This is HUGE news. I am surprised no one has posted on this. Swamy does it again !! "New Delhi: Dealing a major blow to the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) Government the Supreme Court on Thursday cancelled all 122 telecom licences allotted under the 2G spectrum on or after January 10, 2008. All additional spectrum given to incumbents on or after January 10, 2008 have also been cancelled. While cancelling the licences the Supreme Court ruled that 85 out of the 122 licences were outside the eligibility criteria for allocation. The apex court said that the 122 licences for 2G spectrum were granted in an arbitrary and unconstitutional manner. The licences, which were allotted by former telecom minister A Raja, will be cancelled in four months from now and the Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) must go in for a fresh issue of licences during this period, the apex court observed. A penalty of Rs 5 crore has been imposed on Unitech Wireless Ltd (Uninor), Swan Telecom and Tata Telecom. A penalty of Rs 50 lakh has also been imposed on Loop, S-Tel, Allianz and Sistema Shyam. The licences cancelled include 21 of Videocon, 22 of Unitech Wireless Ltd (Uninor), nine of Idea, 21 of Loop, six of S-Tel, 21 of Sistema, three of Tata, 13 of Swan and two of Allianz. The Supreme Court also asked the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) to give status report on the investigation into the 2G scam to the Central Vigilance Commission. Raja has been accused of masterminding the multi-crore 2G scam and is presently lodged in the Tihar Jail in Delhi. In another critical judgement, the Supreme Court referred the matter of whether the role of former finance minister P Chidambaram should be investigated back to the trial court of Justice OP Saini. This represents a breather for Chidambaram, but it does not lift the cloud over him. The apex court also refused to direct the CBI to probe the alleged role of Chidambaram in the case and asked trial court to decide on the Home Minister within two weeks" http://ibnlive.in.com/news/sc-cancels-all-122-2g-licences-pc-gets-a-breather/226374-7.html

News of the year so far .. there is after all a part of our democracy that still delivers the punch. What will be the economic ramifications though ? The verdict on Vodafone was a positive one, this might swing the other way.

^ Even if we are to consider the economic ramifications, i don't see it as a bad thing in the longer term. Sooner rather than later we need to have a cleaner/fairer system in place, not one of the most corrupt in the world. If the current govt cant pass reforms for fear of scams, the next govt will. Hopefully they'll remember Kalmadi & Raja while they do so.

Expect lengthy litigation and stay orders coming. Some of the ill gotten benefits from the scam run in billions of dollars - the companies involved will try to use some muscle to get the order reversed

what good will that do? isnt the supreme courts decision sort of final?
Why not ask the companies to pay up the difference/reasonable amount instead of canceling and disrupting their business?
Who decides the reasonable amount ? The auction. You can't auction the spectrum without it being available.
Supreme decisions from Supreme court. Isn't justice a good thing ?
Who decides the reasonable amount ? The auction. You can't auction the spectrum without it being available.
Auction is one way. That is gone. Now folks have paid up and started businesses around these allocation. Instead of screwing all of them, best approach would be to go back to them ask them to cough up more cash instead of saying you are all out now.
Auction is one way. That is gone. Now folks have paid up and started businesses around these allocation. Instead of screwing all of them' date=' best approach would be to go back to them ask them to cough up more cash instead of saying you are all out now.[/quote'] How much more should they pay, that's one question. Moreover, the ultimate judicial authority in the world's largest democracy might not want to encourage such actions and set an example once and for all. Its not even that big of a cost, some inconvenience to telecom customers; pales in comparison to the other problems caused by such blatant corruption.
Why not ask the companies to pay up the difference/reasonable amount instead of canceling and disrupting their business?
Its never that way. For many reasons. I'll highlight a few. 1) You have no way to accurately estimate what a reasonable amount is. These are government tenders you are talking about. How do you zero in on what a bid might have been, had it not been for the tainted bidder? 2) There is an intangible 'loss of opportunity' for all the other parties/bidders involved. Making Loop (just for eg) pay the difference now. That also has to be accounted for.
Corruption runs so deep in the Indian psyche' date=' its sad.[/quote'] Trolling runs very deep in your psyche, its sad
I am no legal expert but I think they can file for a stay order against the judgment. Mariyam, can you clarify if there is legal recourse available for the companies given that its the supreme court which has pronounced the order

A lot of people are making the corporates look like the naive ones who got robbed here. So I have one question- Where was their morality when they were bribing the politicians?

its a government's job to regulate. Corporation's primary and only concern is its bottom line. Morality plays no role in its decision making.
So how can they claim to be shocked? Thats like someone saying, "I put my hand on the flames and it got burnt".
So how can they claim to be shocked? Thats like someone saying' date=' "I put my hand on the flames and it got burnt".[/quote'] so you expect them to incriminate themselves?