The Narendra Modi thread  

6 members have voted

Yo' date=' I heard fakrudeen withdrew candidature against Sonia, true?[/quote']Running away from responsibility is ingrained in AAPians, taking cue from their Khalifa who ran away from governing Delhi. Bhagoda neta, bhagoda candidate.
yep' date=' did you not hear tht another candidate has been put up?:giggle:[/quote'] A well known respected judge replaced by a relatively unknown writer. Yeah understood!

Let the truth be known about Modi

The UPA government, on coming to power in 2004, put in place its most accomplished experts to meticulously draw up its corruption road map, which it succeeded in implementing with precision until the scams exploded in public space. Post-mortem reports of the 2G scam, the ISRO Devas deal, the Commonwealth Games fraud, to name a few, clearly establish this. I have no doubt that future historians will place the UPA in the same league as other plunderers of India, like Ghazni and the Pindaris. Another road map uppermost in the Congress agenda was towards the political assassination of Narendra Modi, and banishing him from India's political firmament forever, using the unfortunate post Godhra riots as a handle. Congress think tanks worked overtime to draw up a comprehensive, multifaceted strategy of slander, false accusation, governmental and non-governmental disinformation, Goebellesian lies, aimed at converting falsehood into belief among the general population, opinion leaders and influential intellectuals. The lies were to be simple and crisp; they were to be repeated ad nauseam to embed them firmly as truth in the public mind, the media and internationally. Puppets were to be created and nurtured to keep the fiction of Modi's involvement in the Godhra riots alive in the courts, in the media and in the minds of the people, through any lie or deception. Now that the SIT has completed its investigation, and submitted its report to the Supreme Court, it is time the nation and the world knew about the travesty of slander and lies that has been disseminated against Modi by the Congress through hired and unethical civil society organisations, such as Citizens for Justice and Peace headed by Teesta Setalvad, disgruntled officers like Sanjiv Bhatt, who made futile attempts to start an aggressive campaign against Modi 10 long years after the riots, and certain sections of the media. Today, the lid over the entire political conspiracy has blown, and the false testimony and machinations of Teesta Setalvad and Sanjiv Bhatt have been exposed. Let me inform the people of a few instances of deliberate disinformation against Modi, which gained huge currency during the last 10 years, backed by the malicious hate campaign, which the SIT investigation has proved to be completely false. 1. The country was made to believe that Modi sat complacent and inert while the riots were searing Gujarat. The evidence indicates otherwise. Immediately after the Godhra train burning, on the evening of 27 February 2002, the Gujarat Chief Minister summoned an emergency meeting of top ranking officials of the government, took steps to deploy the Rapid Action Force (RAF), State Reserve Police, local police at sensitive points. Since the army at Ahmedabad Cantonment had been called at the border in view of the attack on Parliament earlier, the Chief Minister requested the then Defence Minister telephonically on 28 February 2002 to immediately deploy army battalions to tackle the situation, which were deployed immediately. 2. The Congress, through its mouthpieces Teesta Setalvad and Sanjiv Bhatt maliciously fabricated a story, vigorously picked up by certain so called intellectuals and of course the anti national elements of our society, that Narendra Modi and the police administration conspired to carry out a pogrom by Hindus against Muslims and that the Gujarat riots were state sponsored. Undisputed statistics presented to the SIT show that in the first six days of the riots, 61 Hindus and 40 Muslims were killed in police firing. The death of any person in police firing is tragic. But does a police firing death toll with 60% casualties being Hindu indicate a pogrom by the state government against Muslims? The complaint of Zakia Jafri (filed at the behest of Teesta Setalvad) alleges that the riots that followed the Godhra train carnage were a conspiracy and a pogrom by the ruling party in Gujarat and its Chief Minister in which almost the entire administration was a co-conspirator. More particularly, they perpetrated a smear campaign that the Chief Minister had instructed the police officials not to interfere with or use force against the Hindus taking revenge against the Muslims. This allegation has not been supported by any evidence, except for the false testimony of Sanjiv Bhatt, which not only appeared suddenly after 10 years, but has also been demolished by positive evidence that he is lying. { Teesta Setalvad, under tutelage of the Congress government, propagated to the world at large that the Godhra train carnage was accidental and the riots were a conspiracy supported by the Gujarat government. 3. Another canard led by Teesta Setalvad and other vested interest groups globally was that the Gujarat government and its police did not investigate rape cases. Evidence before the SIT establishes that this was pure fiction, that all rape complaints were being investigated and some convictions had already taken place. It also proved that Setalvad fabricated a false rape case in Naroda, which she alleged was not investigated, with the alleged victim herself denying it and also the eyewitness. Another gruesome fabrication spread by Setalvad about the tearing of a pregnant woman's stomach and lifting the foetus on the tip of the sword has been disproved by the SIT as false. On post mortem the foetus was found intact within the unfortunate dead lady who succumbed to burns during the riots, and was identified by her relatives. This is corroborated by the statement of the doctor who performed the post mortem. 4. While investigating the Gulbarg case, the SIT came across nearly 20 witnesses who came with their readymade typed statements and refused to videotape their statements, to which the SIT objected. When they did give their statements, they did not match the readymade statements, and also admitted to the SIT that the typed statements were given to them by Teesta Setalvad. 5. The Gujarat police had found on investigation that the Godhra train carnage was a conspiracy and what followed was a violent reaction to it. Teesta Setalvad, under tutelage of the Congress government, propagated to the world at large that the Godhra train carnage was accidental and the riots were a conspiracy supported by the Gujarat government. The Justice Banerjee Committee report claiming the Godhra train burning to be an accident was held illegal by the High Court of Gujarat. The SIT also rejected the accident theory, and found on reinvestigation that the Godhra carnage was indeed a conspiracy to burn and bake the unwary passengers and the riots were a reaction. This fact is now judicially established in the trial of Godhra incident by the sessions judge appointed by the then Chief Justice of Gujarat High Court as directed by the Supreme Court. The very fact that one of the principal accused in the Godhra carnage is now a fugitive in Pakistan, with an Interpol Red Corner Notice, clearly reveals how the conspiracy originated. So, another evil myth to poison the minds of the people of our country against Modi has been disproved by a series of judicial findings. 6. It is now widely known that the entire anthology of false and gruesome stories brought to the notice of the Supreme Court by mainly Citizens of Justice and Peace, the NGO headed by Teesta Setalvad, on the basis of which the Supreme Court appointed the SIT itself, were found by the SIT to be false. Modi bashing, Modi defamation became a lucrative industry and a blood sport during the last 10 years. Appropriate recruitments were done, the Goebbelsian strategy that if you repeat a lie a thousand times it will become a truth was used to the hilt. The Congress and Teesta Setalvad must have basked in their success until the SIT findings revealed not only the real truth to the world, but also exposed the lies of Setalvad and Sanjiv Bhatt, in tutoring witnesses, pressurizing them to give false affidavits, and providing false information to the SIT and the Supreme Court. Though still trying their best to attack the SIT, there is little they can do, as all statements of all witnesses are recorded under videography. 7. The enemies of India desperately tried to turn the unfortunate Gujarat riots into a global issue and grievously tarnish Gujarat and Modi through their strategy of repeating lies. But the same Europeans who had succumbed to Teesta Setalvad's pogrom and state sponsored riot theory in 2002, appear to have realised their mistake, and are now graciously making amends, not to mention the overtures made to Modi by the UK and the US. Well, the lengthy SIT process that involved thousands of witnesses and reams of evidence is over, and Modi has emerged unscathed. It is now time that the conspiracy against Modi and Gujarat should forcefully be informed to the general public, the "secular" intellectuals, the opinion makers and the media.
http://www.sunday-guardian.com/analysis/let-truth-be-known-about-modi

Gujarat's development pre-dates Modi considerably

(Reetika Khera is a development economist and teaches at IIT-Delhi) At 16, a boy my age moved from Patna (Bihar) to Baroda (Gujarat), my hometown. He was gushing about the city - regular electricity supply, roads, the women using them even late into the night, unchaperoned, on two-wheelers, decked up and wearing backless cholis during garba. He couldn't believe his eyes. Never having visited Bihar, I couldn't understand what he was going on about. Another time, my father was on a business trip through Punjab. On the train, he met another Punjabi businessman and they began discussing profits. When my father mentioned the cost of electricity, the other gentleman was perplexed, "You have to pay your electricity bills? How do you make a profit?" My father was as puzzled as I had been by the Patna boy's comments. These anecdotes are from 1989. First-time visitors to Gujarat today gush like the 16-year-old from Bihar did then. In fact, there was (and is) much to appreciate about Gujarat beyond regular electricity supply, good roads and booming industry: functional government schools, mid-day meals since 1984, anganwadis (called "balwadis"), state transport buses, public works. Gujarat was something of a pioneer - not quite a Kerala, but not far behind. In pre-school, we got a glass of cold milk everyday (we drank it only because it was served in colourful plastic glasses!). Today, the media harps on the "free cycle" schemes initiated in some states as an incentive for girls' schooling. In Gujarat, girls' education has been free for the longest time, certainly since my time in classes 8-12 (even in an aided school). In university, the fee for my BA degree (1992-1995) was Rs. 36/year. In rural areas too, things were not too bad. As protected school children, our only exposure to rural Gujarat was through "nature education camps" (to Gir forest and Pirotan Islands) and annual school picnics along the banks of the Narmada. I learnt as an adult that these picnic spots (Garudeswar, Zadeswar, Utkantheshwar) are part of Gujarat's tribal belt, a comparatively "backward" part of the state. Yet, the roads we travelled on even at that time were better than the state or national highways I saw in Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh during field trips between 2005-2007 (recently there have been substantial improvements in these states also). Only today are these places acquiring state highways of the sort we had in the nineties. Having conducted extensive fieldwork in most major states of the country over the past 14 years, I can appreciate better the starry-eyed reaction of first-timers to Gujarat and the head-start we had. Baroda has long prided itself for cultural diversity - regional as well as religious. In school, we were Christians, Hindus, Parsis, Muslims, Sikhs and Sindhis. I fondly recall treats on Onam, Pateti and Pongal. Today, sadly, one notes a change: in 2007, when Sanjay Dutt was convicted for terrorist interactions, my favourite seven-year old niece innocently asked "How can he be a terrorist? He's not Muslim". This is not to suggest that communal sentiments are new to Gujarat, but rather, that I did not encounter them in such a direct fashion until I was much older. What I value most from my Gujarati upbringing (apart from the delicious food, which does NOT always have sugar!), was the sense of freedom and independence I acquired because it was such a safe environment. During my MA at the Delhi School of Economics (1995-7), I would arrive in Baroda by Rajdhani at 3am. It was quite natural for me to walk out to the autorickshaw stand and equally natural for the driver to ask me where I wanted to go once I was sitting inside and after turning on the meter. My parents would be fast asleep, and wake up only to let me in - i.e., they didn't spend their night fretting. This remains a dream in Delhi even today, even for a person with my kind of social background. The freedom to move about without fear is something we took for granted. Beyond these anecdotes, what does the data say? The accompanying table reports the Gujarat and all-India averages of five social and economic indicators in the 1990s and 2000s. The data allow us to see Gujarat's early achievements: in the 90s, its average was better than the all-India average for each of these markers. It was among the top ten states. In the 2000s, however, it has failed to consolidate its early achievements (provision of free education, mid-day meals, child development services, diversified and high growth economy). If anything, its rank on social indicators has slipped vis-a-vis other states. Clearly, Gujarat was not built in a day - the "hard work" of building Gujarat pre-dates Modi at least by a decade. I am not suggesting that the Congress rule for large parts of the 80s and 90s should be credited with Gujarat's early achievements. The continuity in terms of achievements is also seen with respect to negative indicators. Corruption has been with us at least since the 80s: a common joke, in the nineties, was that "CM", a commonly used acronym for "Chief Minister" actually stood for "Crore-Making" - the CM was reputedly making a crore a day! Most, if not all, property deals today I am told, require substantial "black" money. As elsewhere in the country, petty day-to-day corruption also exists -someone who had to undertake travel by train in an emergency got a ticket two hours before its departure by paying Rs. 1000 to a porter at the station. Viewed through the lens of the BJP's public-relations machinery, Gujarat is "God's own country". Viewed with the eyes of a person from the north Indian plains, Gujarat's achievements have been commendable for a long time - much longer than Modi's rule. Viewed from the south, Gujarat looks like a relatively rich state with indifferent social indicators - much worse, for instance, than those of Tamil Nadu, let alone Kerala. reetika-khera-gfx.jpg.png
Link
Its upto educated youth like yourself' date=' bulbul, someone and Number to understand their game and vote for one party which can solve problems.[/quote'] A laughable reply. If one is educated, for them the most important evidence, actual achievements. On one hand, there is one leader, Modi from Gujarat who have a proven credible record. While other parties such as Congress or AAP are only campaigning against one person, Modi. Where exactly is the evidence or any record that these parties (Congress, AAP) have done credible things? Your AAP ran away from Delhi, and are absolutely not asking for any votes for their Delhi performance. They want people to forget our Delhi and only want people to vote for them because of trust. And this is blind trust, as according to AAP, they can do no wrong and will always look to throw mud or blame others for every thing.
Good posts by Seedhi on this page. Schooling them as usual.
Beware of name calling.. He made a huge mistake which is now used like atom bomb by some posterz...
Omar Abdullah said no party can revoke Article 370 without re-opening the entire issue of accession of Jammu and Kashmir to India. "As far as Article 370 is concerned, let us understand it cannot be revoked without reopening the entire question of accession of Jammu and Kashmir to India. If the BJP is prepared to reopen that question, we have no problem talking about it. The problem is the BJP is absolutely unclear about what it wants," he said. The Chief Minister claimed he had approached BJP Prime Ministerial nominee Narendra Modi for a discussion on the issue but he retreated. "When their Prime Ministerial candidate came to Jammu some months ago and very grandly announced that he is willing to talk to anybody about Article 370 and I said fine, I am ready. Tell me where and when I will come and talk to you. The answer I got from BJP was that he was too busy, and he is too higher level to talk to me. If this is their attitude about a dialogue it shows their seriousness and I do not think we should be unduly concerned about it," Mr Abdullah claimed.
