End of Laxman?

Laaloo

Laxman in 2011 773 runs at an average of 40.68
That average is heavily boosted by his useless knocks against the mighty west indies , still is very less anyways . Laxman has been a complete failure against the teams that matter ever since he hit that 96 against SA . Averaged 22 in England and continuing with same form in Australia . Only plays career saving Innings for himself .
Its been 3 years since the retirement of Saurav Ganguly and we have till now not found a proper replacement for number 6 and now armchair critics are asking the other fab 3 to get retired.
true we are yet to find a replacement for ganguly but tell me how is not planning for other 3 way forward ?

Laxman has been the topmost scorers for the team since so many years and saved or won matches lots of times when everyone else failed. Its only on ICF where people with memory loss post dumb threads to dump such a valuable player.

This is the second time you mentioned "dump applications" FYI, I already have a very good job lined up. I got the offer 7 months before gratuation. I would careless about your company and your job...
WOW...what has this world come to?
Anyone who under-estimates VVS are setting themselves up for a massive egg-on-face. I am willing to bet my house that the guy will deliver this tour.
That is some serious confidence in a player. Hope he does not disappoint.
Especially given the fact that he takes his time to adjust to conditions. He scored single digits in both innings in the 1st test in SA as well before the Durban test.
Yes. But the England series was little bit worrying. Obviously he got couple of gems from James Anderson and such things happen in cricket. Let us hope that is one bad series and nothing more. Net net we need atleast 3 good scores from VVS in the remaining 6 innings here and the man has it in him to get those. The 176* albiet at home versus WI last month should quell doubts about his fitness and the ability to play long innings. I really like to see VVS do well for the sake of the team.
He's a liability anywhere else in the field when he's not in the slips. >
Wow. That is thy key spot on the field in Tests after the WK and VVS still is really good (3 catches at MCG). If a team is in a state where they are not in a position to employ slips for the pacemen and short-midwicket/short cover for the spinners then the team is out of it anyway. VVS is excellent in all those three positions. I do not look VVS to be a liablity in the field one bit in Tests.
LOL! Laxman is an average fielder? He is one of the best slip catchers in world cricket - and yeah in real cricket diving stops at cover point matter nothing compared to slip catching.
He still is darn good in the slips. Isn't he? VVS and Azza are the two best slip catchers we had in our history having taken some great reflex catches in that second slip position over the years.
Anyone who under-estimates VVS are setting themselves up for a massive egg-on-face. I am willing to bet my house that the guy will deliver this tour.
foreclosure mein hai kya?
We need a strict coach to help plan-it seems we just go out to bat and let it take care of itself, that clearly isn't working. Captain should have a role to play in this but clearly Dhoni is too relaxed. Also too powerful now for anyone to do anything about him. And start to groom in Rohit and Pujara. Lax should go and drop Kohli for now. Rahane is not ready for international cricket full stop, seen him play a few times and looks a typical ranji boy at sea in international matches when the ball is bouncing/moving. Mukund showed guts on england tour and would like to see more of him.
Agree with you on Rohit and Pujara should be groomed for future and Rahane does not look ready for Intl Cricket as yet. But about Kohli, I dont agree, I'd like 2 persist with him for some more time now. I think he has the attitude, experience of Intl level and game for Intl Cricket. He do have some flaws here and there, but then everyone has that. I also would like 2 see Yuvi in our future test team. He is a complete match winner, an intimidating figure in the middle when batting or fielding and we just can't ignore a player with so much experience. About Dhoni, I agree, he has some ego problem. Should make changes to his game plans and thinking. Just can't be repeating same mistakes of England

Every good thing has to come to an end. Laxman, Dravid and Tendulkar have to be phased out of the Indian team within this year. India has no choice but to start getting fresh blood and look at the future.

Every good thing has to come to an end. Laxman' date=' Dravid and Tendulkar have to be phased out of the Indian team within this year. India has no choice but to start getting fresh blood and look at the future.[/quote'] So true, like the West Indies and Australian teams before it (although those two sides - WI and Aus actually dominated all fors of the game available in there runs in slight difference to the indian side), all great teams end their runs. It is so hard to let greats go, can you drop them, surely they deserve better but do you let them keep going if they are not producing for the team. Hopefully VVS can hold his own for the rest of the series (will be tough as it seems the Aussies have picked a pretty big flaw in his technique at the moment - swing on bouncy wickets - he just chases the ball with the bat). After the series, lets hope (if it is his wish) that he gets to retire as the champion he is and has been.
^ Yep' date=' VVS is a below average fielder[/quote'] He is an asset in the slips. I do not even remember the last time he dropped a catch. I would like to know who is better than him in slips and why? :finger:
He is an asset in the slips. I do not even remember the last time he dropped a catch. I would like to know who is better than him in slips and why? :finger:
he dropped 2 catches in third test against w.indies:--D anyways he is currently india's best slip fielder
He is an asset in the slips. I do not even remember the last time he dropped a catch. I would like to know who is better than him in slips and why? :finger:
Arey yaar, he runs like he is running in a paddy field. Very shameful stuff.
Nicker Viru , Sachin all are better than him