India-England ODI Series Review Thread: Player's ratings

Yoda-esque

Btw does anyone think Parthiv Patel should keep his place as reserve keeper for the future or someone else should be tried? I would personally prefer Utappa to be given a proper run in OD cricket and keep him as reserve keeper for Dhoni.
Dinesh Karthik.
Kya bata karte ho yaar. Umar Gul was in red hot form during the WC, almost unplayable. Was hitting 91-92 mph consistently and moving the ball. Sehwag simply dismantled him through his early assault. In fact Gul had beaten Sehwag a couple of times in the very 1st over before Viru went berserk in his 2nd over. That was the biggest pakistani weapon blunted right at the start. Don't care how many Viru scored afterwards. That 38 will remain an epic knock for me.
Yaar...If you watch his bowling in this match...you would agree that it was an off game for him as he was wayward from the first ball, so you cannot say he was at his best and usually he he was not bowling with the new ball, but he was given new ball there and he could not control the ball and was spraying it both sides bowling half vollyes. As soon as Riayz came and started bowling well, you could see what happened to Sehwag, played across the line and got out.
You seriously got it wrong, either your delusional or in your words you don't understand cricket at all. Sehwag isn't the guy who scores big runs everytime, once in a while he scores big. But his main role is to get team off to a flier which allows middle order to take time to settle and get a big score. An average of 35 @ a strike rate of 105 isn't justifiable? Lets take his recent form, last 2 years he has averaged 44 @ a strike rate of 125. If you think he hasn't justified, all I can do is :hysterical:
I am not delusional. If you had watched match while Ganguly commentating who was the captain of Sehwag, Ganguly always raised this question and unfulfilled potential of Sehwag in tests. He always talked about how Sehwag usually throw his starts away in ODIs more often than not. It is not only me who is talking about this issue, most ex-cricketers talk about this, even Saurav Ganguly, his own captain. So, I am not asking you be agree with me. You have your own point of view, but I have mine which I cannot change. I can tell we can manage ODIs without Sehwag and we have managed it successfully plenty of times.
Yaar...If you watch his bowling in this match...you would agree that it was an off game for him as he was wayward from the first ball' date=' so you cannot say he was at his best and usually he he was not bowling with the new ball, but he was given new ball there and he could not control the ball and was spraying it both sides bowling half vollyes. As soon as Riayz came and started bowling well, you could see what happened to Sehwag, played across the line and got out.[/quote'] He bowled the first over just fine, speeds of 140+ and beat the bat too. It was only after the second Gul over that he lost it comletely. Those 38 runs that day including the 21 run over was instrumental in our victory and Gul's bowling for the remainder of the match. That is the kind of player Viru is Even if you ignore impact and look at statistics alone, Sehwag figures in the list of top ODI batsmen ever. I dont know what you are on about as never having fulfilled potential ever Xvtmd.png

^ One of the biggest factor because of which he featured in that list is his amazing SR. His current SR is 104. His SR was around 95-96 during most part of his career, but from last 60-70 games he has become more aggressive. Not many batsman are able to maintain average over 35 with this SR of 100+. In last 4-5 years, he has improved a lot. Averages 43 with SR of 120. :hatsoff:

yes that is what I had said above, it happened since NZ tour in 2009.
^ Check reverse cumulative averages Ganesh.
Vibhash, I totally agree that Sehwag went through a lean patch and picked up his game in the last 4-5 years. I was responding to rkt's post that he has never fulfilled his potential and only picked up his stats after the 2009 tour to NZ
I dont agree. I am not a detractor. I like his game and more so his attitude on the field. He is also fit and a great fielder. But to be on par or better than Sehwag, Raina has to do much more than what he has done currently Viru would walk into any ODI world XI as an attacking opener, Raina wont in his position. Both have certain technical issues, with Sehwag having lack of footwork and with Raina the susceptibility against the short ball. But bowlers have found it easier to exploit Raina's weakness than they have with Sehwag.
I don't think Viru can walk into any world XI as an opener in ODI cricket. There are many better openers than him around to partner Sachin in a world XI for ODIs. I also don't think Raina would make it to any ODI world XI. However, comparing the two within the context of their roles I am more than sure Raina has performed better than Viru in his career as a whole. Even on current ODI performance (last 2 seasons) I think Raina has been better than Viru I think a lot of the votes for Viru come from confusing his Test greatness with his ODI mediocrity. In ODI cricket Viru is possibly among the middle echelon of openers in world cricket. One blazing knock in 10 innings dunn give you a ticket to a world XI. Even Dilshan and Gayle score 2 blazing knocks in 10 innings. Viru was becoming more consistent during July-Sep last year but again faded away. Apart from Dhoni, Pussey, AB, and maybe a couple others there aren't any who are better than Raina at a position > 4 in the batting order in ODI cricket today
I disagree...In the current pool of players playing international cricket Raina would easily make it any world x1 in LOI format...tell me better no.6-7 batsmen than Raina in world cricket right now? Look at all the other players from other countries who play the role that Raina does in Indian squad Raina is definetely greater than Pollard,Umar Akmal,SamitPatel/Baristow,David Miller/Duu Pleez,Oram/Franklin,Craig white/Haddin,Kapugedera etc etc We all saw the difference Raina made replacing Pathan in WC 2011 and also in England he looked a different player in the T20 and ODI's
Let's assume we have to pick 7 batsmen (with a wikky batsman in there). I'd pick the following - Sachin Watson / Mahela Sanga Yuvi AB Pussey Dhoni Edit - Like I already made it clear in my post, Raina is better than everyone else except Dhoni, Pussey, AB
However, comparing the two within the context of their roles I am more than sure Raina has performed better than Viru in his career as a whole. Even on current ODI performance (last 2 seasons) I think Raina has been better than Viru
Nope he hasnt. Even though I dont support judging Sehwag on stats (more of an Impact player), he by no way does poorly on them. Raina and Sehwag have similar averages though Sehwag has much better strike rate and sustained it over a longer period. Raina also has more not outs than sehwag which increases his average. Raina is still in the early stages of his career (first 5 years), if he does supremely well in the next few years then he can be compared to Sehwag, not till then. You are grossly underestimating Sehwag's ODI cricket(he is by no means mediocre) - like Vibhash pointed out, he has struck over 115 and averaged above 43 in his last 5 years. There is no other current player in world cricket - with that kind of performances Like I said in an earlier post, a solid middle order gave Sehwag the license to go for his shots - this backfired sometimes but gave us something that many teams crave for - an explosive opener.
Dhoni and Hussey would take up he no 5, 6 position in a world 11. No way Raina is better than them
Let's assume we have to pick 7 batsmen (with a wikky batsman in there). I'd pick the following - Sachin Watson / Mahela Sanga Yuvi AB Pussey Dhoni Edit - Like I already made it clear in my post, Raina is better than everyone else except Dhoni, Pussey, AB
WHy would you want to play Sanga and Dhoni in the same team??? Since the wk Spot will obviously go to Dhoni and the middle order accumulators who can score quick will go to AB and Hussey...having someone like Raina who can blast away will be an added asset
Dhoni and Hussey would take up he no 5' date=' 6 position in a world 11. No way Raina is better than them[/quote'] If Watson makes it to the LOI world X1 that means the batting order will be till no 7 for the slog over expert...This is where Raina is one of the best in the business right now