http://www.ndtv.com/elections/article/election-2014/omar-abdullah-attacks-bjp-manifesto-over-article-370-505530
http://www.niticentral.com/2014/04/06/west-back-to-meddling-in-kashmir-208022.html
On March 30, 2014, Ghulam Nabi Fai, as secretary general of the World Kashmir Awareness Forum (he previously operated under the aegis of the Kashmiri American Council) declared a six point agenda for resolution of the so-called Kashmir issue, at a seminar on ‘Kashmir: A reminder to the American policy makers’ in Fremont, California. :eek: Separatist Ghulam Nabi Fai back to dirty tricks The function was sponsored by the American Muslim Alliance and Pakistani American Democratic Forum which are headed by political scientist Agha Saeed. Prominent speakers included former US Senator Mike Gravel, President of Islamic Circle of North America Naeem Baig, and Arab American leader Hatem Bazian. Expounding his thesis as keynote speaker, Ghulam Nabi Fai said Kashmir is a political issue and has to be resolved through political means as it cannot be resolved through military means. Secondly, there must a cease-fire from all sides during negotiations as talks cannot be held when parties are killing each other. Third, talks must be tripartite between India, Pakistan and the genuine leadership of the people of Kashmir (whatever or whoever that means). Fourth, he said there cannot be and should not be any condition from any party, other than commitment to non-violence and to negotiations. Fifth, negotiations should be initiated simultaneously at four different levels, including: (a) an intra-Kashmir dialogue between the leadership of the Kashmiri political resistance and the leadership of Azad Kashmir, Gilgit Baltistan and the leadership of minority groups in Kashmir; (b) talks between the Governments of India and Pakistan; © talks between the Governments of India, Pakistan and the Kashmiri leadership; and (d) talks between India, Pakistan, Kashmir, China and the United States. Finally, Ghulam Nabi Fai called for third party facilitation to make sure that the talks between India, Pakistan and the Kashmiri leadership remains focused. He suggested that the third party facilitator be a person of an international standing such as Nobel Laureate Bishop Desmond Tutu of South Africa or Kofi Annan of Ghana or Kjell Magne Bondevik, former Prime Minister of Norway or Mary Robinson, former President of Ireland and former UN High Commissioner on Human Rights. Fai asserted that the various rounds of talks between India and Pakistan, including the summit between Manmohan Singh and Nawaz Sharif in New York in September 2013 took place due to a deeper engagement by Washington with New Delhi and Islamabad. He claimed that there is a realisation that both countries need to address all issues including Kashmir, and that the people of Kashmir support India-Pakistan talks. However, he said, talks without defined parameters and time frame will lead nowhere. The sentiments of Kashmiris, he insisted, are for Azadi. Quoting a survey conducted by the monthly magazine, Outlook, and released by UNI on November 5, 2004, he said the survey claimed that 78 per cent of the people of Kashmir want Azadi. He quoted another survey conducted by the Hindustan Times, CNN-IBN and NDTV on August 12, 2008, which allegedly showed that 87 per cent people of Kashmir preferred Azadi for Kashmir. Ghulam Nabi Fai back in business in US Fai asserted that the London-based Chatham House had undertaken a survey in Kashmir which was released by BBC on May 27, 2010. This claimed that 90 to 95 per cent of the people of the Valley want Azadi. He concluded that sentiments for Azadi are increasing and appealed to the President Barack Obama to recall his speech of October 30, 2008, where he said that, “We should probably try to facilitate a better understanding between Pakistan and India and try to resolve the Kashmir crisis.” Former US Senator Mike Gravel expressed unhappiness with the treatment America had meted out to Aafia Siddiqui, Sami Al-Arian and Ghulam Nabi Fai. :rotfl: Hatem Bazian said that the Muslim leaders and institutions were under attack in the United States and Ghulam Nabi Fai’s case was only the latest example. {These two have global Islamist issues and not Kashmir in their mind. So can be ignored.} Naeem Baig, President of the Islamic Circle of North America, pledged his organisation’s support to the cause which seeks to detach the State of J&K from the Indian Republic. {i]{This guy must be a Pakistani for his objective fits with theirs. Can be safely ignored.} Given the out-and-out pro-Pakistan stance of meetings organised by Ghulam Nabi Fai, which completely blacks out the historical reality that J&K was a kingdom ruled by Maharaja Hari Singh who acceded to the Republic of India, it is truly astonishing that Indian ‘elites’ accepted his hospitality and attended his seminars for years without ever breathing a word about what transacted at these gatherings. This would have continued unabated, had not the US Administration arrested him for accepting ISI funds and lobbying for Pakistan without registering himself under appropriate laws.
The fact that he is speaking in Bay Area shows that US has activated the Casmere card as prelude to the govt change in India. From jail house to main street shows bigger forces at play. The underlying sub-text of Fai's rant is to bring a role for US in Kashmir. All his rants dont make sense otherwise.