CSK Fan Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Only difference being Bradman didn't lose respect Only difference being Bradman was not Indian. Indians are experts in pulling down their own players. No one mature enough , no expert, no cricket follower, will ever lose respect for Sachin. A bunch of spoilt kids who dont know how to handle the bitterness of defeat will of course rant. Look at the support Aussies gave to Ponting when he was in a much, much worse slump than Sachin, Dravid or Laxman
Kean0 Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 I think it would be quite poetic if Tendu was to end his career on 99 100's as Bradman famously ended his on a career average of 99.99.
Tendulkar_Bhai Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 With so many test matches due to be played in India you guys are wasting your time saying Sachin will not get a 100. He is still playing well and scoring so only matter of time.
Lurker Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Int hose 30 test series how many were 1-2 test match series? How many were 5 test series? I do agree that despite that he had chances to score more than 500 but not to the extent you are potraying Jeez man give it up already, will you? In recent series itself you had Ponting and Clarke both scoring 500 plus in the same amount of Tests as Sachin. You want me to dig up how many times Ponting has done so in comparable number of tests as Sachin?? It wont show SRT in a positive light so lets just drop it. How did he bring it on himself? Please explain Seriously? Where is the usual MTC and what have you done to him :cantstop:
CSK Fan Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Jeez man give it up already, will you? In recent series itself you had Ponting and Clarke both scoring 500 plus in the same amount of Tests as Sachin. You want me to dig up how many times Ponting has done so in comparable number of tests as Sachin?? It wont show SRT in a positive light so lets just drop it. Seriously? Where is the usual MTC and what have you done to him :cantstop: Mostly when India started playing more than 2-3 test series, Sachin was already way past in prime. In his prime, he has crossed 450 in a two test series
Lurker Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Mostly when India started playing more than 2-3 test series' date=' Sachin was already way past in prime. In his prime, he has crossed 450 in a two test series[/quote'] define prime please. In 2004 series against india ponting had 700 plus runs. Sachin had.played in all the tests. In other words Ponting has twice scored 500 plus against India in a series with Sachin score being none.
The Outsider Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Only difference being Bradman was not Indian. Indians are experts in pulling down their own players. No one mature enough ' date=' no expert, no cricket follower, will ever lose respect for Sachin. A bunch of spoilt kids who dont know how to handle the bitterness of defeat will of course rant. Look at the support Aussies gave to Ponting when he was in a much, much worse slump than Sachin, Dravid or Laxman[/quote'] Oh yeah, the same old patriotism card - Tendulkar is Indian, so all Indians must do his bhakti and pooja. If one doesn't that's a generic, negative trait of being an Indian. How much more intellectually bankrupt can these discussions become! Personally, I don't give much weight to the 500 runs in a series statistics - yeah it's a good thing to achieve but hardly a barometer of a great batsman anymore than having scored a century in each innings of a test. Different batsmen score in different ways - some score in clusters like Lara and Ponting whereas some are more consistent across series, since all of them average roughly the same. And anyhow, Tendulkar has scored 490+ runs in a series away from home in one of the tougher tours. That to me is much more important than him having racked up 500-600 runs against some crap attack at home. But, yeah since his fan boys are obsessed with numbers and statistics, it's fun to rile them up with three major batting milestones Tendulkar has not achieved: 1. Scoring 500+ runs in a series. 2. Scoring a century in each innings. 3. Scoring a triple century. The mindless numbers game can be played by everyone.
