cricketbash Posted December 15, 2011 Posted December 15, 2011 Great speech! I featured it on my blog. My gut feeling is, he retires after the OZ series..
Magneto Posted December 15, 2011 Posted December 15, 2011 Sehwag should be asked to give the next Bradman oration. :yess: Sehwag do would well. He'll say things that no one expects to hear in a Bradman Oration.
Needforspeed Posted December 15, 2011 Posted December 15, 2011 Sehwag do would well. He'll say things that no one expects to hear in a Bradman Oration. And he will leave the Journos and everyone bewildered; They will analyze it for days and still reach nowhere. :cantstop:
ravishingravi Posted December 18, 2011 Posted December 18, 2011 Rahul Dravid's Speech at Sir Bradman Oration qr4bK63WxXY They don't make like them anymore. Respect. :hatsoff::hatsoff:
ravishingravi Posted December 19, 2011 Posted December 19, 2011 http://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/features/item/182400-rahul-dravids-speech-at-the-sir-donald-bradman-oration
Nova Posted December 19, 2011 Posted December 19, 2011 There is already a thread on this.. mods please merge: http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=275701
jusarrived Posted December 19, 2011 Posted December 19, 2011 Great speech ..long , but it was very interesting
ganeshran Posted December 19, 2011 Posted December 19, 2011 that would be a sight. With his candor he would say what he wants and not what the people expect to hear. :cantstop: He would probably tell people tests and ODIs are the same thing and no need for ICC to mess around. See Ball, hit ball.
mishra Posted December 22, 2011 Posted December 22, 2011 cricinfo page 2 has a report on :cantstop: http://www.espncricinfo.com/page2/content/story/546397.html "Symonds delivers Harbhajan Oration"
Mariyam Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 qr4bK63WxXY They don't make like them anymore. Respect. :hatsoff::hatsoff: Ravish, I think you're way off the mark here. Listened to this only because my husband and his friends were all oh Bradman oration this, Bradman oration that, best speech by a cricketer yadda yadda. Honestly, Dravid is a pathetic speaker. He wasn't even speaking there. He was only reading what was written on those sheets of paper. Since when is reading something into a microphone called an oration? Looked more like a failed mushaira session. I've seen weather reporters being more animated. Absolutely no intonation, no eye contact, no zeal when mentioning about career highs, no disappointment when talking about failures, insipid jokes delivered in a monotonous brogue. Put in some emotions Dravid. You are giving a speech, and you talk with as much emotion as one would talk in a sabzimandi. Pretty sad really.:(( He was right about one thing though, his speech really is as boring as his batting.
BERGKAMP Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 he is a cricketer not a public speaker. anyway it wasn't his speech, he was just reading out loud words somebody else had prepared for him.
akshayxyz Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 Ravish, I think you're way off the mark here. Listened to this only because my husband and his friends were all oh Bradman oration this, Bradman oration that, best speech by a cricketer yadda yadda. Honestly, Dravid is a pathetic speaker. He wasn't even speaking there. He was only reading what was written on those sheets of paper. Since when is reading something into a microphone called an oration? Looked more like a failed mushaira session. I've seen weather reporters being more animated. Absolutely no intonation, no eye contact, no zeal when mentioning about career highs, no disappointment when talking about failures, insipid jokes delivered in a monotonous brogue. Put in some emotions Dravid. You are giving a speech, and you talk with as much emotion as one would talk in a sabzimandi. Pretty sad really.:(( He was right about one thing though, his speech really is as boring as his batting. I also felt exactly the same, it was more of recitation of an academic paper - most likely written by someone else. But yes, he is not supposed to be good at it, so can be excused.
ganeshran Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 I also felt exactly the same, it was more of recitation of an academic paper - most likely written by someone else. But yes, he is not supposed to be good at it, so can be excused. You SRT fanatic :yousuck:. Your bhagwan didnt play well in the England tour. yada yada yada
urbestfriend Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 I also felt exactly the same, it was more of recitation of an academic paper - most likely written by someone else. But yes, he is not supposed to be good at it, so can be excused. Couldn't agree more. He should have taken some training for the dialogue delivery from none other than SR Gay and added some dailogues like "Don ( bradman ) ko pakadana mushkil hi nahin naa munkin hai" etc to make it more listenable.
mishra Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 Couldn't agree more. He should have taken some training for the dialogue delivery from none other than SR Gay and added some dailogues like "Don ( bradman ) ko pakadana mushkil hi nahin naa munkin hai" etc to make it more listenable. :hysterical:
bulbul Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 Couldn't agree more. He should have taken some training for the dialogue delivery from none other than SR Gay and added some dailogues like "Don ( bradman ) ko pakadana mushkil hi nahin naa munkin hai" etc to make it more listenable. :hysterical: not only that in between he should have started removing his coat and shirt like Salman..
akshayxyz Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 Couldn't agree more. He should have taken some training for the dialogue delivery from none other than SR Gay and added some dailogues like "Don ( bradman ) ko pakadana mushkil hi nahin naa munkin hai" etc to make it more listenable. :hysterical: :hysterical: not only that in between he should have started removing his coat and shirt like Salman.. haan haan kyun nahi, shaktiman jo thehra.. can't do anything wrong.. lagey haath usse nuclear reactor bhi banwa lo.. A good cricketer not so good at oration - any problem with that?
mishra Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 haan haan kyun nahi, shaktiman jo thehra.. can't do anything wrong.. lagey haath usse nuclear reactor bhi banwa lo.. A good cricketer not so good at oration - any problem with that? The only people who do not look reading the speech are stand up comedians. i suspect they also write it on their hand arm coat or somewhere.
akshayxyz Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 The only people who do not look reading the speech are stand up comedians. i suspect they also write it on their hand arm coat or somewhere. come on man.. there are quite a few examples where accomplished people from different walks of life can give a passionate speech even while referring to written material .... rare sight from a sportsman though...(I will have to look, but there has to be some good stuff from likes of Lance Armstrong) anyway, lets not stretch it further, I have no such expectation from Dravid or any other Indian player at least...so, he did good job within his capabilities, but it would be foolish to call it like - wow what an oration..
bulbul Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 haan haan kyun nahi, shaktiman jo thehra.. can't do anything wrong.. lagey haath usse nuclear reactor bhi banwa lo.. A good cricketer not so good at oration - any problem with that? Ek Neutral aadmi ko itna gussa kyon aatha hai :hmmm: