Executioner Posted May 26, 2012 Posted May 26, 2012 I think this guy is right. Afterall, IPL is for SHOWCASE and MONEY. We fans dont give a crap abt Quality rather care abt the daily entertainment. I mean at the end of the day, the youth are overshadowed and guys like vijay and Yuseless are brought under the limelight
someone Posted May 26, 2012 Posted May 26, 2012 I think this guy is right. Afterall' date=' IPL is for SHOWCASE and MONEY. We fans dont give a crap abt Quality rather care abt the daily entertainment. I mean at the end of the day, the youth are overshadowed and guys like vijay and Yuseless are brought under the limelight[/quote'] :fail: Secondly why "we" fans. Thirdly, it is more competitive and has a higher quality of cricket than other domestic competitions.
Executioner Posted May 26, 2012 Posted May 26, 2012 :fail: Secondly why "we" fans. Thirdly, it is more competitive and has a higher quality of cricket than other domestic competitions. Well def. it has quality but do we really see it for the quality? 90% will say no. Most fans watch it because they are entertained heavily. Quality of the cricket comes later when half the time the cameraman shows Gayrukh airkissing, PZ jumping up nd down
Needforspeed Posted May 26, 2012 Posted May 26, 2012 IPL will continue to thrive as long as people love watching it. Its a simple question of market dynamics. Its stress-free entertainment and much better than watching crappy Reality show programmes on TV. Bedi is a frustrated old man. I am yet to come across any statement from him saying positive things about anything. Let him stew in his own juices.
prasadiyer Posted May 26, 2012 Posted May 26, 2012 Bedi always goes overboard with his criticism. If one aspect of something is bad, then that doesn't make every other aspect bad too. I mean, it is fair to call out the bad influence of IPL style cricket on emerging players. But that doesn't mean that only mad people love IPL, the stadiums are full of complimentary ticket holders, foreigners shouldn't be running the show, etc. etc. At least the "free ticket" claim is nonsense. Why, I was once offered Rs.3000 for each of my Rs.1000 tickets in B'lore! The thing that puzzles me most about people's antagonism to the IPL is, what is it displacing? It is just taking up a gap in the Indian cricket calendar, or maybe widened it a little. Nobody is forced to take part. Still, huge parts of the Australian and SA national sides play it, with no apparent deleterious effects. Don't know why it is deemed harmful only to India. Also, there is not much actual playtime that it could permanently damage players' technique. The number of balls faced by the average Indian batsman would probably be less than one innings' worth in any Indian domestic competition.
someone Posted May 26, 2012 Posted May 26, 2012 Well def. it has quality but do we really see it for the quality? 90% will say no. Most fans watch it because they are entertained heavily. Quality of the cricket comes later when half the time the cameraman shows Gayrukh airkissing' date=' PZ jumping up nd down[/quote'] Another :fail:
Stuge Posted May 26, 2012 Posted May 26, 2012 Well def. it has quality but do we really see it for the quality? 90% will say no. Most fans watch it because they are entertained heavily. Quality of the cricket comes later when half the time the cameraman shows Gayrukh airkissing' date=' PZ jumping up nd down[/quote'] speak for yourself .I don't watch IPL for SRK and seems like your seceret about IPL is just out :haha::haha:
Needforspeed Posted May 26, 2012 Posted May 26, 2012 Bedi always goes overboard with his criticism. If one aspect of something is bad, then that doesn't make every other aspect bad too. I mean, it is fair to call out the bad influence of IPL style cricket on emerging players. But that doesn't mean that only mad people love IPL, the stadiums are full of complimentary ticket holders, foreigners shouldn't be running the show, etc. etc. At least the "free ticket" claim is nonsense. Why, I was once offered Rs.3000 for each of my Rs.1000 tickets in B'lore! The thing that puzzles me most about people's antagonism to the IPL is, what is it displacing? It is just taking up a gap in the Indian cricket calendar, or maybe widened it a little. Nobody is forced to take part. Still, huge parts of the Australian and SA national sides play it, with no apparent deleterious effects. Don't know why it is deemed harmful only to India. Also, there is not much actual playtime that it could permanently damage players' technique. The number of balls faced by the average Indian batsman would probably be less than one innings' worth in any Indian domestic competition. +1. Well said
vvvslaxman Posted May 26, 2012 Posted May 26, 2012 Bedi, people like blood sausages . you can't go around accusing them as "mad" . Is he calling Sunil Gavaskar mad? :cantstop: . There are other ways you can express your disapproval.
superstar Posted May 27, 2012 Posted May 27, 2012 Bedi collecting mad peoples money :--D The smile says it all.