Lurker Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Oh yeah, the same old patriotism card - Tendulkar is Indian, so all Indians must do his bhakti and pooja. If one doesn't that's a generic, negative trait of being an Indian. How much more intellectually bankrupt can these discussions become! Personally, I don't give much weight to the 500 runs in a series statistics - yeah it's a good thing to achieve but hardly a barometer of a great batsman anymore than having scored a century in each innings of a test. Different batsmen score in different ways - some score in clusters like Lara and Ponting whereas some are more consistent across series, since all of them average roughly the same. And anyhow, Tendulkar has scored 490+ runs in a series away from home in one of the tougher tours. That to me is much more important than him having racked up 500-600 runs against some crap attack at home. But, yeah since his fan boys are obsessed with numbers and statistics, it's fun to rile them up with three major batting milestones Tendulkar has not achieved: 1. Scoring 500+ runs in a series. 2. Scoring a century in each innings. 3. Scoring a triple century. The mindless numbers game can be played by everyone. Shwetabh's post has some very pertinent points to the discussion. What is left unsaid perhaps is that when this whole discussion, on when Sachin should quit, started (somewhere around 2007-08) I was of the firm opinion that Sachin should go, or atleast start planning to go, and Shwetabh was one of my fiercest critic. That needs to be said because many posters like Shwetabh are seen in the light as a hater when they have stood behind SRT and he (SRT) has simply let them down at this stage of his career. Damn, its been 5 years since we had that discussion....:((
Yoda-esque Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Even in the previous game SRT gave away two imminently stoppable boundries. He is a liability in the field,doesn't bowl anymore and while his batting isn't bad by any stretch,his intentions certainly are questionable. Would he have played this ODI series if he had gotten his 100th 100? I think we know the answer to that. Already Gambhir has started making noises about his presence.How long before others also start insuinating the same??? Let it go SRT..100 100s dont mean anything.
Lurker Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Only difference being Bradman was not Indian. Indians are experts in pulling down their own players. No one mature enough ' date= no expert, no cricket follower, will ever lose respect for Sachin. A bunch of spoilt kids who dont know how to handle the bitterness of defeat will of course rant. Look at the support Aussies gave to Ponting when he was in a much, much worse slump than Sachin, Dravid or Laxman Not trying to pile up on you here MTC, but after that comment I do expect to see an article next week on how Amar "crack of doom" Singh represented India gallantly in its formative years. Or perhaps an article on Vinoo Mankad and his fastest double in world cricket at the time? Or maybe about Polly "Palm Tree Sixes" Umrigar? Or maybe Subhas Gupte and his exploits with all things leg spin? Or the fab 4 spinners? Or maybe Eknath Solkar as the greatest close-in fielder ever? Or how no opposition batting pair scored a century stand against Kapil Dev and Karsan Ghavri? Or am I to assume this whole Indian fervor kicks in only when we are talking of a failed Marathi...oops Maharathi?? xxx
Gambit Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Lurker, given paucity of time :( quick point. We had several discussions around 2007 about SRT when you said he shouldn be dropped but you were wrong as he became without doubt(the numbers back this) our best test batsman since Australia tour 2007 until South Africa 2011. You never gave him his due fir his stellar performances during that period but are reveling in his underpar performances in the last two series. However, I findit ironic that you keep berating him for playing for 100 tons despite your favourite Kapil huffed and puffed until he collapsed for 434. Given how you refer to an ATG and the terms you use for him, you know that quote from Nieztshe being wary of becoming a monster when battling monsters(rapid SRT fans in your case).It applies to you now.
