Mariyam Posted January 23, 2012 Posted January 23, 2012 Related anecdote: A few days ago, I came to know from a social networking website that my school mate had gotten nakki-ed*. Was I happy for her? Yes, sure I was. Was I angry at not being told? Doubly yes. Yeh koi tareeqa hua? I checked up with all our common friends. None of them knew before hand. 5 saal school ke saath guzarein, tiffins share kiyein, saath mein bunking kari and now, leave alone calling us for the ceremony, or even informing us before the ceremony, you don't even have the courtesy to tell us after the ceremony. If she told me that she was happy for me, I would have a very difficult time believing it. :mad: (*) In Gujju people, the nakki ceremony is a pre- engagement ceremony where they families feed each other sweets and informally formalize ( yeah, I know) the rishta.
Mariyam Posted January 23, 2012 Posted January 23, 2012 ^Did you tell her abt yours :sherlock: Yes, I did. She knew anyways :P I personally handed over wedding/engagement cards too. Here I wasn't even as much as sent a SMS. :mad:
Vijay.Sharma Posted January 23, 2012 Posted January 23, 2012 Yes, I did. She knew anyways :P I personally handed over wedding/engagement cards too. Here I wasn't even as much as sent a SMS. :mad:Yaar, shayad she didn't wanna make it a big thing and wanted to keep it low key until the main event. Hota hai re, aise kabhi kabhi. Maaf kar de usse and enjoy the days ahead!
Vijay.Sharma Posted January 23, 2012 Posted January 23, 2012 On a related thingy with Mariyam's example, this happened in our friend circle just after college. Maybe you guys also experienced it. Immediately after college or during the last semester when we would apply for jobs and all, we would so openly tell each other where we applied and keep everyone updated as to what is happening. Once some of the applications did not yield, slowly folks started getting a little discrete. People started to not tell if they applied somewhere until they finally got the job. And then once they got the job they would tell the gang that they got it. The whole gang would be like grrrrrr without caring that individually even they did the same. The best part is this - the reason given by each and everyone of the buggers was "superstition" - agar main khule aam bolunga toh shaayad job nahi milega!
jusarrived Posted January 23, 2012 Posted January 23, 2012 am just indifferent on most cases ..the third person is not going to be happy/sad for ever , then why bother .
punjabi_khota Posted January 23, 2012 Posted January 23, 2012 Yes, I did. She knew anyways :P I personally handed over wedding/engagement cards too. Here I wasn't even as much as sent a SMS. :mad: Maybe your reputation as a stingy shagun-giver and a voracious eater precedes you :hysterical:
India-KXIP fan Posted January 23, 2012 Posted January 23, 2012 Ofcourse. Especially with people you really care about. O wait not including family, it has to be a 50/50.
flamy Posted January 23, 2012 Posted January 23, 2012 Maybe your reputation as a stingy shagun-giver and a voracious eater precedes you :hysterical: :cantstop:
Ram Posted January 23, 2012 Posted January 23, 2012 I believe in it, I use it too. When you are friends with people for 10, 12, 15 years and you see them move along in life (great jobs, marriage, buy homes, kids even), of course you feel happy for them and you want to express that happiness. Even though it is true that the world is full of jeaous bastards that couldnt be more happier if terrible things happen to you, I am sure all of have a select group that we genuinely relate to.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted January 23, 2012 Posted January 23, 2012 Was she responsible for the bengal famine? Sent from my GT-I9103 using Tapatalk