The Outsider Posted March 29, 2012 Posted March 29, 2012 Looks like Rajoana's execution has been put on hold despite the fact that he is not repentant of the crime, because of the pressure on the government coming from protests in Punjab - there was a shutdown yesterday, I believe. I can understand protesting against the imposition of death penalty in general, which is something I would support and which is what a lot of human rights group do. However, these protests are not based on that line of thinking. Why is SGPC filing mercy petitions on his behalf? And why are people coming out on the streets to support this terrorist? http://blogs.wsj.com/indiarealtime/2012/03/29/india-puts-rajoanas-execution-on-hold/ http://india.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/03/28/image-of-the-day-march-28/
asterix Posted March 29, 2012 Posted March 29, 2012 Because if Kasab or Afzal Guru karein tho dance aur Rajoana karein tho Mujra?
The Outsider Posted March 29, 2012 Author Posted March 29, 2012 Because if Kasab or Afzal Guru karein tho dance aur Rajoana karein tho Mujra? I am not aware of any statewide protests against the execution of Kasab or Afzal Guru, bandhs being called and mercy petitions being submitted by any prominent religious or political organization. Not talking about human rights group here - they protest every execution.
Andrew Peter Posted March 29, 2012 Posted March 29, 2012 If the Lungis down south can bring a halt to the death penalty awarded to Killers of Rajeev Gandhi in name of Tamil Brotherhood then why cant Sikhs ?
Sachinism Posted March 29, 2012 Posted March 29, 2012 LOL Seems like everyone wants their right to protest unnecessarily
1983-2011 Posted March 29, 2012 Posted March 29, 2012 shouldnt the supporters of this terrorist be labelled as deshdrohi, am surprised RSS hasnt said anything about these supporters of a terrorists and tell them to go Pakistan
Sachin=GOD Posted March 29, 2012 Posted March 29, 2012 I am not aware of any statewide protests against the execution of Kasab or Afzal Guru' date= bandhs being called and mercy petitions being submitted by any prominent religious or political organization. Not talking about human rights group here - they protest every execution. that also may happen when the date for their execution comes near.
Clarke Posted March 29, 2012 Posted March 29, 2012 Thekedaari business combined with absurd levels of stupidity.
asterix Posted March 29, 2012 Posted March 29, 2012 that also may happen when the date for their execution comes near. Already they've triggered blasts in Delhi High Court to "prevent' Afzal Guru's hanging..
1983-2011 Posted March 29, 2012 Posted March 29, 2012 that also may happen when the date for their execution comes near. so how about we execute this terrorist to set the record straight and tell the masses that judicial verdict will not be held at hostage.
The Outsider Posted March 29, 2012 Author Posted March 29, 2012 If the Lungis down south can bring a halt to the death penalty awarded to Killers of Rajeev Gandhi in name of Tamil Brotherhood then why cant Sikhs ? Yeah, that's equally bad and so would be the scenario if we see protests against the execution of Kasab along religious or sectarian lines. I don't see anything wrong in protesting all executions like human rights group do, but these kind of protests with support from prominent political and religious organizations are troublesome.
The Outsider Posted March 29, 2012 Author Posted March 29, 2012 Already they've triggered blasts in Delhi High Court to "prevent' Afzal Guru's hanging.. Who is "they"?
Sachin=GOD Posted March 29, 2012 Posted March 29, 2012 Already they've triggered blasts in Delhi High Court to "prevent' Afzal Guru's hanging.. Abhi aagey aagey dekho hota hai kya... so how about we execute this terrorist to set the record straight and tell the masses that judicial verdict will not be held at hostage. that is what will eventually happen. Al these "protests" will not last long and all they can achieve is delaying the execution by a few more days/months.
The Outsider Posted March 29, 2012 Author Posted March 29, 2012 Guru's supporters in Kashmir.. Those are nameless, faceless terrorist organizations. Don't you think it's different from well renowned political parties and religious organizations protesting along sectarian or religious lines? And the irony here is that the CM assassinated was a Sikh himself.
asterix Posted March 29, 2012 Posted March 29, 2012 Those are nameless' date=' faceless terrorist organizations. Don't you think it's different from well renowned political parties and religious organizations protesting along sectarian or religious lines? And the irony here is that the CM assassinated was a Sikh himself.[/quote'] Yeah but Afzal Guru is not even in line for execution in few days. We will see what happens when his execution day is finalised (however I've my doubts, if he ever gets a final date)... You'll be surprised if Afzal gets a final date and what Digvijaya Singh or Mulayam Singh say at that time..
ravishingravi Posted March 29, 2012 Posted March 29, 2012 I am against death sentence. I think it is not even harshest punishment possible. I don't think it is a sufficient deterrent in any case for terrorists.
CSK Fan Posted March 29, 2012 Posted March 29, 2012 Yeah but Afzal Guru is not even in line for execution in few days. We will see what happens when his execution day is finalised (however I've my doubts, if he ever gets a final date)... You'll be surprised if Afzal gets a final date and what Digvijaya Singh or Mulayam Singh say at that time.. Never gonna happen. If it was an Indian guy, maybe yes, not with a Pakistani. those guys are not fools in politics, they know which way the winds blow
asterix Posted March 29, 2012 Posted March 29, 2012 Never gonna happen. If it was an Indian guy' date=' maybe yes, not with a Pakistani. those guys are not fools in politics, they know which way the winds blow[/quote'] I thought Afzal Guru is Kashmiri.... Edit: Checked Wiki, He's indeed a Kashmiri.. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Afzal_Guru