Mariyam Posted December 8, 2011 Posted December 8, 2011 Why do you think historically there has been so much violence in Islamic religious places (mosque)? Many key figures of Islam, Ali for example, or Umar. Or modern day killings in mosque based on sectarian violence. Typically religious places are safety sanctuaries. At times like flood, arson, riots these are often the last resort of people seeking refuge, regardless of religious leaning. So why this propensity of killing in a religious sanctorum amongst Muslims? I'm not really well versed with History ( Indian, Islamic or otherwise) so I'm not really well placed to answer your questions. My only guess; Mosques, traditionally, are more than just places of worship. Mosques are also a central logistical/ organizational hub for Muslim communities. So probably, if you want to better/defeat the community, you hit their logistical hub. That's the place they would have gathered and that's the place where they would plan out a course of action. When it comes to intra-Muslim sectarian violence, bombing a rival mosque is 'justified' because the other sect is seen as an apostate. And hence destroying the others place of worship is necessary iconoclasm, as per the aggressor. Some time in the late 80s, Iranian pilgrims (Shia) protested/rioted at the Grand Mosque in Mecca. Even the sancta sanctorum of Islam is not spared this violence. :(( No offence meant of course. None taken.
Lurker Posted December 8, 2011 Posted December 8, 2011 I'm not really well versed with History ( Indian, Islamic or otherwise) so I'm not really well placed to answer your questions. Oops, so I suppose I can't ask you who is your favorite character in Islamic history, aside from Prophet Mohammed, then? :winky: My only guess; Mosques, traditionally, are more than just places of worship. Mosques are also a central logistical/ organizational hub for Muslim communities. So probably, if you want to better/defeat the community, you hit their logistical hub. That's the place they would have gathered and that's the place where they would plan out a course of action. When it comes to intra-Muslim sectarian violence, bombing a rival mosque is 'justified' because the other sect is seen as an apostate. And hence destroying the others place of worship is necessary iconoclasm, as per the aggressor. Some time in the late 80s, Iranian pilgrims (Shia) protested/rioted at the Grand Mosque in Mecca. Even the sancta sanctorum of Islam is not spared this violence. :(( Thanks. :hatsoff:
Mariyam Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 I have heard sunnis dont do much except fast for 2 days during this period while shias do take out processions and do other stuff on this ashura day Don't do much???? Sunnis are allowed to troll internet forums also on the day of Ashoora. Don't know if Shias, Bohris and Ahmadis are allowed that. :dontknow: Oops, so I suppose I can't ask you who is your favorite character in Islamic history, aside from Prophet Mohammed, then? :winky: Difficult question, but after due consideration, I will have to say: Qays bin Al Mulawwah
Lurker Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 Difficult question, but after due consideration, I will have to say: Qays bin Al Mulawwah Wow! That sure leaves me stumped a bit, its the first time anyone has ever picked Qays. You are a romantic arent you? lol. Good for you..Rishi Kapur would be happy too :-)
1983-2011 Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 Don't do much???? Sunnis are allowed to troll internet forums also on the day of Ashoora. Don't know if Shias, Bohris and Ahmadis are allowed that. :dontknow: sorry, i worded it wrong. i meant sunnis do not hold rallies and gatherings on this day like shias do. it was a sad day for muslims but i have heard that there is no islamic proof from the time of the prophet muhammad for this types of rallies, mourning for any occasions
Mariyam Posted December 10, 2011 Posted December 10, 2011 sorry' date=' i worded it wrong. i meant sunnis do not hold rallies and gatherings on this day like shias do. it was a sad day for muslims but i have heard that there is no islamic proof from the time of the prophet muhammad for this types of rallies, mourning for any occasions[/quote'] Not sure that I follow. Islamic proof? Long story short, there were 2 characters: Ali and the Ummayad caliph Yazid. The followers of Ali saw the caliph as straying from the true nature of the Prophet's S.A.W revelations. The two sides fought at Karbala, and Ali was killed there. Ashoora is a day of mourning his followers (Shia) hold in his honour. Since the Umayyad caliphate was in power for a few hundred years (not sure) after this battle, they weren't allowed to build a mosque at the site of Ali's death. But Ali's followers still gathered around the battle site every year to pay homage. The mosques at Karbala were built much later. The Taziyahs are much more recent. Basically re-enactments of the events of Ali's life and the battle.