Yoda-esque Posted May 27, 2012 Posted May 27, 2012 Bedi collecting mad peoples money :--D The smile says it all. Problem solved :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
saneindian Posted May 27, 2012 Posted May 27, 2012 Seriously, what does him being anti IPL have to do with a BCCI reward? He is getting the money for what he has done for Indian cricket, why should say no this reward?
superstar Posted May 27, 2012 Posted May 27, 2012 Seriously' date=' what does him being anti IPL have to do with a BCCI reward? He is getting the money for what he has done for Indian cricket, why should say no this reward?[/quote'] He called IPL vulgar in a bbc interview. Why get money made by vulgar cricket ?
saneindian Posted May 27, 2012 Posted May 27, 2012 He is getting BCCI's money and totally deserved that. What he thinks of the IPL should no way have an impact on him accepting a payment from the BCCI. Guys like him have nurtured our cricket for so long and deserve every bit of financial support from the cricket board. I do not agree with many things Bedi says, but those views do not take away anything from what he has done for Indian cricket. If I understand correctly, the ongoing reward program is a token of appreciation by the BCCI to those who have taken the Indian cricket to where it is today and Bedi has contributed massively to our cricket.
GautiMaan Posted May 27, 2012 Posted May 27, 2012 6 crores was too god for the old man and he just accepted it
superstar Posted June 2, 2012 Posted June 2, 2012 The fool bedi is back. Should have written this before collecting the cheque. Their sense of entitlement is funny. Should work in a private company to see how employees are treated. http://www.hindustantimes.com/Cricket/ColumnsCricket/No-one-can-muffle-our-independent-voices/Article1-864713.aspx#disqus_thread But I had promised Kirti I would be beside him. It so happened that a pressing family engagement prevented me from joining Kirti and others. And then I discovered, the DDCA president was instrumental in having the air-tickets of the protestors cancelled --- they were supposed to collect their rightful benefit cheques in Banglore and Pune. Yeah family engagement...I also used to write such leave letters :D Finally, I may be allowed to express my annoyance with the BCCI working committee. Because of their rigid stance on the so-called slabs, my erstwhile colleague Erapalli Prasanna fell short by one Test and lost out on a neat Rs. 15 lakh. This is where the BCCI could have been a little more logical --- after all, we were known as the 'spin quartet', weren't we? With 1 mark you might lose an opportunity to study in IIT. Rules are there for a reason.
Ultimate_Game Posted June 2, 2012 Posted June 2, 2012 I would love to watch a Jerry Springer kind of talk show with likes of Bedi, Yograj Singh (Yuvi's dad), Basit Ali, Aamer Sohail and Sarfraz Nawaz as guests. Ravi Shastri could be the host :haha:
rkt.india Posted June 2, 2012 Posted June 2, 2012 He is getting BCCI's money and totally deserved that. What he thinks of the IPL should no way have an impact on him accepting a payment from the BCCI. Guys like him have nurtured our cricket for so long and deserve every bit of financial support from the cricket board. I do not agree with many things Bedi says, but those views do not take away anything from what he has done for Indian cricket. If I understand correctly, the ongoing reward program is a token of appreciation by the BCCI to those who have taken the Indian cricket to where it is today and Bedi has contributed massively to our cricket. And that money is coming from IPL. There is no obligation on BCCI to give them that money, but it is their gesture to make sure that ex-cricketers who played in bygone era with not much earning on those days does not live in oblivion, but still BCCI's distribution of money was wrong. They should have been equal to every player rather than slabs of test or ODIs.
mastana Posted June 3, 2012 Posted June 3, 2012 Bedi collecting mad peoples money :--D The smile says it all. Paise mil gaye ab muh nahi kholega next season tak. :desiman: