India vs England 2012

• Yes, I feel excess money in Indian cricket system may have spoilt things
    • No, I think money has no influence on our Test side problems

I fully endorse the selection of Jadeja for the following reasons: 1. Guy has a proper technique. Having seen him in LOIs, he has the technique to be a successful test batsman, provided his temperament isn't too LOI-ish. His three triples should be good indicator that he has the temperament to succeed at the Test level. Was impressed by his proper playing through the V and hot too much cutting - a good, risk free technique and seems to put a price on his wicket. 2. Is a lefty, so provides a good option in the middle order, sandwiched between 2 righties on either side of him (Tendu/Kohli above, Ashwin & Dhoni below). 3. Is a good option for India to develop, since he is a decent, if a bit dart-ish SLA spinner and if he and Ashwin pan out over the next few years, India would have two decent spin options for overseas while keeping a deep batting lineup (which we will need in the post Fearsome-Foursome middle order days). 4. Showing obligation to those who've earned it. Not saying that there arn't better batsmen in India at the moment, but Jadeja is in as good a form as any, having scored 3 triples in the last 16 months IIRC! 5. Perfect time to blood Jadeja: His confidence (in his batting) has gotto be at its peak and can't get any higher: you don't get anymore confident than scoring 3 triples in first class and conversely, nothing deflates you worse than not being given a chance despite lighting it up in the domestic circuit to such proportions for a couple of seasons. he may not pan out, but he has definitely earned his chance.
Did not all of this apply to Rahane who has been warming the benches for so long now only to see UV throwing his wickets away?
I fully endorse the selection of Jadeja for the following reasons: 1. Guy has a proper technique. Having seen him in LOIs, he has the technique to be a successful test batsman, provided his temperament isn't too LOI-ish. His three triples should be good indicator that he has the temperament to succeed at the Test level. Was impressed by his proper playing through the V and hot too much cutting - a good, risk free technique and seems to put a price on his wicket. 2. Is a lefty, so provides a good option in the middle order, sandwiched between 2 righties on either side of him (Tendu/Kohli above, Ashwin & Dhoni below). 3. Is a good option for India to develop, since he is a decent, if a bit dart-ish SLA spinner and if he and Ashwin pan out over the next few years, India would have two decent spin options for overseas while keeping a deep batting lineup (which we will need in the post Fearsome-Foursome middle order days). 4. Showing obligation to those who've earned it. Not saying that there arn't better batsmen in India at the moment, but Jadeja is in as good a form as any, having scored 3 triples in the last 16 months IIRC! 5. Perfect time to blood Jadeja: His confidence (in his batting) has gotto be at its peak and can't get any higher: you don't get anymore confident than scoring 3 triples in first class and conversely, nothing deflates you worse than not being given a chance despite lighting it up in the domestic circuit to such proportions for a couple of seasons. he may not pan out, but he has definitely earned his chance.
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::haha::haha::cantstop::cantstop::cantstop::giggle::giggle::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Did not all of this apply to Rahane who has been warming the benches for so long now only to see UV throwing his wickets away?
It does and IMO, Rahane should be the other option if Jadeja fails/Tendulkar retires or Kohli (who should be on thin ice) fails again. IMO, i think Jadeja *has* to be considered- scoring three triples in 16 months and still not getting a shot to play in a rebuiding team is the worst possible message you want to send to the up-and-commers. I do think that Jadeja offers more than Rahane for the test team (the latter is a stroke-player. He may be great potential and make it work, but right now what India needs is a person who can stick to the wicket and do a Chanderpaul-in-the-old days stuff. Jadeja is the man for that IMO), with his left arm tweakers that allows India to field a batting lineup 8-deep and still have spin option covered in English/Saffie conditions (if Jadeja and Ashwin manage to stick).
Yaar, Jadeja has done things now. Rahane has been in the fray for a very long time now with good performances in Domestic level. And about offering to the team, I would rather have a potent batsman at #6,considering how long our tail is turning out to be now than one more bits and pieces cricekter.
To be a strokeless wonder at #6. The sort that can score 60 runs off of 150 balls. The sort we need in the team right now IMO.
Arre yaar what takneek does Jadeja have to survive 150 balls of a test innings if the top order have failed - he can't play the short ball, he doesn't have a front foot defense, and he does not have a deep in the crease movement. Kahan se survival hoga 150 balls ka?
Yaar' date=' Jadeja has done things now. Rahane has been in the fray for a very long time now with good performances in Domestic level. And about offering to the team, I would rather have a potent batsman at #6,considering how long our tail is turning out to be now than one more bits and pieces cricekter.[/quote'] True. My point is, Rahane only has to wait a bit longer - between Tendu retiring and Kohli still fumbling around, a spot in the middle is going to be available in the next 12 months for sure. However, Jadeja has the right 'dour batsman' quality that i seek in a lower middle order bat, who is also at the moment, at the peak of his confidence, its the best time for us to blood him IMO.
Arre yaar what takneek does Jadeja have to survive 150 balls of a test innings if the top order have failed - he can't play the short ball' date=' he doesn't have a front foot defense, and he does not have a deep in the crease movement. Kahan se survival hoga 150 balls ka?[/quote'] He routinely plays in the V, does not cut early in his innings , gets to the pitch of the ball consistently, is aware where his offstump is and most importantly, has displayed the 'preserve wicket over scoring runs' mentality for the last 15 months of domestic cricket. That is a quality that is a 'must have' for our team, for we packed with strokeplayers but not the Dravid/Cronje type 'shut down the action' type of players.