Mariyam Posted December 10, 2011 Posted December 10, 2011 Wow! That sure leaves me stumped a bit' date=' its the first time anyone has ever picked [i']Qays. You are a romantic arent you? lol. Good for you..Rishi Kapur would be happy too :-) Hah! Didn't like the movie. As the cliche goes, the book (in this case, the original story) is better than the movie. The songs however, are totally humm-able, Onzmg8PKmmA
coffee_rules Posted December 10, 2011 Posted December 10, 2011 Off topic but I can't believe this day is a public holiday in India. Ramzan, Bakrid, Muharram, Chirstmas, Good Friday (it's not a holiday in US) Boudha Poornima, Ambedkar Jayanthi, Mahaveer Jayanthi Pongal, Ugadi, Ganesh Chathuthi, Vijayadashmi, Deepavali (2), Plus National Holidays - Republic day, Independence day, Gandhi Jayanthi We have to appease all religions . Otherwise people would get on the street and destroy public property.
1983-2011 Posted December 10, 2011 Posted December 10, 2011 Ramzan, Bakrid, Muharram, Chirstmas, Good Friday (it's not a holiday in US) Boudha Poornima, Ambedkar Jayanthi, Mahaveer Jayanthi Pongal, Ugadi, Ganesh Chathuthi, Vijayadashmi, Deepavali (2), Plus National Holidays - Republic day, Independence day, Gandhi Jayanthi We have to appease all religions . Otherwise people would get on the street and destroy public property. Day of Ashura 10th Day of Muharram is observed as hoiday in: Andaman & Nicobar, Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chandigarh, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka,Kerala Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Jharkhand bakri eid and ramzan eid is national holiday though. but i have seen public offices open on these days so is it for the whole public or only the people observing it?
Naaz-neesh Posted December 10, 2011 Posted December 10, 2011 thanks, i can categorically say it's hard to be and live publicly as an average person shia in pakistan. sad really, i blame the saudi influence.
Lurker Posted December 10, 2011 Posted December 10, 2011 Ramzan, Bakrid, Muharram, Chirstmas, Good Friday (it's not a holiday in US) Boudha Poornima, Ambedkar Jayanthi, Mahaveer Jayanthi Pongal, Ugadi, Ganesh Chathuthi, Vijayadashmi, Deepavali (2), Plus National Holidays - Republic day, Independence day, Gandhi Jayanthi We have to appease all religions . Otherwise people would get on the street and destroy public property. While I kinda agree with a bit of an overkill of holidays, I also appreciate the fact that as a nation we celebrate so much each section has to offer and not go the usual Thanksgiving-Christmas-4th July route of US. I may have said this earlier but one of the things that make me immensly proud if that i was born in Bihar. And so while Boodh Poornima is just a date on most Indian's calendar, it was perhaps the biggest festival for me growing up in Gaya. My first celebrity was Dalai Lama who would make a trip to Bodh Gaya on this day. And while my house is about 15 or so miles from the Bodhi tree where Gautam became Buddha, the lit up candles would be seen even from my rooftop. Same with Mahavir Jayanti, it was one of the most celebrated festivals for Jains who would show up at Parasnath, now in Jharkhand. Muharram was widely observed in Gaya with Muslims taking Tajiya etc. Guru Govind Ingh Jayanti, which is huge in Patna City, where i went to college. Great to be an Indian and Bihari.:yay:
The Outsider Posted December 11, 2011 Author Posted December 11, 2011 Beshaq mandir masjid todo, Bulle Shah ye ye kaehta Par pyaar bhara dil kabhi na tode, is dil mein rab rahta Jis palde mein tule muhabbat usme chaandi nahi tolna, ja nahin tollna ja nahin tolna!
Lurker Posted December 11, 2011 Posted December 11, 2011 Beshaq mandir masjid todo, Bulle Shah ye ye kaehta Par pyaar bhara dil kabhi na tode, is dil mein rab rahta The only issue with that line,shwetabh boss,is that no man has ever broken as much hearts as the great rab himself lol.
nikred Posted December 11, 2011 Posted December 11, 2011 The only issue with that line' date='shwetabh boss,is that no man has ever broken as much hearts as the great rab himself lol.[/quote'] :haha: Maybe you should have a big heart, so that it does not suffocate the Rab.
Rajiv Posted December 11, 2011 Posted December 11, 2011 For a layman, can someone explain what u guys talking abt
The Dark Horse Posted December 11, 2011 Posted December 11, 2011 For a layman' date=' can someone explain what u guys talking abt[/quote'] :--D +1