Lurker Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Lurker' date=' given paucity of time :( quick point. We had several discussions around 2007 about SRT when you said he shouldn be dropped but you were wrong as he became without doubt(the numbers back this) our best test batsman since Australia tour 2007 until South Africa 2011. You never gave him his due fir his stellar performances during that period but are reveling in his underpar performances in the last two series. However, I findit ironic that you keep berating him for playing for 100 tons despite your favourite Kapil huffed and puffed until he collapsed for 434.[/quote'] I think both questions have been answered by me Gambo, you may have missed it. (Good to see you by the way). Lets take Kapil first. I always talk of his career in two phases 78-86 which were his best years and then 86-92(give or take). The first was when he was the best all-rounder (in my opinion). Good bat, good bowl, world cup winning captain. After his knee injury he wasnt the same as a bowler. He should have probably hung his boot around late 80s or 90 but stuck around. Did have a couple of great series in Australia and South Africa but as a whole yes it was not a great sight. That all being said he played a whole of about 14-15 years of International cricket(give or take). SRT is now well into his 23rd year of International cricket. And yes we should have started planning his succession around 2007/8. That he got a second wind is all credit to him, and good for us, but doesnt change the fact that had he retired around 2010/11 it would have been perfectly planned and orchestrated. Hope that clears :)
Laaloo Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 ^^ Retiring ahead of Australia and England Tour? :cantstop:
Ultimate_Game Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Yep' date=' just like Bradman is remembered only for his last match duck, Sachin will be remembered only for his last two series[/quote'] But Bradman didn't keep playing forever to get his average back up. He didn't play the next Test to get an unbeaten 4 and retire so that his average gets to 100. As far as SRT is concerned we have seen him fail in 11 tests and now he has started playing odis :haha:
Old guy Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 But Bradman didn't keep playing forever to get his average back up. He didn't play the next Test to get an unbeaten 4 and retire so that his average gets to 100. As far as SRT is concerned we have seen him fail in 11 tests and now he has started playing odis :haha: actually bradman said he wasnt really aware of this.. its only afterwards he came to know about 99.94 :P
Raghav_12 Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Yep' date=' just like Bradman is remembered only for his last match duck, Sachin will be remembered only for his last two series[/quote'] :cantstop:
Raghav_12 Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 But Bradman didn't keep playing forever to get his average back up. He didn't play the next Test to get an unbeaten 4 and retire so that his average gets to 100. As far as SRT is concerned we have seen him fail in 11 tests and now he has started playing odis :haha: Agree with that. Sachin is a test match player and should not have played ODI's ever. The only reason for which he started playing ODI's, way back in 1989, I can think of, is that he wanted to score 100's in ODI's so that his overall number of 100's could go up. Only test hundred's wouldn't have taken him to cusp of 100 100's. How selfish!!
Sachinism Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Again?? I'll just say, its amazing that the things that Sachin hasn't achieved, are the REAL hallmarks of a true great. How strange
Ultimate_Game Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Again?? I'll just say, its amazing that the things that Sachin hasn't achieved, are the REAL hallmarks of a true great. How strange Who's denying SRT is not a great He is a ATG and will walk into hall of fame the day he hangs up his boot. people are simply saying he's not in the same league as Bradman and is probably past his sell-by date.
The Outsider Posted February 18, 2012 Posted February 18, 2012 Lurker, given paucity of time :( quick point. We had several discussions around 2007 about SRT when you said he shouldn be dropped but you were wrong as he became without doubt(the numbers back this) our best test batsman since Australia tour 2007 until South Africa 2011. You never gave him his due fir his stellar performances during that period but are reveling in his underpar performances in the last two series. However, I findit ironic that you keep berating him for playing for 100 tons despite your favourite Kapil huffed and puffed until he collapsed for 434. Given how you refer to an ATG and the terms you use for him, you know that quote from Nieztshe being wary of becoming a monster when battling monsters(rapid SRT fans in your case).It applies to you now. It was a half miracle that Imran and Kapil came back from their injuries in '82 and '84 respectively. I am sure you remember Tendulkar's tennis elbow and the support and medical attention he received from the BCCI - there was no such thing when Kapil had his knee operated upon and he did not have the luxury of "resting" selective matches like Tendulkar - if he was fit he would play. And he was a fast bowler, not a batsman. I find it pretty disappointing that the Tendulkar bhakts choose to bring down other Indian greats to glorify him and you've just joined the club. BTW, here are some numbers from Kapil's last 16 test matches (after the Australian tour where he took 25 wickets in 5 tests) : 16 matches - 33 wickets at an average of around 30 and a batting average of around 40! Tendulkar doesn't even have a batting average to match up with Kapil over the tours to England and Australia and in fact maybe the entire last year, forget about the bowling bit. Here are the huffing and puffing Kapil's stats for his last 16 tests when he is considered to have carried on for too long : http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/30028.html?class=1;filter=advanced;orderby=default;spanmin2=01+Mar+1992;spanval2=span;template=results;type=allround Here are Bhagwaan's stats over the last year when according to fan boys like yourself he is "looking good" : http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/35320.html?class=1;spanmax1=18+Feb+2012;spanmin1=18+Feb+2011;spanval1=span;template=results;type=batting Bhagwaan can't even match up with Kapil in the batting stakes!