Lurker Posted December 29, 2011 Posted December 29, 2011 Bhaiya aapne aur beetle ne khoob quote maare the pichli baar. Impression galat jam gaya tha isliye maine tab delete maar di thi post. Arre beetle ke mood ke uppar hoga ke us din palang ke kis taraf se utarna hua tha unka. Humse kaun tension bhai? I am to paidaisi tharki...:--D
Holysmoke Posted December 29, 2011 Posted December 29, 2011 I won a lot of prize money in competitions, etc. But my first "paycheck" was after 10th grade board exams. I was working for a couple of months as an IT networking intern.
littlemaster1982 Posted December 29, 2011 Posted December 29, 2011 P.S. What kind of a prize is a thermos-flask. Now that I think about it, how the hell did I win it. I have my baby pics, I was a skinny baby, was skinny for most part of my life. Maybe I was a runners-up or maybe they gave it to every baby that participated. I think my parents lied to me just so that I just feel good about myself. :(( I think its about time I asked my parents again about this. 20-odd years is long enough time to finally reveal the truth and also that now I am kind off chubby, i wont feel bad anymore. I laughed for two mins straight :hysterical: :hysterical:
Rajiv Posted December 29, 2011 Posted December 29, 2011 aap apney income kee chinta karo.. market merey upar chhod do :D Hamara to book cover hi housefull jaata hain..but level aur taal milna chiayyya, ask Lurker
Yoda-esque Posted December 29, 2011 Posted December 29, 2011 Dont know about the Mastram stories (that vault shall open some other time :--D) but here is the how it went when I first purchased porn, or rather we purchased porn. :dance: Okay so this is 1993 and I have just joined RIT Jamshedpur. The ragging season is still on (used to be for about 3 months), and amongst other things the freshmen are not allowed to leave college hostel and go to town(it was about 10 kilometer away, Jamshedpur chaps would know). Anyway me and couple of my buddies decide to jump the boundary and be the daredevils. And so one evening, say around 7 pm, we jump the boundary cross the Khadkhai bridge and go to Bistupur which is like the main market. Once there we have the swagger of budding Engineers but are also quick to not raise eyebrows lest a senior catches us and rags our ass. So we are walking, chasing girls, eating roaside chinese, enjoying the weather when we run into this book-stall which has amongst other things the porn collection. Now if you are a guy and if you an observant guy your eyes know exactly where to look for if you are looking for porn. And sure enough there it was, the top tier stacked with imported magazines. Neither of us have ever bought it and just the thought of buying a taboo magazine, and in the harmone raging years make us heart goes boom boom lol. We pool our money, walk over to the vendor and ask him to get us "Wo waali magazine" while pointing to the stack. That chewtiya is busy selling Manorama to ladies and looks at us jhunjhla ke. When we repeat he looks at us and brings down the stack right there in front of the ladies..They promptly walk away cursing up under their breath. So much for budding Engineer. This was an Aussie magazine and dealt with woman who lets just say are well gifted :--D. We get the magazine and take off. Hire an auto and stop about 5 km from the college. There is a local railway platform (Adityapur) where we sit on a bench, open the magazine and peer at the ladies under the street lamp. Ever have 3 harmone raging guys ogling naked women? It is freaking awesome lol. I can have a laugh now but I swear back then it almost gave us a heart attack. So we brought the magazine, tossed coin on who keeps it first. It was awesome of course. Not sure what was the biggest appeal? Naked women? Specially firangi well stacked woman? or the fact we broke ragging rules? Or that in some ways it told us we were now men who would be making and breaking some rules as they started on their career path. xxx Mastram seems to be your fave mag.:hysterical:
DomainK Posted December 29, 2011 Posted December 29, 2011 My first cheque on my name was of 5000 bucks in 2002. I made a small billing software for a small shop. My first salary cheque was for 2000 bucks in the same year as a teacher in a computer institute.
