It is for Sachin to decide when to retire: Kapil

That was great low scoring match. In between that was the first big ODI series which Sachin had played, earlier he had played some home series or few tournaments in Sharjah, and he was the only batsman from Indian team to stand up to the challenge of playing ODI on Australian pitches, all at the age of 18. He was highest run getter with highest average for India, with some margin on both counts. Batting numbers from that series. http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/records/averages/batting_bowling_by_team.html?id=662;team=6;type=tournament I am giving these numbers just for the posters who posted sometime back that Sachin was given long rope in ODI's for first 3-4 years, without him exactly deserving a position in team. It is such an ignorant statement that people who watched cricket live that time would fall off laughing. The other next big ODI tournament he played was WC 1992. Here are the batting numbers of that tournament. http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/records/averages/batting_bowling_by_team.html?id=665;team=6;type=tournament This also shows that you have to watch cricket before declaring who is great and who is not. Statsguru can help you that much only.
so far I have seen only one.
That was great low scoring match. In between that was the first big ODI series which Sachin had played, earlier he had played some home series or few tournaments in Sharjah, and he was the only batsman from Indian team to stand up to the challenge of playing ODI on Australian pitches, all at the age of 18. He was highest run getter with highest average for India, with some margin on both counts. Batting numbers from that series. http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/records/averages/batting_bowling_by_team.html?id=662;team=6;type=tournament I am giving these numbers just for the posters who posted sometime back that Sachin was given long rope in ODI's for first 3-4 years, without him exactly deserving a position in team. It is such an ignorant statement that people who watched cricket live that time would fall off laughing. The other next big ODI tournament he played was WC 1992. Here are the batting numbers of that tournament. http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/records/averages/batting_bowling_by_team.html?id=665;team=6;type=tournament This also shows that you have to watch cricket before declaring who is great and who is not. Statsguru can help you that much only.
grand total of 2 batsmen averaging over 30!!
No man that was different match' date=' it was against SA.This magician has done it many times. I would just recall a match against Srilanka, Vass was bowling and Sachin was at non striker and LAxman at striker end. Just before the 4th ball Sachin shouted [b']UPAR DALEGA SAMBHAL KE ,we were able to hear through stump mike. And it was an attempted yorker which was beauitifully flicked by Laxman for four. How he did that I didnt understood?
Ironically - his strength (anticipation) has been his greatest weakness.
so far I have seen only one.
No, definitely there are more than one. There was one who proposed this theory and then second who immeditely agreed to that point. There were others as well in discussion who were is tacit agreement.

Shastri was a selfish dude. He had sharp cricket acument. Would have made a far better captain than Azaharuddin. But sadly his own performance was very selfish. he displayed that trait first in 1985 benson and hedges where Srikkanth was his chief rival to win the man of the series Audi car. More than the win, talk of the town was how Shastri played for that car.

Two problems with 1987 team' date=' no out and out pace bowler like Srinath and ofcourse you need a brilliant ODI player like Sachin, Viv, Lara, Ponting to make it your best right you need these players, in this regard I consider 1991 team visitng Aus as our best.[/quote'] I will trade all the names for Kapil Dev. In LOI you would be hard pressed to look for a player who could contribute more in all discplines. Maybe Richards would pip Kapil but everybody else I shall gladly trade. 1987 team had a good opening pair, strong middle order, good hitters and decent combination of pace and spin. Coming as it did after 1983 WC and 1985 Benson Hedges success, plus this being in subcontinent, India were the favorites along with West Indies and Pakistan. Too bad all of these teams got kicked out in semis or before.
LOL Shashtri was very much capable of that in those days. and - badi jabardast yaad-dasht hai dost.. I have followed almost every match since mid 80s - except for a period of 2-3 years, I could never recall that level of details. topi utaara hua salaam sweekaar karein ...(hats-off).
Thank You but Keep that hats-off for CT. I do remember some matches from around the time I had started watching cricket.
grand total of 2 batsmen averaging over 30!!
That Australian summer was almost as bad as this summer or even worse. We were bludgeoned in test series by 4-0, Lost in tri-series and were nowhere near knock out round in WC. Though difficult to say, but I would still rate 2011 tour worse as in 91-92 tour we had atleast drawn one test, Sydney. This time, the only reason why we didn't lose series by margin of 5-0 is because we had just four test. Though if you look at past record, this 4-0 loss downunder is kind of resumption of normal service with preceding two tours being aberrations. Last five test series to Australia. 91-92 - Lost 4-0 (5 Test) 99 - Lost 3-0 (3 Test) 03 - Drawn 1-1 07-08 - Drawn 1-1 (official lost 2-1) 11-12 - Lost 4-0 (4 test) So not much point in losing sleep over this 4-0 drubbing :winky:
So many old men in this thread' date=' apni jawaani ke din yaad kar rahe hain, koi lauta de inke vo beete hue din.:giggle:[/quote'] But what you doing in this thread? Go and discuss Murtaza Vohara with your brigade in some other thread.
But what you doing in this thread? Go and discuss Murtaza Vohara with your brigade in some other thread.
Ye gussa vaise najaayaz nahi, magar aapka is adaa se jawab dena fir bhi jaayaz nahi main to har shabd ko ishq aur mohabbat se bharta hun, aadmi hun aadmi se pyar karta hun :haha: :--D
tumblr_liwbfbpWhn1qaa39n.gif