODI batsman in the world. Manoj Tiwary - 5/10 - Only played one game, looked decent enough before getting out. His bowling is atrocious though, i hope Dhoni does not give him too many overs in future if he is selected again. Raina - 7/10 - Played 2 good aggressive knocks and looked decent at Eden Gardens before getting out. Great player to have come down the order but he does have a tendency to be over-aggressive after he hits a couple of boundaries, his dismissal to Finn at Mumbai demonstrated this. MS Dhoni - 10/10 - What a series. Good captaincy and was not dismissed once in the series. His power hitting in the death overs was immense. Great ODI player. Jadeja - 9/10 - Top wicket taker and chipped in with some very useful runs. His bowling is a real bonus. Ashwin - 8/10 - Kept it tight and took wickets. Harbhajan won't get his place back for a while. Bowled superbly at Eden Gardens and Mumbai. Praveen Kumar - 5-10 - Was pretty average and did not take enough wickets. Vinay Kumar - 6/10 - Bowled very well at Delhi and bowled a beauty to remove Trott at Mumbai but apart from that he was average. Umesh Yadav - 7/10 - Has definitely improved from when he 1st started playing for Delhi Daredevils. Good pace, nice action and gets some nice outswing. Can be a bit wayward. Varun Aaron 8/10 - More impressive than Yadav. Was pretty accurate, got subtle movement both ways and managed to get some reverse swing. England Ratings: Alastair Cook 6/10 - Played a couple of good innings, scoring at a decent rate but got out for 10 or below in 3 matches. Craig Kieswetter - 4/10 - Can be explosive with the bat but failed too many times and his wicket keeping was a joke. Jonathan Trott 6/10 - Did fairly well and scored runs but his inability to up the tempo later innings cost England a little. KP - 6/10 - Managed to get himself in most of the time and looked really good at times but could not push on. Ian Bell - 4/10 - Played one match and did little. Ravi Bopara 3/10 - Running out of chances at international level. Did not play a significant innings with the bat and India targetted his part time bowling. Jonathan Bairstow - 3/10 - Struggled against spin and had a lot of low scores. To be fair to him, he normally came in with England about to lose or when he needed to hit out to try and take England to a high score. Samit Patel - 7/10 - Played some good innings, his 70 off 40 odd balls was a superb knock. Normally scored at a good rate and his bowling was ok, did not get hit as much as a i thought. Graeme Swann 2/10 - India's batsmen sorted him out. Tim Bresnan - 7/10 - I like him a lot. Was expensive at times but took a few wickets and contributed with the bat. Very useful cricketer, decent bowler at the death. Jade Dernbach - 10/10 - Along with Malinga the best ODI and T20 bowler in the world. Stuart Meaker - 5/10 - Average figures but has decent pace and could be a good bowler in the future. Scott Borthwick - 5/10 - Only had one game and went wicketless but has good control and could be a good prospect for England. Steven Finn - 8/10 (tempted to give him a 9) - Bowled superbly throughout. He is fast, reasonably accurate and gets good bounce. Will become world class. He went over the top with his sledging but i like his new aggressive attitude. HIs ball to Kohli at Eden Gardens was beautiful.

Btw does anyone think Parthiv Patel should keep his place as reserve keeper for the future or someone else should be tried? I would personally prefer Utappa to be given a proper run in OD cricket and keep him as reserve keeper for Dhoni.