jusarrived Posted December 29, 2011 Posted December 29, 2011 13K , worked in BPO for 4-5 months . first proper job was in 2005 , ~8K in hand .
jusarrived Posted December 29, 2011 Posted December 29, 2011 I thot only jobs counted . Was trading in stock market during my Engg . My first investment was in a company called HEG . Made a profit of 8k.
akshayxyz Posted December 29, 2011 Author Posted December 29, 2011 folks, I know all of you are school toppers/champions... prize moniez does not count as compensation/paycheck.
akshayxyz Posted December 29, 2011 Author Posted December 29, 2011 Mastram seems to be your fave mag.:hysterical: and he is writer enough to author new series :)
MonishaSarabhai Posted December 30, 2011 Posted December 30, 2011 OK if the discussion changed to our first prizes, I won a prize as a baby in some well-baby contest. I won a thermos flask. P.S. What kind of a prize is a thermos-flask. Now that I think about it, how the hell did I win it. I have my baby pics, I was a skinny baby, was skinny for most part of my life. Maybe I was a runners-up or maybe they gave it to every baby that participated. I think my parents lied to me just so that I just feel good about myself. :(( I think its about time I asked my parents again about this. 20-odd years is long enough time to finally reveal the truth and also that now I am kind off chubby, i wont feel bad anymore. i know right ! i got a steel ka plate when i came second in the lemon and spoon race in 1st grade. the girl who came first got a bigger plate :| what were we kids supposed to do with that ?
MonishaSarabhai Posted December 30, 2011 Posted December 30, 2011 never got cash prizes in school.. only certificates and books. so i think my first paycheck was for my on campus job in grad school. and i used it to pay my rent. yawn.
Jersey #10 Posted December 30, 2011 Posted December 30, 2011 My school used to give out books for prizes. This one time I won a 3rd prize in some competition, don't even remember but it had to do with running or jumping or something. I got some book that I never read. My parents would make a deal with me that if I got a rank in 6-10 in the class, they'd give me 50 rupees and 100 rupees for 1-5. I think i had collected some 800 rupees by the time we moved out of the country. Since I was too young, I never really got to use the money so I am guessing, they just tricked me into getting good grades. For my first pay check. It was for working at McDonald's in 11th grade. I was paid $6.45 an hour and worked some 16 hours per week during summer and winter breaks. My first paycheck must have been around $100 (we got paid every other week). I gave that to my mom.
KhanSaab Posted December 30, 2011 Posted December 30, 2011 My first paycheck, well I printed it by myself. I wrote "Armed and Dangerous, hand over all the cash. No funny business yaar" Sure enough the bank teller did just that. I have been cashing the same check every month since then.
Sooda Posted December 30, 2011 Posted December 30, 2011 I think it was working at a call centre. I so boring no.
Deleted_User_1 Posted December 31, 2011 Posted December 31, 2011 Rs 3000 - engineering intern at Larsen & Toubro. Did not join, came to Amreeka!!!
Texy Posted December 31, 2011 Posted December 31, 2011 never got cash prizes in school.. only certificates and books. so i think my first paycheck was for my on campus job in grad school. and i used it to pay my rent. yawn. wtf I thought you're still in college :(( on topic: My 1st paycheck I earned as a stripper. I was told, I would be given $1000 if I can carry it between my butt cheeks. I was really nervous the whole time....prayed 4 patience & strength to fend off a giant fart that was brewing & not blow away my earning
akshayxyz Posted December 31, 2011 Author Posted December 31, 2011 wtf I thought you're still in college :(( on topic: My 1st paycheck I earned as a stripper. I was told, I would be given $1000 if I can carry it between my butt cheeks. I was really nervous the whole time....prayed 4 patience & strength to fend off a giant fart that was brewing & not blow away my earning That is a poetic ( PK style) analogy that can be applied to every paycheck/job.
MonishaSarabhai Posted December 31, 2011 Posted December 31, 2011 wtf I thought you're still in college :(( grad school :(( :((