ICC World T20, 2012 SriLanka

Feed

ICC World T20, 2012 SriLanka  

I dont think its a whole lot to do with 'hamare zamaane mein xyz..'. Its just the nature and limitation of trying to have a worthwhile discussion on a sports forum imo. Supporting a team is an attempt at gaining vicarious pride and one-upmanship for many people (of course without earning any of it through hard work of their own). At some level, they take credit for winning the world cup. On the flip side, during last year's summer some of my English club teammates acted like I was personally responsible for the 4-0 loss against England. It is a mindset that is bad enough in isolation but add in some nationalist vitriol (in cricket as opposed to club rivalries in most other sports), the anonymous and relatively juvenile nature of the internet and you get the stereotypical Indian forum warrior. Some might have 'graduated', if your can call it that from "my country is better than yours ..we pwned you bwahaha" to "my player/era is better than yours.. you know nothing about the game" and it might be a more elaborate, sophisticated form of one-upmanship involving stats and longer posts but the underlying principles are quite similar imo. It might be exacerbated because the fans are Indian but this is just what you get in a sports forum more generally, and there's not a whole lot anyone can do it stop it. I think its some form of rational irrationality. There's a nice tedtalk explaining the concept wrt politics and religion but you can easily translate that into sports (start from 7:30) Rough translations: Politics == Sports Government/country == A sports forum [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4JYL5VUe5NQ]TEDxMileHighSalon - Michael Huemer - The Irrationality of Politics - YouTube[/ame] *slight tangent* Since about 2-2.5 years, I've been trying to make sure that the main reason I watch sports or discuss sports stuff on forums is for enjoyment (I haven't been entirely successful at this but its been a lot better generally). Also, I feel a bit puzzled and sad when I read people spending a lot of time and effort writing elaborate posts on team selections, the kinds of pitches that need to be produced for the next series and so on. It means that someone out there thinks that spending effort on something that they have no control over (team selections is the most obvious example). They might as well write 10 page essays on the exact weather conditions that they want for the next month. *complete tangent* Speaking of controllables/uncontrollables, I have tried to see a couple of my previously hypothetical ideas through in real life. The old timers might remember my (terribly written) article about a bowler's 20/20 format of the game. I've pitched the idea to my club to hold a few pre-season friendlies in this format bt splitting our squad into A and B teams and to hold an anti-net session (as opposed to the normal ones where the batters just go slap bang) where the defense of the batsmen is tested (and the 'look good in the nets' batsmen are separated from the ones that are actually good) and the bowlers get a good workout in match conditions. Both out first and second teams ended up topping our respective divisions \o/ (we had better players too this season tbf). btw, my spelling and grammar = terrible. Apologies.

Nope' date=' I didn't expect them to do so at all. But even when it was clear that they would reach the target of 112 safely with Hussey set and wkts in hand they never tried to accelerate and get closer to the target. It was as if the only thing they wanted was to get to 112 and that's it.[/quote'] yes they did so..because their job is to ABSOLUTELY ensure that Australia reaches the next round...it is not their job to ensure our sorry ass rockstars play the next round...it is really in bad taste to criticize their approach as if it is their job to ensure we qualify..

UG and few others before saying Aus did not show any intent in Pak game you should be asking the following. Where was the intent from Kohli and Yuvi in Pakistan game? They knew very well that Aus thrashing would hurt you later in the tournament. Where was the intent against SA when Dhoni and Raina were sitting in the dressing room watch Rohit play a test match despite you guys needing quick runs. Where was the positive intent from Indian team who kept their best bowler away from bowling when you had SA on the mat. Instead of trying to risk losing by going for qualification they settled for winning a meaningless game . Dhoni and Balaji celebration proved it at the end.

What stand? It's an intenet sports forum for crying out loud.
Stand against are you going to be lenient or harsh or moderate - pick one which you feel good and stick to it.
UG and few others before saying Aus did not show any intent in Pak game you should be asking the following. Where was the intent from Kohli and Yuvi in Pakistan game? They knew very well that Aus thrashing would hurt you later in the tournament. Where was the intent against SA when Dhoni and Raina were sitting in the dressing room watch Rohit play a test match despite you guys needing quick runs. Where was the positive intent from Indian team who kept their best bowler away from bowling when you had SA on the mat. Instead of trying to risk losing by going for qualification they settled for winning a meaningless game . Dhoni and Balaji celebration proved it at the end.
+1
We are the richest board in the ICC. Does someone pay you anything, do you get better stadiums or seats, do you pay less for tickets? No, we are one of the crappiest treated crowds in the world. Do we get any share out of what the BCCI makes? No, but we still like to gloat about it because in our eyes we are putting other countries down. Other countries down, why? Of course, when some country has attacked by some internet warriors we have to open our own bastion - chalo bhai recruiting chal rahi hai Paki bashin ki. I've been on ICF on it's primal form and here for around 8 years now - maybe I've got too old without realizing what is considered as rib tickling as opposed to obnoxious. And this is the only forum on which I am an active member of, so it really disappoints me that the "upcoming" generation of India has so much focus on forum wars. It's almost laughable to read comments day in and day out that "We bullied the crap out of you at phalaana ICC meeting". What percentage of the cut did you get out of the bullying besides getting to sit on disgusting seats under the sun in June?
I agree real sports fans will not behave like some people I have seen, people who are good out here have the knowledge and are fun to read, are more oriented towards the game not rowdiness, guys like RKT AND MANY OTHER POSTERS OUT HERE WHOSE VIEWS I LOVE TO READ ARE DECENT BUNCH:two_thumbs_up: . AND THEN THERE ARE THE KEY BOARD WARRIORS i CARE NOT TO INTERACT MUCH OR READ THEIR VIEWS AS I KNOW THEY DON'T HAVE MUCH TO DO WITH THE GAME ITSELF BUT SPREADING HATRED OR SPEWING VENOM.
++
++
I agree , Indian fans be prepared to see a lot more defeats , with Dhoni at the helm, damage done by Cheeka and co also the retirements and transition phase and no replacements being tried, also the teams we loose to not coming close to winning finals means we are loosing to mediocre teams.:((

I would be lying if i said i dont care if we dont win the trophy but in that process my biggest victory is against Pak team which i cant stand and yes winning trophy is much bigger than beating them but beating them is like a always a bonus and that joy given to Indian Fans is immeasurable.

And we are told we are obsessed.
But we dont make threads revenge for centurion dhaka etc . India vs Pakistan cricket rivalry is there for a reason and everyone understands that.
The way I look at things we have a T20 Cup' date=' Aussies are still trying to win one :smiley:[/quote'] Aussies have so much in their cupboard that you and I are going to die before India matches what they have now. Test series win in Australia and South Africa would be a good starting point, which I am pretty sure I am not going to see in my lifetime now.

As has been pointed out by Sid, if you're a fan of a football team, even a club let a lone a country- especially one that is in a SERIOUSLY epic and historic rivalry with another (like Leicester City/ Nottingham Forest :P )- the 'banter' that you can be engaged in can be much worse than what goes on over here

I dont think its a whole lot to do with 'hamare zamaane mein xyz..'. Its just the nature and limitation of trying to have a worthwhile discussion on a sports forum imo. Supporting a team is an attempt at gaining vicarious pride and one-upmanship for many people (of course without earning any of it through hard work of their own). At some level' date=' they take credit for winning the world cup. On the flip side, during last year's summer some of my English club teammates acted like [i']I was personally responsible for the 4-0 loss against England. It is a mindset that is bad enough in isolation but add in some nationalist vitriol (in cricket as opposed to club rivalries in most other sports), the anonymous and relatively juvenile nature of the internet and you get the stereotypical Indian forum warrior. Some might have 'graduated', if your can call it that from "my country is better than yours ..we pwned you bwahaha" to "my player/era is better than yours.. you know nothing about the game" and it might be a more elaborate, sophisticated form of one-upmanship involving stats and longer posts but the underlying principles are quite similar imo. It might be exacerbated because the fans are Indian but this is just what you get in a sports forum more generally, and there's not a whole lot anyone can do it stop it. I think its some form of rational irrationality. There's a nice tedtalk explaining the concept wrt politics and religion but you can easily translate that into sports (start from 7:30) Rough translations: Politics == Sports Government/country == A sports forum
The feeling of 'one upmanship' over another country is the almost the point of national team sports though right...?! thats part of the point of sport the tribalism that it induces, without taking it too far of course which is the OPs point...We kinda take it for granted at cricket because of the amount of cricket the national teams play. But if a nation tops olympic medal charts, or even doing well at Olympics is a great source of joy for the people there, or can be...anyway I think the whole 'nationalistic vitriol' only kicks in when we play Pakistan. No one cares THAT much about getting one over another nation per se...then it is as you say the more 'sophisticated' from i.e our cricketers are better than yours...
We are the richest board in the ICC. Does someone pay you anything, do you get better stadiums or seats, do you pay less for tickets? No, we are one of the crappiest treated crowds in the world. Do we get any share out of what the BCCI makes? No, but we still like to gloat about it because in our eyes we are putting other countries down. Other countries down, why? Of course, when some country has attacked by some internet warriors we have to open our own bastion - chalo bhai recruiting chal rahi hai Paki bashin ki. I've been on ICF on it's primal form and here for around 8 years now - maybe I've got too old without realizing what is considered as rib tickling as opposed to obnoxious. And this is the only forum on which I am an active member of, so it really disappoints me that the "upcoming" generation of India has so much focus on forum wars. It's almost laughable to read comments day in and day out that "We bullied the crap out of you at phalaana ICC meeting". What percentage of the cut did you get out of the bullying besides getting to sit on disgusting seats under the sun in June?
It is called pride by association Shwetabh. BCCI does one thing to an Indian fan, plant bamboo :hysterical: and we are only happy to gang up behind them and chant "Ek baar aur Sirji" :two_thumbs_up:
And this is the only forum on which I am an active member of' date= so it really disappoints me that the "upcoming" generation of India has so much focus on forum wars. It's almost laughable to read comments day in and day out that "We bullied the crap out of you at phalaana ICC meeting". What percentage of the cut did you get out of the bullying besides getting to sit on disgusting seats under the sun in June?
it sounds funny coming from you...I thought you were one of the most active in forum wars here...
Well there are varying degrees of obsession. Obviously an Ind-Pak game and that too in a world tourney will be a big game for both sides. But we haven't termed any game as "revenge for xyz..." etc. Plus you wouldn't be quite honest if you claim the match, for either team, isn't bigger than other games.