National shame: Rotten food served at Olympic Training Camp

Indian sports officials have expressed shock at conditions in the Olympic training camp for the nation's wrestlers, with rotten fruit being prepared in a dirty kitchen, a report said Tuesday. Former swimmer Khajan Singh, a member of the sports ministry's monitoring panel, visited the camp at Sonepat, 45 kilometres (30 miles) north of New Delhi, where the wrestlers are training ahead of next month's London Games. "I was shocked to see rotten fruits used to make juice and unhygienic conditions in the kitchen," Singh, a silver-medallist at the 1986 Asian Games, told a national daily. "There is no dietitian or medical expert to oversee the quality of food being served." The wrestlers had not complained because they feared being thrown out of the camp, Singh explained. Among the wrestlers training at the camp was Sushil Kumar, who won a bronze at the Beijing Olympics and is a rare medal prospect for the London Olympics, which begins on July 27. With 1.2 billion people and a rapidly growing economy, India should be an emerging Olympic powerhouse but it achieved a meagre haul of just one gold and two bronzes at Beijing 2008. Sports bosses set up an organisation called "Olympic Gold Quest" in 2001 to improve the nation's record, but under-investment in facilities and coaching for athletes remains a severe problem. SOURCE faaking pathetic....nothing has changed since all the disgraceful events of Commonwealth games...

Sometimes I think we should stop sending players to the Olympics. All that happens on it's name is that some politicians get rich and we get humiliated in the end. We can better spend that budget elsewhere.

It's a credit to our athletes for not giving up despite these f*** up happening all the time. As usual the ministry will order an enquiry and the matter will be swept aside. Our media will talk about it for a day or two and move onto some other stories.

BTW do you guys know that Kalmadi was offered his job back as soon as he was released ? In fact he never officially got sacked' date=' his replacement is in an "acting" role[/quote'] :((

Any endeavour in India and similar countries is basically means to make money first than think of anything else... In this case money is being made at various levels by corruption, adultration and cutting corners... The food supplier is making money. The Food stores managers (or the Mess inchargs) are making money. The cooks are making money. The officials are making money by showing various facilities and various deputations only on papers..and so on and upwards...

good that cricket is not controlled by the goverrnment. As long as BCCI is a private organization (however corrupt it may be) its always good for the sport.

Remember the movie Pan singh Tomar... "App log 1 anda aur 2 kelaa khilaa kaar medal laane ko kahte hoo"

as well as kapil dev wanting to eat more (rotis) in his training days at some academy
but we dont get sentenced or found guilty ...:aetsch:
abey get ur facts right Kaka g... few days before i posted a case were a boy was in Jail for 8mths for Rs 200 and judge asked 10,000 to grant bail... tension na loo guilty gets sentenced...
but we dont get sentenced or found guilty ...:aetsch:
Who said Raja is "struggling" in the jail? He is just on vacation :beach: That's how we Tammys roll :yoyo:
Sometimes I think we should stop sending players to the Olympics. All that happens on it's name is that some politicians get rich and we get humiliated in the end. We can better spend that budget elsewhere.
Arey bhai budget and politicians goes hand in hand. :blink:

arre u guys are barking at the wrong pole. It is because India has no sporting/fitness culture that we suck at olympics. Sporting infrastructure is not the problem, after all there's some gyms in Mumbai.