It's nothing but mutual masturbation," expostulates Sheetal Talwar from Cannes after the 'India Party' on Monday night which Talwar describes in his livid condition as "frigging farce and waste of the Indian government's precious money." Producer Sheetal Talwar who is a regular at the annual Cannes jamboree, says this year's report-card for Bollywood at Cannes is deplorable. "We're a f...ng joke at Cannes. Every year we hear of this or that film going to Cannes .The fact is, hardly any Indian ever makes it into the competitive section. Even this year apart from Ashim Ahluwalia's Miss Lovely, all the other films that you hear about being at Cannes are in non-competitive sections. You only have to go through Cannes' official programme to realize the truth of what I am saying." What has really and truly disgusted Talwar is the splurging at the 'India Party' on Monday night where all stops were pulled . Talwar thinks the India Party is a symptom of the sickness that has seeped into the Indian participation at foreign festivals, particularly Cannes. "Every year I come here and I see the Indian government's money being wasted by the so-called Indian Pavilion. What does this Pavilion achieve every year at Cannes? According to me,zilch.Every year members of the Indian film industry travel business class to Cannes, party with one another and go back without making any difference to global cinema." Sheetal Talwar notes there was not a single invitee from world cinema at the lavish India Party at Cannes on Monday night. "I didn't see a single gora face. I only saw the same tired faces from Mumbai that I see every year . The NFDC funds the India Party.I believe they spend Rs 1 crore on the party alone. What does the party achieve in terms of getting us global recognition? How can we claim to crack Cannes when we can't even get any international filmmaker or actor to attend our party out there?" Talwar wants the extavagant Bollywood entourage at Cannes to be stopped immediately. "Let's not waste money on all-expenses-paid holidays for Bollywood at Cannes. Let NFDC use the money spent at Cannes on funding 4-5 young and bright Indian filmmakers every year.We stand to achieve more through that exercize than this useless annual Cannes orgy." Talwar opines there are only two personalities from the Mumbai film industry who have a standing in Cannes. "One is filmmaker Sudhir Mishra and the other is producer Sunil Doshi. They genuinely care for cinema.They are devoted regulars at Cannes and respected. The rest of us-and I include myself-are only wasting our time over here at Cannes. Indian cinema is a joke at Cannes. But we don't realize it because we're busy having a good time at our government's expense.We continue to praise our own cinema and feel great about making what we consider world-class cinema. But face it barring a stray Satyajit Ray or Mira Nair,the world is not interested in our cinema." http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/bollywood/news-interviews/Indian-cinema-is-a-joke-at-Cannes-Livid-producer/articleshow/13470310.cms Sometimes even ToI gets to call BS.

Very very good article. Tells us exactly what happens out there. Kudos to Sheetal Talwar. I guess someone will be missing out on the invites from now on.

^ I'm presuming he meant it more from the networking aspect of it for getting some deals going for either investing as production houses or picking up recently released films for global distribution. Basically his gripe is, if these moochers are there to party with the same people they party with anyway in Bombay then what's the point? And then the whole thing is covered like "Indian Cinema takes over Cannes" people "Gushing over rich costume dramas Bollywood Style". When the reality is that its just fat, balding producers, grinning glamdolls and NFDC babus sitting in a smoky room, getting drunk on 1000$ champagne along with Chicken Tikka Flambe' and misbehaving.

Which means no one gets no poontang :giggle:
Zelig is the future of Indian cinema... he will give us the due recognition.
Stop making fun of my profession. I'm already ridiculed by frens n family. If you had known how difficult it's for upcoming young directors, you wouldn't be funning me :((
Go Zelig :cheer:
You should be knowing better :sad:
I didn't see a single gora face. I only saw the same tired faces from Mumbai that I see every year .
I am sorry to see that it's the same gora-loving inferior complexity at the root of this article. She could not find another phrase to express her concern? As if the presence of a gora would have meant success for the Indian party?
Stop making fun of my profession. I'm already ridiculed by frens n family. If you had known how difficult it's for upcoming young directors, you wouldn't be funning me :((
Oh dear Zelig, it was just a light hearted comment. Please find inspiration in it. I hope you succeed in this difficult and unpredictable line of work. Art is not easy, but then nothing worthwhile pursuing ever was easy. Good luck!
Stop making fun of my profession. I'm already ridiculed by frens n family. If you had known how difficult it's for upcoming young directors, you wouldn't be funning me :(( You should be knowing better :sad:
I agree.. Although spending loads of time in cricket discussion forums shouldn't be the way forward for hard Woking young film directors...
Oh dear Zelig' date=' it was just a light hearted comment. Please find inspiration in it. I hope you succeed in this difficult and unpredictable line of work. Art is not easy, but then nothing worthwhile pursuing ever was easy. Good luck![/quote'] Thanks bhai. I'm on vacation :beee:

We don' make much of quality cinema is a well known fact. With that in mind, what else would you have at Cannes ? The likes of Polanski showering praise on the Bachchans ?

Sheetal should be the last person to talk about this :giggle: Still curious to know what he did with the 500 crore corpus he had, rather than making some trite stuff with Ramu.