Ranji Trophy is Sh!te, it breeds mediocre and mentally weak players

I have been following Ranji last few years, and can conclude it's a joke of first class competition. Looking at the way Ranji Trophy is conducted and how states win games with some f**k logic of 1st innings leads, Ranji Trophy breeds mediocrity and mentally weak players. Ranji Trophy doesn't prepare a player for International cricket, and especially for overseas Test cricket. Let's be honest historically India have been shite in overseas Tests, and were fortunate to have a once in generation batting line-up to take it to the top for a temporary period. But alas nothing will change as the vampires running BCCI will be filling their filthy pockets with their dirty greasy hands, giving two hoots about the way forward. And these vampires will continue sucking Indian cricket as ODI cricket and IPL will always remain healthy. Ranji Trophy belongs in the dinosaur age that attracts zero crowd, no quality, poor games, no competitive cricket. Ranji Trophy is certainly currently what defines Indian Test Cricket, old and morbid, and not an ounce of bahaduri.

Well, I guess, many would share your frustrations with ranji To improve standards, may be they could try * reducing teams to 8 or less. In this way more quality players can play against each other * allowing a couple of overseas players in a side * encouraging teams to go for wins. By doing so captaincy is more attack oriented, along with batsman and bowlers playing to get results

Very good thread. Ranji trophy is actually pulling Indian cricket back. The quality of players as well as the standard of pitches is really poor. There is more emphasis on personal records than preparing a player for competitive international cricket. India has never been a dominant oveseas team in tests and the nature of our domestic cricket is the biggest reason for that. BCCI should --- -- Decrease the number of Ranji matches. ( It would be very difficult to abolish as a lot of state level politics and lust for power in the cricket administration world is involved ) -- Increase the number of ZONAL matches a lot, maybe include a couple of overseas players as someone has suggested earlier. The quality of players and competitiveness would be much higher. players would be tougher and ready for international cricket much more than they are currently. -- Improve the quality of pitches so that both bowlers ( pace and spin ) as well as batsmen get help. -- Stress should be creating competitive cricketers who play hard and go for wins rather than those who thrive on creating personal records. -- For selection, only Zonal cricket records should be considered for national team selection. -- The pace of bowling in domestic cricket should be increased, by picking quicker bowlers in Zonal teams, so that upcoming players get more prepared for internation cricket during their development days. Currently the situation is abysmal with pacers bowling at 115 k to 125 k generally.

decreasing of no of teams would be unfair.. we will not see small town cricketers if there r less no of teams..
If we have a few Ranji matches and a lot of Zonal matches then this problem can be easily addressed. Exceptional players, even if they are small town, would get noticed via Ranji matches and can play Zonal cricket eventually. Even now, a 2 tier domestic system exists but the emphasis is on Ranji rather than Zonal matches. This needs to change.
lack of participation from top players in Ranji is one of the reason. Dravid plays regularly.
THIS. How can you expect the standards to be raised when the top players chicken out of playing in Ranji for the fear of getting exposed? Else BCCI should allow International players in Ranji team to raise the performance level. I think IPL is and will be the main cause in killing Indian cricket, in the long run..

IPL is killing test cricket in India. A lot of youngsters want to play in IPL. They are all training to become a good IPL player but a *****y test player.

Venugopal Rao has altered his game to suit T20.
THIS. How can you expect the standards to be raised when the top players chicken out of playing in Ranji for the fear of getting exposed? Else BCCI should allow International players in Ranji team to raise the performance level. I think IPL is and will be the main cause in killing Indian cricket, in the long run..
Yaar even Aussie, Saffer, and English top players don't play in their FC tournament much. It is all about the conditions domestic players play in. They need to find balance between bat and bal, not too batting friendly, not too bowling friendly. Think if Indian players will play in FC, then who will play the test matches at that time in home season or away because these are played simultaneously. Do you see Aussie players playing FC cricket, no. It does not matter. Matter is how we prepare our next generation, what kind of environment we give to them.
Indian first class structure works that way. Australia has great academy where they review domestic performance on an yearly basis. In the yearly report they discuss even minute things. Indian first class cricket thrives from competitive environment. It does matter in India. Guys like Sreesanth, Chawla got the attention by picking up wicket of Tendulkar. Only way you can create such an environment by having their top players play.
But when it is not possible very much why we cannot replicate them. Do you think Indian players will be much motivated to FC cricket in the rest or gap they from international cricket, especially guys like SRT, RD, VVS who are even trying to save whatever they have left in their old bodies. They can play one odd match but that is not enough. If a young player has talent and motivation, he will make it to the highest level in every situation.
True. If our international players start playing domestic cricket then we would say that they are tiring themselves even more and are getting burned out. It is a catch 22 situation. That is why I am suggesting increase in the numbe of zonal matches where the quality of cricket played is much better than Ranji. Plus good pitches are a must.
But when it is not possible very much why we cannot replicate them. Do you think Indian players will be much motivated to FC cricket in the rest or gap they from international cricket, especially guys like SRT, RD, VVS who are even trying to save whatever they have left in their old bodies. They can play one odd match but that is not enough. If a young player has talent and motivation, he will make it to the highest level in every situation.
Remove IPL. Everything else will fall in place. They will have more time to play first class games. There will be enough motivation from youngsters to do well at the highest level of cricket.
That is an impractical suggestion and there is 0 % chance of it happening in real life. Although it must be said that IPL is one of the main reasons why our players have lost the motivation to play test cricket and are not prepared to put in the extra hard work that is needed for tests. Even the older icons have lost test mentality after the IPL has been introduced. But, leaving aside a few thousand cricket connoisseurs, like some of us in ICF, most of the crores of our countrymen and women are watching the IPL with much more enthusiasm than tests and some are even talking about stopping test matches altogether. So IPL will stay and tests will diminish in importance over time, no matter how much we dislike it.
But IPL is played in summer April-May predominantly and we normally did not play FC matches at that time even before. Our FC season always lasted till March. The best thing is to expand Duleep trophy and play simultaneously with Ranji trophy. Best of the zone players will participate in Duleep and rest in Ranji that is what I had said on one of thread.

I don't agree entirely with this thread. We have seen mumbai producing some top batsmen over the years because of the bouncy track and fast track they have. Mumbai cricketers train in these fast tracks and become good back foot players and they bound to do well in all the overseas conditions. Gavaskar, vengsarkar, sachin, Rohit sharma, Ajinkya rahane and many more are the production of fast tracks. Improve the pitches, u will get many batsmen like these all over india. As for as fast bowlers are concerned, our selection team sucks. They select bowlers looking at the number of wickets they have got in the season, not their potential. When you see an young fast bowler bowling quick and making the batsmen dance on the pitch you gotta select him instead of trundlers. We have wasted plenty of talents over the years. At least now we have ipl which shows the potential fast bowlers and the selectors cannot ignore them because of they hype and the fame they get during this period. Lets hope this trend continues for fast bowlers. People are talking about sacking Eric simmons, But they don't realise he is a fan of pace bowlers, he will select the bowlers who bowl quick not the trundlers. I am sure indian team will do well in the future. Lets give some time to the youngsters. There is no magic wand to this problem. But i predict the situation will only improve from here.:two_thumbs_up: