bajrang Posted April 16, 2012 Posted April 16, 2012 other then dropping yousuf what else he can do. would like to see shami ahmed in.
Ram Posted April 16, 2012 Posted April 16, 2012 Gautam Gambhir has played international cricket long enough to know that you dont captain via the media. The intentions may be good, but the exectuion is not ideal. Now you know why he was bumped from the vice-captaincy and Kohli promoted ahead of it.
Pagalpanti Posted April 16, 2012 Posted April 16, 2012 Agree with Gambhir, the middle order sucks right now. Top order have done well but have been inconsistent. And Kallis' form isn't helping them either, but I don't get what drastic changes he can make? Do they have any decent middle order in the wings?
Desi Cartman Posted April 16, 2012 Posted April 16, 2012 And what exactly were they expecting from Y Pathan ? As for McCullum, havent they seen in the last 4 seasons how dependable he is ? Keep selecting players who are not consistent and then blame them
rajmarie Posted April 16, 2012 Posted April 16, 2012 Gambhir should 1st try to get his captaincy in order. Sending Tendo at No8...wtf.....& over using bowlers like Bhatia... Although his comment on Yousuf is spot on. But KKR team is such that they have no other option. They spend all their money or most of it on him.
yoda Posted April 16, 2012 Posted April 16, 2012 gambhir's body language is extremely poor. Way his face shows up frustration even after a minor mis-field i have not see dhoni react that way throughout the 8-0 drubbing ++ I once thought he was captaincy material, but the way he biatches after every single taken by the opponent is pretty irritating to watch.
Magneto Posted April 16, 2012 Posted April 16, 2012 I always thought Gambhir was good captaincy material, but off late he just sounds like one big idiot. Someone should double tape his big mouth.
Dravid_TheWall Posted April 16, 2012 Posted April 16, 2012 He is a useless captain. Feel bad for KKR that he is their poster boy. India's poster boy is a lucky mascot as well as world class :icflove:
Yoda-esque Posted April 16, 2012 Posted April 16, 2012 Now I am convinced he will be pretty bad choice for a leader of national team. As a leader, do whatever you want to do, but you are not supposed to vent your anger/frustration publicly. Also, if he is getting frustrated with such small things, he will press panic button more often than not... not good for national team. Exactly..Hes just too combative and always worked up like that Red Bull ad:cantstop:
vvvslaxman Posted April 16, 2012 Posted April 16, 2012 Gauti has to realize he is neither Allan Border nor Clive lloyd
kabira Posted April 16, 2012 Posted April 16, 2012 But he led them to semis last year....that was KKR's best performance. suddenly Gauti is bad captain...??
Cricketics Posted April 17, 2012 Posted April 17, 2012 Gamhir yaar apne dilli wapas aaja. Let kkr die skow death
NareshK Posted April 17, 2012 Posted April 17, 2012 Now I am convinced he will be pretty bad choice for a leader of national team. As a leader, do whatever you want to do, but you are not supposed to vent your anger/frustration publicly. Also, if he is getting frustrated with such small things, he will press panic button more often than not... not good for national team. He has always been a bad choice for captain. Its very easy for the opposition to get under his skin and that's when someone is not thinking right. Good teams will use that to their advantage.
Needforspeed Posted April 17, 2012 Posted April 17, 2012 Gambhir is arrogant and his expressions are so irritating. And his own form has been pathetic. On paper KKR is one of the strongest teams, but they never gel as a team. Last year, in GG's absence, I remember Kallis captained in a few matches. Though did not have much captaincy experience, he did a good job.
akshayxyz Posted April 17, 2012 Posted April 17, 2012 He has always been a bad choice for captain. Its very easy for the opposition to get under his skin and that's when someone is not thinking right. Good teams will use that to their advantage. this. especially in test cricket. Relevant quote by Dravid - on tough bowlers - but is applicable to sportsmen in general. Sometimes the toughest bowlers, I found, were always the guys who gave away nothing in terms of the way they thought - what got them angry, what got them frustrated. They were very, very hard guys, because you knew they were just focused on bowling and doing the best they could. Someone like McGrath, someone like Ambrose. When I played Ambrose, it was a great education for me. He never said a thing. I've never heard him speak; I don't know what he sounded like and I was on tour for four months. He gave you nothing. He pitched every ball on the spot, he was proud of his skill and his craft; he wanted to take wickets and he ran in with intensity. http://www.espncricinfo.com/magazine/content/story/559136.html And this is also one of the reasons ( not showing one's nerves) that Richards was feared as much as he was, and the 'swagger' added to it. I remember him saying something similar in that "Fire in Babylon" movie. Something like - never show your emotions to opponents ( when you are hit/hurt).