He routinely plays in the V' date=' does not cut early in his innings , gets to the pitch of the ball consistently, is aware where his offstump is and most importantly, has displayed the 'preserve wicket over scoring runs' mentality for the last 15 months of domestic cricket. That is a quality that is a 'must have' for our team, for we packed with strokeplayers but not the Dravid/Cronje type 'shut down the action' type of players.[/quote'] Chalo yaar ab Jaddu is in Dravid category! Lage raho! :adore:
He routinely plays in the V' date=' does not cut early in his innings , gets to the pitch of the ball consistently, is aware where his offstump is and most importantly, has displayed the 'preserve wicket over scoring runs' mentality for the last 15 months of domestic cricket. That is a quality that is a 'must have' for our team, for we packed with strokeplayers but not the Dravid/Cronje type 'shut down the action' type of players.[/quote'] A batsman to be successful at test level must have a strong front foot defence which he does not have, neither Raina and Yuvraj had. There can be exceptions but you dont go by exceptions but by norms. In fact, I really do not see a good technical left handed young batsman in Indian domestic cricket. We are better playing good right handers rather than searching for nonexitsent good left handers. We have rarely produced good left handed test match batsmen.
Chalo yaar ab Jaddu is in Dravid category! Lage raho! :adore:
I don't know what you are reading, but that is clearly not what i said. I said what he has like Dravid (which BTW, Hansie Cronje,Jaques Kallis,Hashim Amla, Shoaib Mohammed, Shiv Chanderpaul (version I), etc. also had- regardless of how successful they were or not) is putting a price on their wicket. People who are not bothered if they have scored 5 runs in 40 balls, they are not waiting/praying the next delivery to be a fraction overpitched/short so they can bash it and get runs. People who are okay with scoring 25 off of 100 balls. That is the kind of mentality Jadeja has (or atleast, had when he first debuted for India and has shown last Ranji season) and that is a critical thing to have for lower-middle order bats. A test team is rarely a team of strokeplayers, one usually ends up needing these dour characters and currently, we only have one in our side and he's a newbie (Pujara). One big reason why India fails to put up a decent fight when batting under pressure, is because we have nobody who can drop anchor and staunch the flow of wickets from one end. Ashwin can do that to an extent, though Jadeja is a better bat than Ashwin in my books.
A batsman to be successful at test level must have a strong front foot defence which he does not have' date=' neither Raina and Yuvraj had. There can be exceptions but you dont go by exceptions but by norms. In fact, I really do not see a good technical left handed young batsman in Indian domestic cricket. We are better playing good right handers rather than searching for nonexitsent good left handers. We have rarely produced good left handed test match batsmen.[/quote'] Chanderpaul, Kallis, Shoaib Mohammed, Hansie Cronje, etc. all started with non-existent front foot techniques and succeeded. The issue can be addressed, provided the player demonstrates a strong commitment towards playing his strokes only on deliveries he is sure to clobber, strong awareness of the off stump and the ability to not be bothered if they go through extended periods without scoring runs. Not to mention, any player who scores 3 triples in domestic cricket deserves to get a shot at test cricket, period. Otherwise, don't complain about faulty techniques and commitment towards IPL type gamestyles, for if you do not give a player who scores multiple triple centuries a shot in Test cricket, might as well declare your first class cricket to be completely worthless. I'd have argued for his selection if this was 2007 and we still had Dada, Laxy and Dravid, nevermind now when practically the entire middle order is up for grabs.
Chanderpaul' date=' Kallis, Shoaib Mohammed, Hansie Cronje, etc. all started with [b']non-existent front foot techniques and succeeded. The issue can be addressed, provided the player demonstrates a strong commitment towards playing his strokes only on deliveries he is sure to clobber, strong awareness of the off stump and the ability to not be bothered if they go through extended periods without scoring runs. Not to mention, any player who scores 3 triples in domestic cricket deserves to get a shot at test cricket, period. Otherwise, don't complain about faulty techniques and commitment towards IPL type gamestyles, for if you do not give a player who scores multiple triple centuries a shot in Test cricket, might as well declare your first class cricket to be completely worthless. I'd have argued for his selection if this was 2007 and we still had Dada, Laxy and Dravid, nevermind now when practically the entire middle order is up for grabs.
:facepalm::facepalm::facepalm:
Explain to me then why would a guy who scores 3 triple centuries in 15 months of domestic cricket does not get to play. This is the reason why Indian cricket sucks. There is no adherence to system or rewarding those who perform through the system, we as selectors are consistently pandering to zoning politics and we as fans are consistently hoping for a team of 20 year old tendulkars, kumbles and allan donalds. No concept of reality or what team-building actually takes. Jadeja has vaulted to the top of the foodchain for deserving a go for a middle order slot. There is no question to that in my mind, as far as rewarding accomplishments go.
1.You have to look at the quality of attacks and pitches he has scored agianst. 2.He has failed against punjab and hyderabad fast bowlers this season Where pitches had bounce like mohali. 3.Tiwary has been consistent for 2 seasons and was ahead of him.Even Rohit sharma has been consistent in Domestic cricket and rahane too average nearly 60. 4.Against Fast bowlers he hangs back in the crease expecting short bowling and does not go forward. 5.He does not Look like a proper batsman. 6.He is no long term investment as he will struggle outside sc . 7.he does not handle pressure well in odis so in tests he may do the same.